Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hill 16 ticket locationquestion

• 28-07-2015 10:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭

Hello

I m a long time Croke Park attender (Dubs) but Ive never been on Hill 16.... Heresy, I know, I know...
    Was thinking of buying tix there this for this Sunday, question is I thought it was pretty general access but I understand it is actually sectioned off these days.
    The tix I have on offer are 'XX2'
    Does anyone know where that is exactly?
    Im especially not keen on ending up in that little Nally wedge of seats in the corner next to the Hogan, between the control centre/screen and the corner

Sorry if this has been asked already, I havnt been able to find anything on it

Thanks all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

TedR wrote: »
    Hello

I m a long time Croke Park attender (Dubs) but Ive never been on Hill 16.... Heresy, I know, I know...
    Was thinking of buying tix there this for this Sunday, question is I thought it was pretty general access but I understand it is actually sectioned off these days.
    The tix I have on offer are 'XX2'
    Does anyone know where that is exactly?
    Im especially not keen on ending up in that little Nally wedge of seats in the corner next to the Hogan, between the control centre/screen and the corner

Sorry if this has been asked already, I havnt been able to find anything on it

Thanks all

God you have me there brother ... the "preferred sections" would be B1-B4 or if you preferred a higher vantage point A1-A4. Section 1 is the 1st section after the Nally afaik - on that basis I'd be reluctant to pull the trigger on XX2 tickets tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Check the croke park seating plan might get an idea there. I'm on my phone and it's a nightmare using non mobile sites otherwise would link you.

Also if it is the section to the left of the hill do yourself a big favour and don't get the tickets, was there for a sold out Leinster final years ago never again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

None of my Hill tickets have ever said that on them, so I have no idea what it means. Where are you getting the tickets from? Are they from someone who is getting them from a club, or are you buying them online/Supervalu?

I have to go into the Dorset St ticket office today, so I'll ask them if you want.

Btw, am pretty sure that if they are for the Nally Stand (the crappy section beneath the scoreboard) they will say the Nally Stand on them. They won't say Hill 16.

In theory, you are supposed to be able to stand where ever you like. Everyone enters thru the same turnstile and once you are in, you don't have to go to a specific area. However, on days when a full house is expected, the Guards and safety stewards close off access to sections, as they start to fill up. The more popular sections (behind the goal) fills up first. As they fills in, newer arrivals are directed out towards the side sections. But you aren't made go to a certain area from the get go, unless the section that you want to go to, is already full. At least, I never have been.

ProudDUB wrote: »

Btw, am pretty sure that if they are for the Nally Stand (the crappy section beneath the scoreboard) they will say the Nally Stand on them. They won't say Hill 16.

In theory you are supposed to be able to stand where ever you like. Everyone enters thru the same turnstile and once you are in, you don't have to go to a specific area. However, on days when a full house is expected, the Guards and safety stewards close off access to sections, as they start to fill up. The more popular sections (behind the goal) fills up first. As they fills in, newer arrivals are directed out towards the side sections. But you aren't made go to a certain area from the get go. At least, I never have been.

This makes perfect sense PD .... you're either buying a ticket for The Hill or Nally .. the XX2 is just a generic location. The terraces generally fill early with those that have a particular spot they wish to stand around - most of these are the barriers above the entrance tunnels that you come onto the Hill - unimpeded views being the primary here. I have heard "you're standing in my spot" before so there is a clannish element there !

I don't do the Hill as often now as I used to .. but the young lad is coming to the age that he wants to go there .. that's a straight saving on €100 on the Parnell Passes in fairness !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭TedR

Thanks lads
    Source is via the Gaa.ie site. It doesn't say Nally, just Hill standing.

I did check out the seating maps, I know them well from use before, but the ones I can find don't seem to indicate any breakdown of areas within Hill 16, not even the A1-4 B1 B4 thing, its just shown as generic terrace.

Not too sure what to do.

XX sounds only marginally better than row Z :-)

TedR wrote: »
    Thanks lads
    Source is via the Gaa.ie site. It doesn't say Nally, just Hill standing.

I did check out the seating maps, I know them well from use before, but the ones I can find don't seem to indicate any breakdown of areas within Hill 16, not even the A1-4 B1 B4 thing, its just shown as generic terrace.

Not too sure what to do.

XX sounds only marginally better than row Z :-)

Personally I'd buy them if they're Hill Standing, particularly if yer planning on getting in for the 1st game you'll have the time and space to see what's best for you

Ill prob do that, thanks.

Funny enough I had a look again, on tickets.ie, now shows avails as Hill YY but interestingly shows a seat number too, although that obviously can't be correct

Ill be passing Dorset st shop tomorrow so Ill check in with them.

Was in the ticket office today & asked about the online Hill tickets having sections and rows on them. He said that all Hill & Nally tickets are assigned a section, a row & and number. This is so that the various stakeholders involved can keep track of them, or print them off in batches if need be. But ticket holders are not made go to the section/row printed on their ticket.

On Hill & Nally tickets, the specific section/row is printed in very small letters (beside the bar code that is scanned) so that people aren't even aware that their ticket even has an "assigned" spot in the first place. It's not printed on the main body of the ticket, the way it is with a seated stand ticket. So other than sections being blocked off as they fill up, you can go where you want. The ticket won't be for the Nally Stand tickets if it says the Hill on it. Nally Stand tickets say Nally Stand on them.

ProudDub
    thats why I love boards
    comprehensive answer, fair play to you, thx

Up the Dubs

Nae problem. Us poor, beleagured Dubs hafta stick together. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Nae problem. Us poor, beleagured Dubs hafta stick together. :D

31 counties are no match for us when we do.:) Up the Dubs.