Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gym clothes ?

• 15-08-2015 4:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi, Joined a gym, super nervous, could someone link me ( elverys, amazon, .. ) what a "normal guy" gym gear is like, eg shorts, shirt.. anything else I might want ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭skallywag

Shorts, T-shirt, trainers and towel of your choice. It's pretty hard to get it wrong :-)

Why are you nervous?

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Wear technical materials rather than cotton. But for the first while just show up in shorts, tee, sweats, whatever. Youll soon learn what works best. Unless you turn up in a tuxedo noone is going to notice what you wear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

As the lads said, sports shorts and teeshirt and ya will be fine! Seriously though, dont be worried!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

Shorts and a tee are grand for the gym. Elverys do a pretty decent basic range of gear which I think is called Pro Touch and comes in a good deal cheaper than branded stuff. Bear in mind that the gym is invariably pretty warm, so you don't really need much more than that. I wouldn't worry too much about anyone caring what you wear - they're too busy doing their own training to notice, or they should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭yes there

Proper footwear is the only real concern i.e. no shoes. That and not wearing denims. T, hoodies, shorts, trackies is what normally you see. Dont be put off by people looking at you either because more than likely they will. Just get stuck in to whatever your doing. Wear headphones maybe. After a week or two you will blend in just fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Pop into sportsworld.

Buy a navy or black pair of shorts and a dark tshirt.

You'll look like everyone else then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Oryx wrote: »
    Wear technical materials rather than cotton.

Good advice.

Cotton gets sweaty, sags loses its shape etc.

Synthetic materials hold up far better.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Don't go in a full football kit with matching shirt, shorts and socks (pulled up to the knee). Otherwise wear whatever you like. Noone will take any notice of what you wear.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 400 ✭✭ruskin

I always wear skin-tight pvc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

As mentioned above, if you're going to the bother of buying new clothes then make sure the tops are a technical material rather than cotton. Even Under Armour tops are only 30 quid, but other brands can be much cheaper.

But, to be honest, for starters regular t-shirts will do. Tracksuit bottoms or shorts and a pair of sneakers for the bottom half. And don't forget a towel and water bottle.

And don't be nervous, you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭Floppybits

head to toe in Spandex. Cant got wrong with spandex. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭MightyMandarin

Depends on what you're doing. I hate squatting in shorts as I have a nack of tearing them and I've left the gym many times with a big hole right over my arsecrack, but since I started wearing baggy sweatpants, I feel way more comfortable and have yet to tear my way through them.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

T shirt, tracksuit bottoms/shorts and runners with decent grips. Thats pretty much all you need.