Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Caught speeding

• 08-08-2015 7:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Whiplashy

I passed a squad car very well concealed in the ditch yesterday. I was pretty much level with the car before I noticed it. Didn't get much time to look but the doors were closed and I didn't spot a gard outside of the car, though there could have been one. Am I right in thinking if he was clocking from inside the car he'd have been using the hand held hairdryer lookalike, and would therefore have to have pulled me over to give me points? I was doing just over 60 in a 50 zone, so definitely over even allowing for a little bit of leeway :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

I doubt anything happened. Any Garda bothered to fine you for speeding would have pulled you over to give you a lecture.

Forget about it and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

If they thought you were far enough over trust me a smug looking young garda would have pulled you over there and then.

Drive her on OP you are in the clear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Whiplashy

Thanks guys. I hope you're right. I was just giving out the other day about my brother in law only getting a lecture for doing 140 in a 100 zone. I'll look like a right git if I get done for speeding now! And in fairness I very rarely creep over the limit. I was leaving a 50 zone to enter a 100 zone and just put my foot down a few meters too early. Still wrong I know but certainly not the worst offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

Yea id agree with the above. At least a Gard will pull you over and you might be able to blag your way our of a ticket, but those lads hidden in the back of a van really get up my nose. And then you get 3 points in your front door and a fine. You mightnt have even known you drove past the feckers!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

CFlat wrote: »
    You mightnt have even known you drove past the feckers!!

If you can't spot these vans, you shouldn't be speeding, or indeed driving, in the first place as your observation is beyond rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

ironclaw wrote: »
    If you can't spot these vans, you shouldn't be speeding, or indeed driving, in the first place as your observation is beyond rubbish.

I said "might'nt' have seen them. There was an element of tongue in cheek about my post. My real point was that at least you get to face your accuser when a Gard pulls you over. That's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,605 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Title misleading.
    You weren't caught speeding!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

Probably easier to see from the back of a high horse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

You'd be surprised! Sometimes they're concealed very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭ofcork

Your bil only got a lecture for doing 40 over the limit!

ofcork wrote: »
    Your bil only got a lecture for doing 40 over the limit!

Yeah. I was slightly horrified!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭ofcork

Must have met an easy going guard as anyone here whos been caught has been done for a lot less 12km over in my case.

ofcork wrote: »
    Must have met an easy going guard as anyone here whos been caught has been done for a lot less 12km over in my case.

He's on a UK licence so I presume that's got something to do with it. I know they were talking about doing away with the loop hole where people on UK licence couldn't get penalty points but I don't think they ever did anything about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Whiplashy wrote: »
    He's on a UK licence so I presume that's got something to do with it. I know they were talking about doing away with the loop hole where people on UK licence couldn't get penalty points but I don't think they ever did anything about it.
    Foreign licence holders get points added to their driving record here (aka ghost licence) and if they collect 12 points on their ghost licence then they can be banned from driving on Irish roads. No country within the EU applies points earned in another jurisdiction as there is currently no agreed international standards for penalty point offences and legal processes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Whiplashy wrote: »
    Yeah. I was slightly horrified!

You'd rather he got done? Some bro-in-law your are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Jesus. wrote: »

Forty over the limit is abit brainless.

Tough love.

Ask your dad about it JC

Jesus. wrote: »

Yes! He's always driving at ridiculous speeds. A lecture isn't going to slow him down. For his own good we'd all have liked him to have gotten done for it.

Sorry to hijack a bit, but is the speed limit here 60 or 80?
    If you've just merged onto the n4 from the m50 southbound the first sign you see is the 80 at liffey valley up ahead of this

https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.356241,-6.388458,3a,75y,273.64h,66.34t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sNzS_SAFvegmjnm6hAmxjhQ!2e0!7i13312!8i6656?hl=en

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

but it is ok for you to speed as it was only 12 mph

if you had got caught, you could have used that logic and also added in about your relative to the guard to see if that got you anywhere

like it or not, if you get done for speeding you are in the same category as other speeding motorists. Law breakers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

slimjimmc wrote: »
    Foreign licence holders get points added to their driving record here (aka ghost licence) and if they collect 12 points on their ghost licence then they can be banned from driving on Irish roads. No country within the EU applies points earned in another jurisdiction as there is currently no agreed international standards for penalty point offences and legal processes.

Half right.

Anyone who doesn't have an irish licence
    (whether that be foreign licence,or no licence at all)
    Are assigned an irish driver number, and points are loaded onto that.
    It's only when the person concerned exchanges their licence, or applies for an irish licence, then and only then do the points kick in, and only then will any ban apply.

pa990 wrote: »
    Half right.

Anyone who doesn't have an irish licence
    (whether that be foreign licence,or no licence at all)
    Are assigned an irish driver number, and points are loaded onto that.
    It's only when the person concerned exchanges their licence, or applies for an irish licence, then and only then do the points kick in, and only then will any ban apply.
    Indeed.
    The law was changed back in 2010 to correct this but as of 2012 the IT infrastructure necessary to commence it hadn't been completed.
    http://debates.oireachtas.ie/dail/2012/02/16/00027.asp
    I haven't seen anything to indicate the situation has improved since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Can you not speed up to 100 once you see sign for 100 off in distance?
    So you can enter a 50 zone at 100 and slow once in it?

No, not legally. The limit changes at the sign.
    Eg. if you're in a 50km/h zone going towards a 100km/h zone then you cannot lawfully exceed 50km/h until you pass the 100km/h sign. In the opposite direction you must slow down to 50km/h or less before you pass the 50km/h sign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,605 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Why do you think the guards are so often checking the speed right where the faster limit ends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Ah the worst are the speed vans though. You're driving home on a Friday doing 40 km/h in a 60 km/h zone wondering what the fcuk is slowing you down only to reach a speed van and everyone creeping by at 40 km/h just to be sure to be sure they don't get fined. Traffic jam central...

Always happens at the Jobstown Inn in Tallaght. They park the van right outside the pub and then people are crawling until they drive past and then continue speeding.

^ I don't blame the van, I blame the idiots who panic and don't know how fast they should be going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

slimjimmc wrote: »
    ^ I don't blame the van, I blame the idiots who panic and don't know how fast they should be going.

Especially the one who spotted the van on the N25 Friday evening, dropped from 100kph to 60, and forced me to swerve around because it took me that long to figure out what the **** the bollox was doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

You could take the alternative view, that they were exaggerating their deceleration to tip off drivers behind them. Might be giving average driver too much credit but...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

You could take the alternative view, that they were exaggerating their deceleration to tip off drivers behind them. Might be giving average driver too much credit but...

Unfortunately, the average driver's mental sparkplug fires a bit too far after top dead centre to be thinking like that.

And not one **** coming in the other direction offered a flash of the headlights. What a shower of bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Devia

bluewolf wrote: »
    If you've just merged onto the n4 from the m50 southbound the first sign you see is the 80 at liffey valley up ahead of this

https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.356241,-6.388458,3a,75y,273.64h,66.34t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sNzS_SAFvegmjnm6hAmxjhQ!2e0!7i13312!8i6656?hl=en

It's 80 up by Liffey valley there as you head towards Lucan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

bluewolf wrote: »

Technically you go by the last speed sign you passed, until you meet a new one. So the last one you'd pass was a 60 sign

https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.353857,-6.385363,3a,75y,358.74h,73.96t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sKQ0eEI5R7gMYqzVjB0PZ_Q!2e0!7i13312!8i6656?hl=en

But the speed limit coming from the chapelizod bypass is also 60. So at that stage, it doesn't matter which way you've ended up on that road, the limit is 60.

It doesn't change to 80 until here:
    https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.355719,-6.392982,3a,75y,273.64h,66.34t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1swgQgYK9OGR2j9QeVg0WvZQ!2e0!7i13312!8i6656?hl=en

Technically you go by the last speed sign you passed, until you meet a new one. So the last one you'd pass was a 60 sign

https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.353857,-6.385363,3a,75y,358.74h,73.96t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sKQ0eEI5R7gMYqzVjB0PZ_Q!2e0!7i13312!8i6656?hl=en

But the speed limit coming from the chapelizod bypass is also 60. So at that stage, it doesn't matter which way you've ended up on that road, the limit is 60.

It doesn't change to 80 until here:
    https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.355719,-6.392982,3a,75y,273.64h,66.34t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1swgQgYK9OGR2j9QeVg0WvZQ!2e0!7i13312!8i6656?hl=en

Nah last one I woulda passed is 50 here unless there's something I haven't seen
    https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.357947,-6.383427,3a,75y,189.65h,74.96t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sVXSZoFhlXDBNHy1lA_bKvQ!2e0!7i13312!8i6656?hl=en
    which would be pretty crazy

I'll go with 60 until the sign says 80 so!

cheers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 bbcathy

Hi guys, can you advise if any fixed speed cameras are operating on the m50? Thanks.

Dartz wrote: »
    And not one **** coming in the other direction offered a flash of the headlights. What a shower of bastards.

That'd be the most annoying part there. A quick flash of the lamps never does any harm. I've been saved a handful of times by it, and always make sure I flash oncoming vehicles.

It's far too easy to be nabbed for being a couple of KM over the limit (and who is able to drive at exactly the limit all the time?)

bbcathy wrote: »
    Hi guys, can you advise if any fixed speed cameras are operating on the m50? Thanks.

I don't think any of them work (I presume you're referring to the lines painted on the road). I'm lead to believe that none of them work anywhere in the country any more (as apparently they cost too much to keep replacing the film and such for taking the photos?).

The lines for them should be removed from the surface on the M50 in my opinion. I often find that people jam the brakes when they're on top of them (and in fairness, I did the same the first time I crossed them, and even now that I'm a bit more familiar with the M50, my instinct is to slam the brakes when I see them, though i never really do anymore).

Considering the road they're on, and their placement, I'd consider them dangerous. Traffic is too busy along there for people to be panicking and jamming the brakes.

My first driving instructor was adamant that this was correct. Then again he also told me there was no need to indicate in my driving test if there was no car behind me. My next instructor was not impressed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

bbcathy wrote: »

There are none. Only ANPR for measuring traffic flow and times, they do not issue fines etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 bbcathy

There are none. Only ANPR for measuring traffic flow and times, they do not issue fines etc etc.
    Thank you! Panic over

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

It's far too easy to be nabbed for being a couple of KM over the limit (and who is able to drive at exactly the limit all the time?)

Especially on a decline. I came across a camera van on the N11 northbound yesterday at the foot of the hill around the Bray exits, tucked in where the road bends slightly. Its so easy to creep over the 62mph in that scenario.

When you see that there's no way anyone can convince me that these things are not simple money making rackets as opposed to genuine safety measures