Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pre wedding grooming

• 30-07-2015 11:51am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭

Howya lads

Getting married shortly and was thinking of getting a few treatments done. Maybe a facial or a wax? Anyone know of any packages available or what would ye champions of good taste and advice recommend. Wedding mid September

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

I don't know about facials etc. but I would highly highly recommend getting a manicure. Your hands and fingers will NEVER be looked t more than on your wedding day, there's always photos of the hands with the new wedding rings, photographers love close-ups on the two wedding ring hands together for the album. Last thing you want are hangnails and bitten stubs of nails immortalised forever. Loads of places do matte manicures for guys, really just a tidy-up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭blue note

Are you sure your wife will like the wax? Lots of girls don't like it and would rather a tidy up. At worst she'll probably get a little laugh out of it to be honest.

And a manicure would be nice if that's the look you're going for, but I wouldn't like my fingers to look too manicured basically.

Maybe a turkish shave?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

blue note wrote: »
    Are you sure your wife will like the wax? Lots of girls don't like it and would rather a tidy up. At worst she'll probably get a little laugh out of it to be honest.

And a manicure would be nice if that's the look you're going for, but I wouldn't like my fingers to look too manicured basically.

Maybe a turkish shave?

What does a tidy up entail?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭aaakev

Turkish shave all the way, leave the manicure to the ladys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭blue note

What does a tidy up entail?

Well I have a razor (electric babyliss thing)which I call my balls razor and I just trim the longer hairs myself. I suppose I leave the hair length at about 1-2cm. Don't know if you can get it done by a hairdresser / barber. I'd feel weird about it to be honest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

blue note wrote: »
    Well I have a razor (electric babyliss thing)which I call my balls razor and I just trim the longer hairs myself. I suppose I leave the hair length at about 1-2cm. Don't know if you can get it done by a hairdresser / barber. I'd feel weird about it to be honest!

Get your balls trimmed by a barber?

nah.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,295 ✭✭✭gucci

Get your balls trimmed by a barber?

Sure.....why not suggest it to all the lads on the Stag party, maybe it could be a nice relaxing treatment for you all!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

I didnt do too much for mine. The burd wanted me to have a facial but I declined, I booked my groomsmen and my Dad in for a hot towel shave the morning of it. Couldn't have one myself as I have a beard so they just shaved me around the beard line. They were all delighted with their shaves though so maybe that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,995 ✭✭✭✭fits

My husband got a manicure a few days before, just to make sure the nails were presentable.