Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2015 Tax How are you fixed?

• 26-07-2015 12:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭

With all the talk on the "milk price" thread of bad price continuing and super levy to be paid I'm wondering how are people going to manage this yrs tax bill. We've had a record price last year and tax is going to be an issue. It's the one thing that needs to be dealt with.

Do you wait till ROS form arrives to be signed and then panic?

Do you have your accounts completed and know where you stand?

Do you have a taxation plan for this year and the next few years?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

With all the talk on the "milk price" thread of bad price continuing and super levy to be paid I'm wondering how are people going to manage this yrs tax bill. We've had a record price last year and tax is going to be an issue. It's the one thing that needs to be dealt with.

Ah feck ye its sunday and we were depressed already after the football, ac ounts done bill hasnt come but we have a fair idea what it will be and we have made changes for tax going foward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I'm in between changing accountants, it's going on since late April and to be honest the new accountant is as bad as the old accountant at communicating :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I'm in between changing accountants, it's going on since late April and to be honest the new accountant is as bad as the old accountant at communicating :mad:

Know what you mean. ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

2014 accounts done ,refund due .developing farm so lots of capital allowances.no levy to deal with either .presuming ur farming as ltd company

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

mahoney_j wrote: »
    2014 accounts done ,refund due .developing farm so lots of capital allowances.no levy to deal with either .presuming ur farming as ltd company

How can u be due a refund after last yr? Crazy amount of cap ex done here in the last number of yrs, but always have to give them a fine lump as well,I expect this yr will be no different.

Paid too much in preliminary tax ,last year of 100%!stockbrelief as well .refund will be small .roughly 500 euro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Paid too much in preliminary tax ,last year of 100%!stockbrelief as well .refund will be small .roughly 500 euro

God be with the days when they used to pay 8-10% interest. It was a great way to make a few bob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Accounts done. Bit to pay. Plus prelim for next year.

Using income averaging so the clusterfcuk that was 2012 is keeping things down .

Usc is an awfull b@stard of a yoke .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

good chunk of sfp will pay my tax bill.

God be with the days when they used to pay 8-10% interest. It was a great way to make a few bob

8/10% interest on an overpayment ??.only a young lad and was paye till 31/12/09!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Got a surprise with a decent refund on mine also! From a cash flow point of view, the sfp comes in at a decent time I'll admit ha. Usually have it all done in around now, we'll get the payment setup for November and set a reminder to make sure there is enough in the bank to cover it a few days beforehand. I'm using ifac, not the cheapest, but they do the job well enough, certainly not worth the hassle of changing.

8/10% interest on an overpayment ??.only a young lad and was paye till 31/12/09!!

Hmmm never knew that happened either! Have got crippled with preliminary tax when we aren't expecting it in the past, it's a fair kick in the teeth having a good few k tided up for the year when cash is tight anyways.

Timmaay wrote: »
    Got a surprise with a decent refund on mine also! From a cash flow point of view, the sfp comes in at a decent time I'll admit ha. Usually have it all done in around now, we'll get the payment setup for November and set a reminder to make sure there is enough in the bank to cover it a few days beforehand. I'm using ifac, not the cheapest, but they do the job well enough, certainly not worth the hassle of changing.

Ifac here as well ,certainly not cheapest accountant out there but I find them and advice re tax and accounts very good .could easily get cheaper one but could I get a better one...,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

If you purchased milk quota in the past can it now be written off against tax since it's gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Ifac here as well ,certainly not cheapest accountant out there but I find them and advice re tax and accounts very good .could easily get cheaper one but could I get a better one...,,

I was with IFAC expensive and unlike you very bad service.

djmc wrote: »
    If you purchased milk quota in the past can it now be written off against tax since it's gone
    Almost certain no unless you sold it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

djmc wrote: »

Too late now.
    All the quota was bought here and written off against tax over the last few years.
    (That quota thing was the best money I ever spent 😄)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Tax year here is from 1/04 ->31/03. Works well for "load averaging"
    Moved to corp tax last year as the last of the CapEx allowances were used up, and no big plans fro anymore.
    Preliminary accounts done up, amount will be very small

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

Right now. I hate ya

Sacrolyte wrote: »
    Right now. I hate ya

Bank of Ireland finance own my ass for next 10 years or so though!!!,still better them and develop farm than Mr collector general....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭stretch film

Anyone get clarity on writing off any quota bought less than seven years. Was told it should all be written off against 14 as this is final chance.
    Also this mans info was that all superlevy needs to go against 14 as opposed to letting 1/4 go against 15 .
    Not a barstool accountant btw

Farming some thing along those lines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

2014 accounts done and dusted since June. Had the paperwork in since early April, was hearing nothing so rang late May and got it sorted. Like many a poor beef finisher not enough profit to pay tax on, with capital allowances etc got a small bit of an tax refund from our PAYE Tax.

They are very fast to pay it out fair play. it was spit between us both as we are jointly acessed. One was going into the farm account, the other was a cheque. The cheque arrived first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Am I the only fool here who's paying out a big lump every yr? It's costing me the bones of €300/wk, if I put my wife's tax on top of that there's over €500/wk going out of my house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

14 Accounts done, paid a fair bit of preliminary last year. Will get in a shot of 15 stuff together prior to oct and do up an estimate to reduce the preliminary for next year. We were on income averaging can exit this year so will c after x chat with accountant wether to stay in. Have extra capital allowance now also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Am I the only fool here who's paying out a big lump every yr? It's costing me the bones of €300/wk, if I put my wife's tax on top of that there's over €500/wk going out of my house.

That is nearly as bad as being a PAYE worker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Don't think you're a fool , if you're drawing down plenty of money you'll be paying tax . Investment in the farm has to be done and will cancel out tax but it's not all about that either when you need cash in the claw every week . 3 pairs of shoes for kids bought here the last day and €150 gone not to mention all the rest :D

At least the kids shoes are vat free lol!

Actually DSW, if your drawing big amounts that's when the company route makes more sense, have you or your accountant looked into it?

At least the kids shoes are vat free lol!

Haha, they would want be at the rate they are growing :D

No idea about how "foolish" you are ;)

If your income and profit is high you'll pay a fair whack and its the drawings that crucify us all.

The figure you mentioned doesn't sound excessive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Midfield9

Over 600 a week last year between the father and myself. Have this years stuff ready. Nearly afraid to hand them in. Obviously making a profit yet the bank accouint never looks like it. Tax bill really takes the joy out of farming lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

A lot of lads would have paid a bit extra preliminary tax last november as they knew 14 figures would be high. Most of my farmers accounts done here - I find they great for getting stuff in because most of them are always mad to know how the year went! Most other trades are leaving it till October to drop stuff in.

Actually DSW, if your drawing big amounts that's when the company route makes more sense, have you or your accountant looked into it?
    Noy sure about that, my reading is the company pays best if you can live within the 20 %tax rates and retain the the rest of the profits within the company, open to correction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Similar here:o

But I have repayments on building my yard from scratch, with capital allowances gone a good while now so only the interest is allowable. So the repayments are counted as income and taxed at a marginal rate of 57%:(

Nearly finished that loan now though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

€300 per cow here. Takes all direct payments, sfp, reps or glass. What pisses me off is that when the country sees a bit of daylight financially the civil servants make off with it in the form of pay restoration and reversal of pension contributions. Self employed getting the ****ty end of the stick, starting paying tax at €8250 v paye starting at €€16500.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Midfield9 wrote: »
    Over 600 a week last year between the father and myself. Have this years stuff ready. Nearly afraid to hand them in. Obviously making a profit yet the bank accouint never looks like it. Tax bill really takes the joy out of farming lately.

Since the recession hit, there are loads out there that'd love to be in your position.
    I presume you've gone down the company route.... a lot of experts maintain that it's not a good idea for most farmers

Accountant tells me I'm looking at close to 40k. Holy sh1t. I feel like I haven't a pot to piss in. I'm told my drawings are too high to go company route. Due mainly to repayments on cap ex that have the allowances used up and some legacy stuff.i know this probably sounds wrong but sometimes I see guys drawing the dole and doing the odd nixer and havin a few pints in the middle of the day while havin a few punts on the gg's and I feel a bit envious.

Sacrolyte wrote: »
    Accountant tells me I'm looking at close to 40k. Holy sh1t. I feel like I haven't a pot to piss in. I'm told my drawings are too high to go company route. Due mainly to repayments on cap ex that have the allowances used up and some legacy stuff.i know this probably sounds wrong but sometimes I see guys drawing the dole and doing the odd nixer and havin a few pints in the middle of the day while havin a few punts on the gg's and I feel a bit envious.

I had an interesting encounter after milking yesterday evening. Went to the local to get fags and the usual suspects were lined up drinking and more power to them. They are all there again today as they're members of a "Monday" club iykwim.

I was in overalls and wellies and their spokesman pipes up about how much money I have and what a phuckin eejit I am to be working on a Sun evening.

I agreed I was a fool and that 50+% of my days work was going to keep him in drink!! I wasn't offered a pint :)

Similar here:o

But I have repayments on building my yard from scratch, with capital allowances gone a good while now so only the interest is allowable. So the repayments are counted as income and taxed at a marginal rate of 57%:(

Nearly finished that loan now though.

How much are capital allowances?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

How much are capital allowances?

12.5% I think? Or 15% for 6 years and 10% the last?

They've been gone so long I've forgotten.

I had an interesting encounter after milking yesterday evening. Went to the local to get fags and the usual suspects were lined up drinking and more power to them. They are all there again today as they're members of a "Monday" club iykwim.

I was in overalls and wellies and their spokesman pipes up about how much money I have and what a phuckin eejit I am to be working on a Sun evening.

I agreed I was a fool and that 50+% of my days work was going to keep him in drink!! I wasn't offered a pint :)
    Them Monday club boys have to be admired for their bookkeeping skills in all fairness . How the feck can they drag the weeks drink and fags out of the dole is deadly , tactical use of subs and the odd lucky game of 25 keeps them going I suppose .

The accelerated ones were great but sadly due to their nature didn't last. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

12.5% over 8 years

Get ya now. It makes sense I guess to spread out capital investment so, so as you are always getting some capital write off. No point spending 2 or 3 years with a huge capital write off throwing you well under the lower rate of tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,202 ✭✭✭amacca

sorry for butting in...just curious, can portions of profits be moved forward/carried forward to subsequent years to offset against losses?

In the same way losses can be carried forward?

amacca wrote: »
    sorry for butting in...just curious, can portions of profits be moved forward/carried forward to subsequent years to offset against losses?

Income averaging?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

This is where doing em early in good years comes in, you can purchase goods in the good calender year and put them against that years tax and if following year is bad x amount of stock is on hand then, within reason of course. Income averaging allows you the pay the average tax based on previous 5 years profits, used to be 3. Good get caught out but in general it balance out the tax a bit. Only thing is you have to stay in for 3 years, maybe 5 with new time period?