Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mileage Expenses help please

Options
  • 13-08-2015 1:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭

**Sorry for double post admin I thought this topic might be better suited for this forum. **

Hi Guys, hoping ye can help me out.

I have been working with a marketing company for the past four years, very much casual work involving pub promotions etc, maybe 4/5 hours a week maximum.

The company picks one person each week as designated driver to drive other promotion staff to save on mileage costs.
    I was filling out my time sheet for this week and my mother noticed that they were only paying 26 cent per km of work and made me aware that this is no where near the civil service mileage rates as she does these expenses at her place of work.

See brought me home the revenue rates. I have not signed any contract for the company as the work is so casual but am I right in saying that 26 cent for a 1600 cc car is not right and they should be paying the civil service rates or the actual costs incurred during travel and these are the only two options.

I travel from Kinsale to the city Centre to work on top of collecting promotional staff from their homes and now they are also saying they will not pay mileage if the place of work is within 23 km of Cork city (as my designated area of work)

Can anyone help or comment as to the legalities and whether or not I should be receiving the actual costs incurred or the civil service rates.