Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good 4wd tractor for pulling 7tone digger and loader

• 03-08-2015 5:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭

Hi guys,i am looking for a tractor for pulling a 7ton digger,what 4wd tractor would yous recommend for 8000-9000 euro,any advise would be great.was thinking of a ford 7840,what you guys think?Thanks all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

seamus1980 wrote: »
    Hi guys,i am looking for a tractor for pulling a 7ton digger,what 4wd tractor would yous recommend for 8000-9000 euro,any advise would be great.was thinking of a ford 7840,what you guys think?Thanks all

A 7840 would be grand but you'll struggle to get one worth touching for less that 13-14. There askin 15000 for cleaner original examples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

seamus1980 wrote: »

Aas the other poster said a 7840 would probably be out of your budget.
    Does your low loader have trailer brakes or will you be relying on tractor brakes.
    Do you need a 40 k box.
    id be thinking a 3040 or 3050 john deere or a 10145 crystal , You should be able to get a fairly tidy one of either for 8 or 9 grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭mythos110

9935452 wrote: »
    Aas the other poster said a 7840 would probably be out of your budget.
    Does your low loader have trailer brakes or will you be relying on tractor brakes.
    Do you need a 40 k box.
    id be thinking a 3040 or 3050 john deere or a 10145 crystal , You should be able to get a fairly tidy one of either for 8 or 9 grand

I would say stay away from the JD 40 and 50 series. Most were contractor owned and have their best days behind them at this stage. I had a 3650 for a few years and she was expensive to keep maintained.
    For a cheap reliable tractor I would recommend a Renault 106-54 or something similar. Two weak points to look for are the wear in the centre pivot on the front axle and to check the gear changes. If you can get a clean one then they are a very reliable for small money and easy to maintain. Also very economical on the green stuff!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

might get a same laser 110 or 130 or deutz DX range

anything over 90hp should do you, but ideally 6 cyl to stop the load

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Case 956xl ? Should get a reasonable one for that money and well fit for pulling a 7 tonne digger . The brother has pulled the odd 20 tonne with ours but it's asking a bit much of it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

+1 on the 956xl as they're a solid well spec'd tractor with a good cab for their age. Also you should be able to get good examples within your budget which is the biggest plus for them and most have 40k boxes. A fairly modern 6 cylinder massey or ford in your budget will next to impossible as you have to pay over the odds for the badge :rolleyes: a david brown 90 series six cylinder tractor are a nailer of a yoke but they won't be the most modern of tractor in your budget but they pull like a train! a 1690t can be tweaked to near 150hp with a bit of fiddling with the pump aswell ;) If your low loader has a good breaking system then a decent 4 cylinder tractor would be good enough for ya this opens up much more options for ya! 4 cylinder case ih xl tractor range are all good the 844xl supposedly the best, the same and lamborghini turbo series tractors are also supposed to be very good too, fiats are good but overpriced same goes for massey's in general, a ford 7740 with the standard gearbox would be decent aswell but price range might not suit, some zetors are good tractors and then some aren't so be mindful of that! the renaults are decent too and the 6 cylinder have the famed mwm engine used in some fendts.