Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weird words

• 16-08-2015 7:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭

So recently I discovered that there's a gender neutral term for your sibling's offspring. That term is nibling. What weird words have ye heard and what do they mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Cambronne

Means 'poop'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

KKkitty wrote: »
    So recently I discovered that there's a gender neutral term for your sibling's offspring. That term is nibling. What weird words have ye heard and what do they mean?

That's just a neologism, or newly made up word, that hasn't made it to the current edition of the OED.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Not a weird word, but a much underused word...Gallivanting.
    To go around from one place to another in the pursuit of pleasure or entertainment. Or, in my granny's eyes- Messin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Brassicas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I always liked unctuous, as a word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I personally love 'blatherskite'

: a person who talks at great length without making much sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Gallivanting is a word I use a lot!

Also geegaws (shakespeare spelled it gewgews I think) meaning bits and pieces of decorative stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

Jinnet.

A jinnet is the offspring of a horse and a donkey, where the donkey is the father. If the horse is the father, you get a solid, reliable mule. A jinnet, on the otherhand, is useless, lazy, and sterile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Nib wrote: »
    Jinnet.

A jinnet is the offspring of a horse and a donkey, where the donkey is the father. If the horse is the father, you get a solid, reliable mule. A jinnet, on the otherhand, is useless, lazy, and sterile.
    Is that how posh people say jennet?:P

Big fan of gallivanting meself too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

Is that how posh people say jennet?:P

Big fan of gallivanting meself too.
    jennet
    noun
    a kind of small Spanish horse.

Jinnet is used a lot where I'm from. Usually to describe a clumsy person.

Eg: Kick it over the bar ya fuckin' jinnet ya!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I personally love 'blatherskite'

: a person who talks at great length without making much sense.

Blithering blatherskites!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭ollaetta

You know those lace yokes your granny used put on the back and arms of the sofa? They're called antimacassars. Weird word for such ordinary things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Speedsie
    ¡arriba, arriba! ¡andale, andale!

ollaetta wrote: »
    You know those lace yokes your granny used put on the back and arms of the sofa? They're called antimacassars. Weird word for such ordinary things.

That's because they were anti macassar, which was a type of hair cream similar to brylcreme..... Protected your best chintz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Doilies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Scallywag. Such a great word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Bullfrog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

I always liked unctuous, as a word.

Is that you, Todd? (Fr Ted reference)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Dangleberries.

Sounds so nice and sweet, but yet.. nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Shitehawk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Doilies?

I guess so but I remember doilies as the yokes under vases on sideboards and tables.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Bollix (my favourite term of abuse)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Speedsie
    ¡arriba, arriba! ¡andale, andale!

I guess so but I remember doilies as the yokes under vases on sideboards and tables.

Antimacassars are indeed the lacy yokes maiden aunts had on their chintz covered sofas. So called as they prevented a very greasy hair cream, used by gentlemen to slick their hair, from staining said chintz covered sofas. The hair cream was called Macassar, hence anti-macassar.

Doilies were also beloved of maiden aunts to place under vases and knick-knacks on sideboards and occasional tables.

Two different lacy items, that are completely superfluous to modern life (other than aged maiden aunts)