Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

advertising stock on line

• 16-08-2015 9:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭

Just wondering what web sites people use to advertise livestock on line?

I have used done deal several times with mixed results.

is there any other sites that people use?

the search on donedeal I find is simple and easy to use but if i was looking for some specific breeding I do not find it that good?

thoughts please....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭wiggy123

done deal the most used website..
    buyandsell is gone
    unless farmers journal.. re toplink.ie mayb more expensive than DD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

solorpower wrote: »
    Just wondering what web sites people use to advertise livestock on line?

I have used done deal several times with mixed results.

is there any other sites that people use?

the search on donedeal I find is simple and easy to use but if i was looking for some specific breeding I do not find it that good?

thoughts please....

Is advertising on line a deal breaker?
    If not I'd suggest Farmers Journal, I find DD full if messers who mostly call for a price while trawling the website after their tea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭solorpower

know what you mean by messers ringing just to check out the price,
    its one of the things i hold against DD,
    that and many of the ads are from dealers i prefer to buy direct from a farmer who actually knows his stock.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 260 ✭✭Jimlh86

know what you mean by messers ringing just to check out the price,
    its one of the things i hold against DD,
    that and many of the ads are from dealers i prefer to buy direct from a farmer who actually knows his stock.

But the big problem I have with donedeal is lads not putting up a price, fair enough time wasters are plentiful but you have to enquire to know! Had a lad get thick with me one day. He advertised a topper I rang asked the price he told me, I'd say he paid less brand new then ate me, what are you ringing for he says! Eh to find out the price buddy! Wound up buying new

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭grange mac

Jimlh86 wrote: »
    But the big problem I have with donedeal is lads not putting up a price, fair enough time wasters are plentiful but you have to enquire to know! Had a lad get thick with me one day. He advertised a topper I rang asked the price he told me, I'd say he paid less brand new then ate me, what are you ringing for he says! Eh to find out the price buddy! Wound up buying new
    I have guys ringing me about price when it is clearly stated...."your very dear....what's best cash price..... " stopped putting livestock up as found it a waste of time.
    Think most people buy in marts still.

buying in the marts is ok for some types of animal,
    I would never buy a calf from a mart, god only knows what he came contact with, its a hell of a lot of stress on them,

and if your buying pedigree stock marts are not great either unless there is special sale on and some of those can have mad prices..

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 260 ✭✭Jimlh86

grange mac wrote: »
    I have guys ringing me about price when it is clearly stated...."your very dear....what's best cash price..... " stopped putting livestock up as found it a waste of time.
    Ah yea well that's fair enough if the price is up you're interested or your not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭GreaseGunner

An uncle of mine has advertised a few Shorthorns on DoneDeal in the past. They were grand stock, no show cattle but in fair order. He got good results, had to rule out a few time wasters alright but eventually found a buyer for them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

Sell pedigrees off done deal. Sell all commercials in the mart or straight to the factory for culls. Find done deal good in fairness for the pedigrees. Never failed to sell off of it but do have to field a good few phone calls in the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

I buy all stock off done deal. You get to know the dealers adds on it over time. I always check the previous adds to see what the form is like. You can meet the farmer look at the stock properly, see how animals react to him, see has he good set up as uaually goes hand in hand with well kept animals you can go with a price in your head and work from there. Mart is only one big click for truckers especially when you are buying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

If i see no pictures or no price i wont ring.

Whats the point driving to look at stock just to have a lad ask you stupid money when you get there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,717 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I know with our mart there are as many messers and arsse holes round the ring as you get ringing to adds in DD.
    But I don't have to take time off work and lads come to view stock when it suits me.
    Always put up photos and always a price too.

Lads can't e putting up ads with poor photos and no price and then giving out that DD is no good for selling stock.

Do I overprice stock?, yea I start high and take price down if they don't sell, isn't that what the auctioneer does with the bidding in the mart??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Marts don't suit everyone. Things move quickly. Be you a buyer or a seller you need to be sharp as a tack and even then it's tricky. But like them or hate them they are literally the market place and the price setters.

I have no patience. I like to know what l'm doing on a particular day be it buying or selling. I like the security of knowing that I will get paid if l sell something. It's a service that l'm glad is available locally every week. It's also a social outlet, but like the pub, you can move off and find a different spot if a lad is blowing sh1t in your ear! :D

I am lucky also in that, with notice, I can get a day off handy to sell. It's not a luxury that is available to everyone l'm aware of that. I personally wouldn't like to be waiting around for lads to call to yard with no guarantee of them buying. Also don't like people l don't know coming in around my yard seeing what I have and don't have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

grange mac wrote: »

You learn a lot about cattle from the phone call. My the way they talk you know the dealer. Yes most buy in the mart however you have to factor in mart and transport costs. Buying and selling fees are 20 euro between them. Unless you haul youself it another 10 euro each to buyer and sell. With buying off DD you too many sellers fail to realize that sellers have to do all the travelling and transport costs.

So yes I will ring and ask questions. What weight are they, what price, what sort of cattle are they, how many movements etc etc. Even if it is on the add I will ask. Reason being dealer may have two lots of cattle on or using different phones so you cop fairy fast if lad is not able to rattle off his figures. It is I that will have to travel a 30, 50 or even a greater round trip.
    _Brian wrote: »
    I know with our mart there are as many messers and arsse holes round the ring as you get ringing to adds in DD.
    But I don't have to take time off work and lads come to view stock when it suits me.
    Always put up photos and always a price too.

Lads can't e putting up ads with poor photos and no price and then giving out that DD is no good for selling stock.

Do I overprice stock?, yea I start high and take price down if they don't sell, isn't that what the auctioneer does with the bidding in the mart??

Pisses me off lads that estimate cattle 50 kgs heavier and 100+ euro dearer. The buyer has to do the travelling. Too many lads go to a mart and see the top prices and then want that price and 50 more for cattle 20-30 kgs lighter.

Auctioneers star high however this is showboating and it is also down to sellers looking for silly money. Tanglers around the ring are getting more and more control at present because of small numbers they can control prices unless you get a few back seat bidders. They then ride these lads.
    Muckit wrote: »
    Marts don't suit everyone. Things move quickly. Be you a buyer or a seller you need to be sharp as a tack and even then it's tricky. But like them or hate them they are literally the market place and the price setters.

I have no patience. I like to know what l'm doing on a particular day be it buying or selling. I like the security of knowing that I will get paid if l sell something. It's a service that l'm glad is available locally every week. It's also a social outlet, but like the pub, you can move off and find a different spot if a lad is blowing sh1t in your ear! :D

I am lucky also in that, with notice, I can get a day off handy to sell. It's not a luxury that is available to everyone l'm aware of that. I personally wouldn't like to be waiting around for lads to call to yard with no guarantee of them buying. Also don't like people l don't know coming in around my yard seeing what I have and don't have.

Selling quality cattle in the mart is grand most days. However if you have plain or very light cattle for there age unless you get a farmer bidder tanglers will pick up cheap. Like I said it grand at present anything is selling well in the mart. After a wet week in October or November it is a different story with plain, light or aged cattle.

My original question was if lads use any other on line sites.
    It's not a fair compassion to marts...

Its an alternative to done dream I was thinking about....

My original question was if lads use any other on line sites.
    It's not a fair compassion to marts...

Its an alternative to done dream I was thinking about....

There is no alternative. have looked at adverts.ie a few time but very few cattle on it. DD has it sewn up at present.

Yea.
    DD's only competition when they started into the market was Buy and Sell, the simple platform and payment blew them out of the water.
    I'd say DD have maybe 90% market share, with the others scrapping it out for the 10%.

B&S were calling me looking for me to take a "shop" option with them but it's an infrastructure with no business happening at present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭poor farmer

I have bought and sold with done deal, very happy.Great service.
    Dont blame the messenger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭cute geoge

They used to be up 6 pages of small ads in local paper up to 2 years ago now they had to increase the size of the print in the ads section to fill two pages thanks to dd

Jimlh86 wrote: »

http://www.donedeal.ie/beefcattle-for-sale/fr-bulls/10187834?offset=2

Here is an example of no price up. Picture very poor as well. He has 25 calves there is about 10ish in the picture. Picture is in the distance. Some look narrow enough and there is a FR/JE cross in there as well.

And he wants no time wasters:p

http://www.donedeal.ie/beefcattle-for-sale/fr-bulls/10187834?offset=2

Here is an example of no price up. Picture very poor as well. He has 25 calves there is about 10ish in the picture. Picture is in the distance. Some look narrow enough and there is a FR/JE cross in there as well.

And he wants no time wasters:p

Waste of his time and anyone who might ring.
    Ads with no price are a real joke.

But then again you have one cowboy putting up the crap as and he'll have a handful of similar cowboys ringing. Well suited to each other.

Decent photos and a price is the way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

I bloody hate ads with no prices. I have rang people before with no price and got told stupid numbers. For god sake do a bit of research on simular items and decide on your price. I have sold and bought a good few things on done deal. No cattle though. When I'm selling I always put a price on things. Yes you do get a few calls from chancers looking for a chat but most callers are genuine. Do a bit of research on simular items and prices. If you are selling something worth 500 to YOU. Put 520 on it and hope to get 480-500.
    Always allow a few quid for the haggle and the luck penny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

sell a lot od plant/tools on donedeal and ebay.... wont touch adverts with all the timewasters on it. Sent a saddle to wexford with the father once and he hung around for 3 hrs for a lad to decide he wanted to pay half the agreed price when he met dad. Despite having 5/6 photos of the saddle.

Buyer travels, not seller.. maybe if it was paid up front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

_Brian wrote: »
    Buyer travels, not seller.. maybe if it was paid up front.

Would usually be the case with me but the fella plagued me about it, mad for the saddle, must of sent pics of every inch of it. Was the correct size etc (17 inch) but god knows why he didnt buy. Dad had travelled down for the weekend in the camper van to wexford town so he wasnt as pissed off with me but this fella had been onto me with a week and i had already marked as sold.

I used to break toyotas for parts aswell. Now that was serious hassle. Had lads threatening to come to house etc after having engine for 6 months. completely got ut of that craic.

jesus i sound like a right delboy