Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever used a Pseudonym?

• 14-08-2015 9:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭

Myself and Mrs.Osis have been known to book in to hotels as Lance Boyle and Ruth Vegetable while holding a straight face.

Ever used a fake name in your travels?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Sargent Lovelength

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Myles Long :cool:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

No my real name is artanevilla

Ever used a fake name in your travels?
    Quite often, I wouldn't have got through the Iron curtain without one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Private Parts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Never used one.
    Tatranska :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭OneOfThem

Yeah, I've had the same stock fake name since I was a young rapscallion. Still gets deployed at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

Regina Falange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Used one with the gardai when I was about 13. That went down well. In my defence, I didn't realise they could punch you in the face for that kind of craic. Lesson learned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Yes, when reserving a table at a restaurant often use different last names. There is an eatery I go to that does sandwiches, pizza, pasta. You select your pizza, toppings, etc and put your name on the bottom line. Last time it was fun having them shout out 'Percival!' when the order was ready. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I used the name Soo Do Nimh once. :D

People thought I was a Vietnamese girl.

I'm using a pseudonym right now, amn't I?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Mr Merps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭brevity

conorh91 wrote: »
    Regina Falange

Hi, I'm Ken Adams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

I booked into a hostel drunk one night under the name "Archstanton"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

OneOfThem wrote: »
    Yeah, I've had the same stock fake name since I was a young rapscallion. Still gets deployed at times.

Only OneOfThem?

Hey ohhhhh! :pac:

Well, when your real name is Manuel Twococks you kinda get used to needing pseudonyms a lot. A pain I know only too well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

Yep, use my middle name and my boyfriend's surname on occasion. It isn't a very exciting name, but I like the sound of it as an alternative to my own sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I always do it in Starbucks. Ernesto, Vicento and Ulick are my favourites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Wereghost

I'm using a pseudonym right now, amn't I?
    If I ever gave a son, I'm calling him Boneyarsebogman. ;)

Orous Porous Icecreamorous

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 489 ✭✭AngryDiMaria

Ben Dover

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

When unsolicited phone calls come thru looking for the purchasing manager I introduce myself as Drew Peacock ...still raises! a laugh at work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Lord Fotherington-Smyth.

I phone up put on a posh accent and pretend to be the PA. Booking using my credit card and name. I insist that the Lord doesn't like anyone using his title, he's a very down to earth sort. I turn up and walk into my freely upgraded room.

/Dream

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭DarkyHughes

Yeah "Gold-N-Brown" when I used to sell "stuff" on Silk Road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Way back in 1997 I was purchasing a ticket to go see a band in the Point from a kiosk. As the nice lady was processing it, she asked what name to put on the ticket...and for some reason I said "Sideburns".

She looked at me. I looked at her. She printed the ticket.

I still have it somewhere.

Wereghost wrote: »
    If I ever gave a son, I'm calling him Boneyarsebogman. ;)

Poor bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Gerinspain

I was a supervisor in a factory and the factory staff were arranging a weekend away in Killarney. It was frowned upon by the management to socialise with the factory staff so I put my name on the list of people going as Prudence McGee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Never have done, but this thread is inspiring me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 JReu

Only a slight variation on my actual name. I'm not very inventive :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

I used to use a different name when I would socialise in predominantly loyalist areas in the north back in my very late teens and early 20's.... My real name would be very Irish... Pretty much an invitation for a kicking off some loyalist knuckle dragging cünt waffle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Yeah "Gold-N-Brown" when I used to sell "stuff" on Silk Road.

Good to see you take the same career path as many pretend Republicans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭TomBtheGoat

JReu wrote: »
    Ever used a Pseudonym?

Nope, I've nothing to hide and I always use my real name, including on this site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Myself and Mrs.Osis have been known to book in to hotels as Lance Boyle and Ruth Vegetable while holding a straight face.

How is this possible in the age of credit cards for deposits and a lot of hotels needing someones ID to check in too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

How is this possible in the age of credit cards for deposits and a lot of hotels needing someones ID to check in too?
    It's very possible.Try it you overthinking weirdo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

Juan Kerr.

Juan Kerr.
    I worked with a Wayne Kerr* once.

*real name, I really can't imagine what his parents were thinking!