Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

how to secure items better on the farm

• 02-08-2015 9:51pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭

been playing on my mind recently that I should be doing a better job securing items in the workshed. cattle sheds are grand as there is nothing in there to be stolen but its the workshed which has everything. now a lot of the items aren't worth much but it they all had to be replaced you wouldn't be long seeing a good few thousand go. for example welders, power washer, air compressor, chainsaw, strimmer, sockets, grinders... the list goes on. what is the best way to secure. padlock on the door isn't much of a security device.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

f140 wrote: »
    been playing on my mind recently that I should be doing a better job securing items in the workshed. cattle sheds are grand as there is nothing in there to be stolen but its the workshed which has everything. now a lot of the items aren't worth much but it they all had to be replaced you wouldn't be long seeing a good few thousand go. for example welders, power washer, air compressor, chainsaw, strimmer, sockets, grinders... the list goes on. what is the best way to secure. padlock on the door isn't much of a security device.

A dog without question.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

Miname wrote: »
    A dog without question.

what is the thinking about a dog? is it more to notify the owner or just to scare off the robber in the first place in which case the dog would need to be vicious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

what is the thinking about a dog? is it more to notify the owner or just to scare off the robber in the first place in which case the dog would need to be vicious

The dog doesn't need to be vicious just look the part. There's lads that around my place regularly that know my dog is quiet but they still won't get out of their cars and jeeps till I'm around. I got robbed a few times prior to having the dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭gavindublin

You can setup a really cheap camera system that will ring or text your phone when motion detection is activated. You'd be sorted with €150 euro. Maybe a fiver every 2 months to top up the sim card in the camera system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

A dog that will bark and look the part eg German pointer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,329 ✭✭✭emaherx

We were robbed last year, about 4 grands worth of tools, diesel taken from tractors, tractors tampered with, home heating oil drained and the worst part was feckers killed the dog.

We now have a few security cameras with remote monitoring and I am thinking some beam breaks with phone alert might be next. I also have set up extra sensor lights and a few on dusk till dawn switches, no use filming a dark yard, cameras have night vision but much better quality picture when lights are on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭pms7

Steel door with covered padlock, like youd see on some commercial premises has to be a good idea i reckon?
    MOst farm yards are a joke security wise, open sheds and diesel in the open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭P_Cash

emaherx wrote: »
    We were robbed last year, about 4 grands worth of tools, diesel taken from tractors, tractors tampered with, home heating oil drained and the worst part was feckers killed the dog.

We now have a few security cameras with remote monitoring and I am thinking some beam breaks with phone alert might be next. I also have set up extra sensor lights and a few on dusk till dawn switches, no use filming a dark yard, cameras have night vision but much better quality picture when lights are on.

Yes, correct way to go with the sensor lights.

I've infra cams but switched off the infra almost immediately, as it picks up all sorts, even rain.
    Let the sensor light kick in the cams 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭ABlur

You can setup a really cheap camera system that will ring or text your phone when motion detection is activated. You'd be sorted with €150 euro. Maybe a fiver every 2 months to top up the sim card in the camera system.

Hi Gavin, could you post a link to this type of system please?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Where do you live?

I really don't think we should be discussing this stuff on an open forum. Do you think scumbags can't read or use the internet? If they trawl through all your old posts, photos etc. I reckon they could pin any of us down to a parish.
    All a good padlock will do is stop an honest man.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

The first step to securing a place is to have a gate that is closed more than it's open. There are too many yards that they can drive right into when scouting an area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,329 ✭✭✭emaherx

blue5000 wrote: »
    Where do you live?

I really don't think we should be discussing this stuff on an open forum. Do you think scumbags can't read or use the internet? If they trawl through all your old posts, photos etc. I reckon they could pin any of us down to a parish.

To be honest, he listed tools found on every single farm in the country and the scumbags know this already. What they don't know is if they are any good. When we were robbed they left all of the Lidl/Aldi/blackspor crap and also even branded which looked a little tired. They took their time and grabbed stuff that would sell easily.

One of the biggest things farmers need to do here is stop buying second-hand tools from traveling sales men!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

Where do you live?

I try to keep my info to a minimum on here alright. the one luck that I have is that all my stuff is oldish with a lot of aldi/lidl stuff that's worth **** all really. it would only get expensive if it had to be replaced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

Where do you live?

I lost the key to a field and I could open it easily with two hits of a hammer.