Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ploughing

• 06-08-2015 3:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭

Hi all, have been lurking about in the farming section for a while and the time has come to seek advice. Have been told I'm ploughing tomorrow with a 5 sod Kuhn varimaster. I know sfa about ploughing to be honest, only ever ploughed for a half hour to give a fella a break last year. The German farmer said he'll start the field and will do the boundaries (no hedges and ploughing 1cm into neighbours land is a real insult). Anything to watch out for or any tips. Should be fairly straight forward, just drive in straight lines and don't forget to flip the plough?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

MF290 wrote: »
    Hi all, have been lurking about in the farming section for a while and the time has come to seek advice. Have been told I'm ploughing tomorrow with a 5 sod Kuhn varimaster. I know sfa about ploughing to be honest, only ever ploughed for a half hour to give a fella a break last year. The German farmer said he'll start the field and will do the boundaries (no hedges and ploughing 1cm into neighbours land is a real insult). Anything to watch out for or any tips. Should be fairly straight forward, just drive in straight lines and don't forget to flip the plough?

Are you working in Germany?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

Yeah, doing work experience on a tillage farm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭lefthooker

If the farmer is going to set up the plough for you, mark out the field and do the headlands then really you've got F All to do except drive up and down the field making sure if a leg trips then it resets and flipping on the headlands. Most of the time the tractor will follow the furrow herself. I'm sure he's not going to abandon you without sitting up beside you for a few runs anyway.

Yeah, doing work experience on a tillage farm

Student?

lefthooker wrote: »
    If the farmer is going to set up the plough for you, mark out the field and do the headlands then really you've got F All to do except drive up and down the field making sure if a leg trips then it resets and flipping on the headlands. Most of the time the tractor will follow the furrow herself. I'm sure he's not going to abandon you without sitting up beside you for a few runs anyway.

That's what I was thinking/hoping ,he'll definitely set me up but just in case I can't understand his German! Won't be doing any headlands as boundaries are marked by stones and fierce arguments erupt over land.

Dawggone wrote: »
    Student?

Did the LC this year, wasn't planning on heading abroad for summer but couldn't resist the opportunity when it arose! Definitely not regretting it after hearing the father's daily weather report of "pissing rain".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

Did the LC this year, wasn't planning on heading abroad for summer but couldn't resist the opportunity when it arose! Definitely not regretting it after hearing the father's daily weather report of "pissing rain".

Fair play. Don't forget to ask how deep he ploughs and keep an eye on it, and learn the dept controller if your going on hills etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

Presuming he'll set the plough that's 80%, just be gentle with the plough or you could end up with headstock in the air and furrows in the ground. Keep in outs even and pull in straight to avoid an s shape across the field.

And 2 boxes of fags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Last sod out first sod in, lol. I know fcuk all about ploughing just farting around at home with a small one, you'll enjoy it when you get into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

Are you related to mf240 of this parish ?!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Watch the depth, get your speed right and keep her straight.

Most moderne tractors have headland programming so once it's set up you just steer and press the change over button at the headlands, just line her up right and watch out for stones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Are you related to mf240 of this parish ?!!!

I think he's your boys, big brother
    Op middle name is 290. ;)
    image.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

And 2 boxes of fags

I did plenty ploughing without the need for coffin nails :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Just watch if the plough swings a bit to one side as you enter the headland. In my experience it's where newbies go wrong. eventually if it's not corrected you will have a curve. The way to correct it is if you are turning right at the headland every time you lift the plough up to turn, try turning steering the other way, it will lessen the swing of the plough as it drops back in the ground, and hopefull straighten things up.
    What are you using?

I'll try find a few links for you. try looking on youtube as well.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    Just watch if the plough swings a bit to one side as you enter the headland. In my experience it's where newbies go wrong. eventually if it's not corrected you will have a curve. The way to correct it is if you are turning right at the headland every time you lift the plough up to turn, try turning steering the other way, it will lessen the swing of the plough as it drops back in the ground, and hopefull straighten things up.
    What are you using?

I'll try find a few links for you. try looking on youtube as well.

Started a bit the other day but land has gone too dry out here, hit 40 degrees the other day! Hopefully get a bit of rain so we can get the ground ready for winter osr. Looking like maize will be ducked too if this rain doesn't come. Ploughing with 7430 and 5 sod Kuhn 183 varimaster. Was told once to let the plough down just before the back tyre goes into furrow to prevent a bow at the headland, any truth in that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

I progressed from this to this.
    See the giant tail at the top. :D
    Ploughed 200 ac that spring.
    Forgotten it all now :rollyeyes:
    Once plough is set up and headlands marked it's very easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

I progressed from this to this.
    See the giant tail at the top. :D
    Ploughed 200 ac that spring.
    Forgotten it all now :rollyeyes:
    Once plough is set up and headlands marked it's very easy

There is something very satisfying and mesmerising looking back at the sods rolling over perfectly into place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

There is something very satisfying and mesmerising looking back at the sods rolling over perfectly into place.

Therapeutic, it actually the aroma of freshly turned soil I love

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

That's clonroche soil there. Boys ground blackgrass calls it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Never liked the next step,harrowing,but I could return every day to the field to watch the resulting crop emerge. There can't be any other job in the world as satisfying.

That's clonroche soil there. Boys ground blackgrass calls it.

Clonroche soil.. Apparently lads in the mart can pick out the sheep that were from Clonroche soil..

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Started a bit the other day but land has gone too dry out here, hit 40 degrees the other day! Hopefully get a bit of rain so we can get the ground ready for winter osr. Looking like maize will be ducked too if this rain doesn't come. Ploughing with 7430 and 5 sod Kuhn 183 varimaster. Was told once to let the plough down just before the back tyre goes into furrow to prevent a bow at the headland, any truth in that?

Ya it will work alright, provided it goes down in exactly the right place, but the trick is to do it without stopping. Google ploughing guide. If it has a ram on the cross shaft you can tweak the bends a bit to get rid of them, if/when they happen.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=79076399

After about 20 hectares it's a skill you'll have for life. I was in a similar situation to you in Denmark many moons ago, on the morning of the second day of ploughing the boss says to me 'Today we are going to do something different, we are going to plough straight today'.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Closet tillage man?
    Just admit it, it's not illegal anymore!

blue5000 wrote: »
    Ya it will work alright, provided it goes down in exactly the right place, but the trick is to do it without stopping. Google ploughing guide. If it has a ram on the cross shaft you can tweak the bends a bit to get rid of them, if/when they happen.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=79076399

After about 20 hectares it's a skill you'll have for life. I was in a similar situation to you in Denmark many moons ago, on the morning of the second day of ploughing the boss says to me 'Today we are going to do something different, we are going to plough straight today'.

Lol

Closet tillage man?
    Just admit it, it's not illegal anymore!

So true, sheep and tillage would be a dream come true.

It's amazing I'd say its a DNA thing. I was reared on a sheep and tillage farm and then the boss went reluctantly to cows. I'd say he only did it to get my mother to stay she being dairy born and bred.

Feck you for that post, you have interrupted my denial. I visited a fellow boardsie farm a few weeks ago. I got down on one knee to get a piece of soil and as I sniffed it I could feel him looking at me and asking himself, "what kind of mental patient have I here"?

So true, sheep and tillage would be a dream come true.

It's amazing I'd say its a DNA thing. I was reared on a sheep and tillage farm and then the boss went reluctantly to cows. I'd say he only did it to get my mother to stay she being dairy born and bred.

Feck you for that post, you have interrupted my denial. I visited a fellow boardsie farm a few weeks ago. I got down on one knee to get a piece of soil and as I sniffed it I could feel him looking at me and asking himself, "what kind of mental patient have I here"?

Nothing mental about it until you start digging holes like a dog....forever digging holes I am.

I was brought up with tillage and dairy. In fairness the dairy was for cash flow to support the conacre habit.

Edit. Not much has changed as I now view my few cows as a way to add value to grains...

Nothing mental about it until you start digging holes like a dog....forever digging holes I am.

I was brought up with tillage and dairy. In fairness the dairy was for cash flow to support the conacre habit.

Edit. Not much has changed as I now view my few cows as a way to add value to grains...

It's amazing what info you get with a spade. When you go down 8-10 inches and hit resistance.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Clonroche soil.. Apparently lads in the mart can pick out the sheep that were from Clonroche soil..

Ribbons in their hair?

It's amazing what info you get with a spade. When you go down 8-10 inches and hit resistance.......

Abandoned the idea of ploughing this morning. The only way the ploughs would enter the ground was to subsoil ahead of them. You couldn't keep your hand on the plough points after working...so plan B.

We've had no rain since April/May and a lot of non irrigated maize is a write off. For the first time in years maize is trading dearer than wheat. I never had as little maize because I had no appetite for risk this spring...then along comes a drought and prices rise!
    C'est la vie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

Plough around here pray for an inch of rain then dry then rain then dry or leave it a few more months. Lads were late so muggins did combat me this am met neighbour going to work down ploughed ground funnily enough. Cutting down a green lane on the farm. It's pray for the weather to do you a favour or hit it quickly with lots of steel

Blackgrass wrote: »
    Plough around here pray for an inch of rain then dry then rain then dry or leave it a few more months. Lads were late so muggins did combat me this am met neighbour going to work down ploughed ground funnily enough. Cutting down a green lane on the farm. It's pray for the weather to do you a favour or hit it quickly with lots of steel

I've a farm that has some 'marais' which is reclaimed from the sea, something like fen/polder, and I'm still trying to get my head around how to manage it.
    Lots of steel and diesel doesn't really do a good job. Frost is the best. Fantastic yield potential if its established properly. Hard red died from frost this year on it...hard to win them all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭BnB

And 2 boxes of fags

..and a large bottle of Cidona....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

BnB wrote: »
    ..and a large bottle of Cidona....

If ever there was piss......