Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycling in Alvor Portugal

• 29-07-2015 1:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭

Heyho fellow boardsies, can anyone tell me if they have cycled in the Alvor area & if so cost of renting a bike and any other comments in regards to traffic, road conditions etc?

thank you

Bloggsie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

I am a bit further down the road from you in Quinta Do Lago, you are much nearer Monchique than me, that would be the go to mountain climb down here. Depending on distances Quarenca and Barrancho de Vehlo is where I go, some great hills, little traffic and good roads. Would be a good cycle from where you are based though easily 100k+

Silves and Monchique for you I would expect would suit better, once you get past the cities its lovely country roads, surface very good and drivers while fast are respectful of cyclists. The routes I have done are fairly well signposted as well

Shops I have no experience over your side, I cant do much this year but got a very nice TCR for 55 euros for three days. I use Bikeland near albufeira http://www.bikeland.pt/shop/ If you can collect and drop off, and bring the sundries like pedals, helmets and shoes they will bring down the price. The longer you hire it the less you pay per day. Swap a few emails back and forth though and make sure its booked before you come, as I was collecting mine two yanks came in to hire and they were sold out

Go in the mornings early - I could fry an egg on my helmet by the time I get back to the house

Not that I do it but the place is packed with mountain bikers - there is great trails to be had over here if thats your bag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

I cycled around Alvor area back in 2012. Lovely roads, driver behaviour was good too. I brought my bike over rather than renting, works out around the same price for anything over a week I think.
    Monchique is a lovely hill climb, some nice views from up along the way. There's also a nice route out to the hydroelec damn near Odiaxre
    It gets HOT out there though, so advise getting going by 7 or 7:30 am. I used to put half a bottle of water in the freezer overnight and top it up with cold water before leaving the apt, kept it nice and cold for the spin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Bloggsie

catweazle wrote: »
    I am a bit further down the road from you in Quinta Do Lago, you are much nearer Monchique than me, that would be the go to mountain climb down here. Depending on distances Quarenca and Barrancho de Vehlo is where I go, some great hills, little traffic and good roads. Would be a good cycle from where you are based though easily 100k+

Silves and Monchique for you I would expect would suit better, once you get past the cities its lovely country roads, surface very good and drivers while fast are respectful of cyclists. The routes I have done are fairly well signposted as well

Shops I have no experience over your side, I cant do much this year but got a very nice TCR for 55 euros for three days. I use Bikeland near albufeira http://www.bikeland.pt/shop/ If you can collect and drop off, and bring the sundries like pedals, helmets and shoes they will bring down the price. The longer you hire it the less you pay per day. Swap a few emails back and forth though and make sure its booked before you come, as I was collecting mine two yanks came in to hire and they were sold out

Go in the mornings early - I could fry an egg on my helmet by the time I get back to the house

Not that I do it but the place is packed with mountain bikers - there is great trails to be had over here if thats your bag
    Thanks catweazle,
    I would be a road bike type, in the past 3 years of going to the Algrve I have only seen 1 or 2 cyclists, havent been to Alvor before, have been in Montechoro so I was considering a spin or two in the sunshine.
    thanks again
    Bloggise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭johnk123

+1 on all the above. I'm not in Alvor, but know the roads well around the area. Monchique is lovely and I agree with the sentiment of getting out early if you can.

This year (May/June), as I was leaving our place one morning, I was stopped by another holiday maker who was there for a week asking about rentals blah blah blah. Next day on my way back in the gate I meet him saying that a company from lagos dropped him out a bike for a fixed fee... can't remember the name but might be worth looking into.

Cycling has really started to take off over there so chances are there are a couple of bikes shops close to you that may rent. Loads of cyclists out on the road.. plenty of bike pRon out on the roads too!

With regard to renting, make sure you book as it is high season over there now, particularly once August hits. If it's only for a day or two, rent the bike. If it's for the week obviously it makes sense to bring your own.

My mother is over there at the minute and the weather is gorgeous by all accounts... you lucky fecker!

thanks johnk123,
    asking now so I can use the pool of knowledge that boardsies can offer.
    not heading out for a few weeks yet, would love to go for a spin without having to take rain gear/overshoes etc. as for getting up & out early, that wouldnt be an issue, Im on the bike just after six twice a week to commute to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭mcgovern

There was a place doing rentals on the main street in Alvor last year, but I don't remember the name, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭on_the_nickel

Just back from a few days in Odiaxere.

Would recommend Monchique, and the climb up to the observatory at Foia (I thought it was pretty much over once I got to Monchique, but found to my cost that it gets steeper out of the town and is 5k or more to the top).

There's a nice road west from Monchique across to Marmalete and Aljuzar if you fancy extending it. If you go that way , there's a road west of Marmalete that will bring you down to Odiaxere past the lake. Good surface and very quiet, looking at my Strava I hit 84kph on the descent without pushing.

I also went out to Sagres and Cabo de San Vicente (more SW point of Europe) which was pretty flat but very windy near the coast. Lovely views. If it's hot, as it was when I was there, it's nice to get some cool air.

Brought my own bike so can't help you with rental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭hans aus dtschl

Monchique/Foia is incredible. +1 on the recommendations for them.

Bike rental was around 100euro for the week or so for me. Bikes tend to be poor enough spec, but in good nick despite that. So you'll get a heavy frame and stuff, but they'll be in good nick.

I brought helmet, shoes, pedals saddle. (and obviously tubes/tools/pump/garmin)

I used megasport, who dropped the bike to the door of the hotel. I don't remember if they gave me a selection to choose from (I've rented a number of times) but I don't believe they did.

http://www.megasport.pt/uk/default.asp?flag=55

Oh and you will need water going up to Monchique. It might be your first HC climb, given that there are none in Ireland. I found myself going through a number of bottles for the round trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭R1_Pete

Bloggsie wrote: »
    Heyho fellow boardsies, can anyone tell me if they have cycled in the Alvor area & if so cost of renting a bike and any other comments in regards to traffic, road conditions etc?

thank you

Bloggsie

I am in Alvor right now. I have a place here so get over a few times of year and love the cycling. Like you say it's warm, zero rain and very little traffic once you get out of town.

I use either a hybrid or mount own bike here as I like exploring some of the back roads. A road bike would be great with the hills but you would be restricted to "main" roads.

I haven't yet tackled monchique but it's on my bucket list. (Anyone.. What was the metres climbed. How long did it take?)

There was a place on Main Street last year renting bikes but they have closed. The bikes were pretty crap and poorly maintained to be honest.

There are a few places like tourimoto who do road bikes and will deliver to your hotel. It's about 100 per week to rent. Also there is a very good LBS called one bike, just outside Portimao and they rent. I believe they do good bikes as they are a trek agent. Also the sportzone in Portimao beside Aqua mall have started renting bikes. They have their own brand berg but I looked today and it was all Hybrid or MTB.

Regarding routes.. My biggest challenge is finding a route over 30k that's not looping back on myself or on bad roads. I have a nice 35k loop out if Alvor onto the 125 and off around the back roads through vinyards and hills, back via Portimao and into Alvor. It's hilly but very pleasant.

Or you can head out of Alvor and follow the 125 all the way into Lagos which is lovely, it's about 20k each way with a decent road and wide hard shoulder. There are little turn off all along which climb up into the hills and always end back on the main road. Quieter and more enjoyable. You can also head up towards the race circuit from the 125. The roads are empty and like glass.. So smooth and cut through the mountains and hills. Hardly a car to be seen out that way.

Where are you staying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭R1_Pete

Was out in the hills today. Lovely way to start the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 waywardchild

Know Alvor well the roads are great and quite. you definitely won't need the winter woolies. bring plenty of water thought temps this time of year reach 30s+ enjoy the trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

I used http://www.cycling-rentals.com/ on holidays last week. They supply to all of Portugal and Spain.
    I found them great to deal with and the bike was a good quality Fuji road bike. They delivered the bike to my guesthouse by courier the day before I arrived and collected it the day I left. I'd use them again if I wasn't bringing my own bike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭wilhelm roentgen

I was in Carvoeiro this year in May, just East of Portimao. And I have cycled throughout the Algarve over the years. This year I rented from Tom Metcalfe an ex pro cyclist based in Faro, but delivers to hotels etc

https://www.swiftmomentumsports.com/

Half decent bikes and well maintained

Rode Monchique a few times and all the routes from Silves up to Sao Marcos/Alferce etc.

If you are ever thinking of going to Portugal on a cycling trip, I cannot recommend Tavira highly enough. Amazing place, all the roads North of the town are fantastic.
    Rented from a bloke called Luis at Casa Abilio. A gem of an individual, beautiful bikes and great value. Such an underrated area to cycle,beautiful countryside and good roads. A group of us went last year for four days, covered 500kms and 11,000 Metres of Ascent.....it isn't flat!!

http://www.abiliobikes.com/en/

R1_Pete wrote: »
    I haven't yet tackled monchique but it's on my bucket list. (Anyone.. What was the metres climbed. How long did it take?)

20km, 820m, takes around an hour, average 4%

Very consistent gradient. For water, there are shops in Monchique itself, cafe at the top of Foia, and a well between Monchique and Foia.

https://www.strava.com/segments/5257112

Hi R1 Pete, having a blonde/senior moment at the moment & I cant think of the name(i know its about 20 paces to the beach)
    from the responses on here Monchique seems to be the popular choice.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

I'm over in Alvor on the 21st for a week, hoping to rent also. I contacted Bike Algarve who were charging 100 euro for the 4 days but it was going to cost me 130 to get it delivered and picked up! :(
    So I threw a few emails off there.

REALLY looking forward to it.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Lads, how hard did you find it to find your war around and home! I'm aiming to do Monchique. Was it well signed?
    Also what time did ye head out, having my wife and 2 kids and will be on the road at 6.30 or 7am to get in and home in time before they leave me! :D
    Also, security for your bike, do you bring a lock and lock it at the apartment and when you go on your spins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭johnk123

yop wrote: »
    Lads, how hard did you find it to find your war around and home! I'm aiming to do Monchique. Was it well signed?
    Also what time did ye head out, having my wife and 2 kids and will be on the road at 6.30 or 7am to get in and home in time before they leave me! :D
    Also, security for your bike, do you bring a lock and lock it at the apartment and when you go on your spins?
    Was it well signed? Well if you are looking at a map, pick the towns/roads you want to travel on and remember them or write them down. Or take a good look on strava either. All the towns and roads are signposted.

It's fairly straightforward.

As for bike security, only you can answer how comfortable you are with a bike in any given location or any given levels of security on your apartment.

johnk123 wrote: »
    Was it well signed? Well if you are looking at a map, pick the towns/roads you want to travel on and remember them or write them down. Or take a good look on strava either. All the towns and roads are signposted.

It's fairly straightforward.

As for bike security, only you can answer how comfortable you are with a bike in any given location or any given levels of security on your apartment.

Cheers for that. I grabbed one of the lads strava activities and exported it so I will see if I can update to my 510 before I go.
    I hear u re security.

How did you manage water for say a 3 hour spin? I presume you needed to keep well topped up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

I just used my garmin, but there are plenty of sign posts usually.
    waterwise, 2 bottles is fine for 3 hours if you go early in the morning, it's not realy hot till after 9. Once you're up in the hills the temp drops a bit.
    They also have these things called shops along the way :D and there's a cafe about half way up to monchique on the LHS of the road as you climb, does lovely espresso and they've water and icecream :D

Shops everywhere. And to find Monchique, not only is it well signposted, it's on the huge big mountain overlooking pretty much the entire southwest Algarve: just keep going uphill and you'll end up there!

kenmc wrote: »
    I just used my garmin, but there are plenty of sign posts usually.
    waterwise, 2 bottles is fine for 3 hours if you go early in the morning, it's not realy hot till after 9. Once you're up in the hills the temp drops a bit.
    They also have these things called shops along the way :D and there's a cafe about half way up to monchique on the LHS of the road as you climb, does lovely espresso and they've water and icecream :D
    Shops everywhere. And to find Monchique, not only is it well signposted, it's on the huge big mountain overlooking pretty much the entire southwest Algarve: just keep going uphill and you'll end up there!

Ha ha, thanks lads, bunch of smart asses! :D

I think I just want to go now! :D

I was being serious. At night the lights at the top look like stars in the sky: it's a big mountain sticking up above the plains, you couldn't go wrong, but even at that the road signage is excellent.

As for shops, as you come into Monchique from the south (climbing) there's a little supermarket on your right which is stupidly cheap, even for Portugal. The top of Foia has a nice cafe too. There's a little well between Monchique and Foia, on the right hand side. Dunno if it's safe or whatever, but I drank from it, lol. You won't have too much trouble with water.
    If you get in trouble, point the bike downhill and you won't need to pedal most of the way back home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭on_the_nickel

In fairness, it's not *that* straightforward to go to Foia through Monichique due to the one way system.

Signs are clear on the way up, but the descent back into Monchique is quite fast so you mightn't see the signpost (I didn't first time down) - at the first roundabout in you take the first exit (on the right), don't go back the way you came.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

As for shops, as you come into Monchique from the south (climbing) there's a little supermarket on your right which is stupidly cheap, even for Portugal.

Ha when I got up to the cafe in Quarenca, I asked for a double expresso and a bottle of water, I think I got back 3.80 from a fiver. It was a refreshing change from handing over 3-4 euros for a double expresso in the area where I was staying