Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

B&B kick out

• 03-08-2015 4:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45

so yesterday we rented out 8 rooms in b&b due to the christening , we told owners we will be late coming back . At 2 a.m we arrived couple drunk reletives and crying kids (too tired) .
    Parents went to put kids to sleep , adults into rooms , me and my boyfriends antie went for a smoke in balcony , the owner was walking up stairs to calm everyone down but seen me and ask to calm everyone because one of her client was complaining , i said i'll do my best , went to everyone and told time for bed ! And went into my room . But owners are not happy still because people are walking and going to wc etc . i walked out of my room to take in my bf but owner said 5 min or you have to leave ! My bf was not happy and his father as well because all of the guest are from different town and parts of europe so needed to borrow toothpaste etc . Garda arrived packed my bf parents while we wore going for a smoke , then one garda men was picking on my bf so he just left the b &b without any fights , Then owner turned in to me and said "I asked you to calm them down 3 times , pack up and go out " i was shocked !!! didn't say anything took my laguage and i had to walk 40 min up to my car in buckets pouring out rain ! i was upset i wasn't even drunk !!
    Then the owner asked to leave my bf antie because she was talking in her room , she was wearing her Pjs and was with her laguage , she didn't know any part of town or anything !
    I think it's very unfair ! everyone is responsible for them selves and it was unfair she asked me to leave . only 5 people left of 22 .

I need advice ! is it possible to sue her ?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

What's the short version? Came home late and drunk? Made lots of noise. Asked to keep,it down. Didn't and Garda called? Don't see what your issue is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

Im sure there are T&C's in the contract you made when you booked your accommodation.

B&B's are different to hotels and are obviously a much smaller scale, let alone owner occupied.

in my opinion you have no case to sue. You were asked to keep it down, you didnt and for the guards to be called and to make arrests, it must have been fairly rowdy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,517 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Probably not to be honest. If anything the B&B owner should be sueing ye for disturbance to other guests/having to compensate guests/loss of future earnings and getting a bad image.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Bit of a different culture here I know but is it normal to keep kids out to 2AM?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Drunk adults and noisy children waking the other residents at 2am? Sounds like the Gardai were called for a legitimate reason, you were creating a big disturbance.

Was the B and B in Smithfield

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,127 ✭✭✭3DataModem

Bit of a different culture here I know but is it normal to keep kids out to 2AM?

It's normal for some people. Any further comment will give me an infraction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Leilak

if it was me l would be so embarrassed and apologising profusely to b an b owner how dare you bring up the subject of suing them since you are acting like morons at 2am waking and disturbing other guests, chances are she had to give all occupants a freebie because of you last night, should be ashamed of yourselves :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Op have all your posts to date been about whether you can sue people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,592 ✭✭✭elastico

Maybe next time don't forget to tow the caravans behind ye when ye go on the summer tour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭MentalMario

If the christening was in a pub, it's illegal to have kids on the premises after 9pm.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

If the christening was in a pub, it's illegal to have kids on the premises after 9pm.

Being pedantic it's 10pm from May to September
    anyway op you don't have a leg to stand on

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭ComfortKid

So you didn't have any luck suing the mechanic, or the person that "broke" your new key?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

ComfortKid wrote: »
    So you didn't have any luck suing the mechanic, or the person that "broke" your new key?

I saw that aswell... but we left out the potential medical malpractice....

Out for a quick buck i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

Or GP and hospital.

I hope I never cross paths with the OP.

• Site Banned Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Youngblood.III

I see nothing here to indicate the OP is from the travelling community...

It appears to be a harsh lesson, b&b are not really suitable for coming back with a big crowd and heavy drinking...better a hotel next time.

I avoid b&b's like the plague, some owners have no clue.

The lack of education maybe? This is a typical traveler scenario. I could be wrong but it seems so

Or could be from a non English speaking country but I doubt they would have the whole family over for a christening and staying in a B&B

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

The lack of education maybe? This is a typical traveler scenario. I could be wrong but it seems so

Op has posted before about getting hospital treatment in Lithuania

Combining that and their poor English I'd say it's more likely they are Lithuanian?

Stheno wrote:
    Op has posted before about getting hospital treatment in Lithuania

I had just edited my post to suggest that. Sorry OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Sandrutute

Excuse me !!! my last post have nothing to do with this post ! Yes i'm very unlucky person by the way ! and for notice i was diagnosed recently with cancer thank you to irish doctors !!! Well i'm only responsible for my self not any one else ! thats why i'm asking , i didn't even drink a bit at all of the party ! and I did not make noise it was other people but i got kicked out . AND we rented out studio for a party and got a taxi back to b&b . So much of racisim in them comments !! I'm half irish by the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I am sorry to hear of your cancer diagnosis.

I guess you were part of a group that were causing a disturbance so the whole group was thrown out. It'd be fairly standard that disturbances and noise at 2am would not be acceptable in a b&b or hotel.

Sandrutute wrote: »
    Excuse me !!! my last post have nothing to do with this post ! Yes i'm very unlucky person by the way ! and for notice i was diagnosed recently with cancer thank you to irish doctors !!! Well i'm only responsible for my self not any one else ! thats why i'm asking , i didn't even drink a bit at all of the party ! and I did not make noise it was other people but i got kicked out . AND we rented out studio for a party and got a taxi back to b&b . So much of racisim in them comments !! I'm half irish by the way

Your posting history indicates you have a tendancy to want to sue anyone you perceive has done you wrong.

Your level of English indicates ssomeone poorly educated or a non native speaker

22 people arriving back to a b and b at 2 am where there are other guests will always be problematic

If you are as adversarial in real life as on here I'm not surprised you got thrown out.

I'm glad Irish doctors have diagnosed your illness and wish you a full recovery

Racism? Quote one racist comment on this thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Mod:

There have been a number of comments about the OP in ways which do not directly relate to the legal issues at hand. These comments are unfair, off-topic and I'd like them to stop now, please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,810 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Cue new thread asking for advice on suing boards.ie for being racists...

Actually I think that I would be rather pissed off if I got lamped in with those causing the ruckus, regardless of being in the same group or not. I am only responsible for my own actions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

Can I sue the OP for wasting my time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭N365

Sorry to hear of your cancer diagnosis . Do you think the "irish" doctors were at fault somehow or are you genuinely thanking them? As for the b&b have you thought of going to the small claims court?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Mod:

The topic is the OP being thrown out of the B&B. Please keep on topic.

No more sniping at the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

we rented out 8 rooms in b&b
    only 5 people left of 22 .
    Did you book as a group, or individually?

Also, were 5 left in the B&B, or did 5 leave the B&B?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭billy few mates

Mod:

The topic is the OP being thrown out of the B&B. Please keep on topic.

No more sniping at the OP.

I can't understand why this thread hasn't been closed yet as it's basically a request for legal advice. Leaving it running like this is an open invitation for judgement and abuse.
    Time to put this thread out of its misery....

I can't understand why this thread hasn't been closed yet as it's basically a request for legal advice. Leaving it running like this is an open invitation for judgement and abuse. Time to put this thread out of its misery....

Time to ban you for back seat modding ha