Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Halfords oil Half price

• 23-07-2015 8:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭

I was in Halfords today and seen the halfords branded oil 4L for half price.

Picked up the 10w40 for 15 euro but got the AXA DISCOUNT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Bugger! Bought oil there yesterday but forget about the Axa discount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

cena wrote: »
    I was in Halfords today and seen the halfords branded oil 4L for half price.

Picked up the 10w40 for 15 euro but got the AXA DISCOUNT

Gentleman, I was going to buy oil tomorrow and everything.
    I'll get two lots of it now instead, thanks for sharing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,118 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Sweet! The 5W40 fully synth is BMW ll98 specified, so grand for my old BMW engine. At €15 for 4l this is a bargain! Will pick some up tomorrow plus a filter. Was about to change the oil in the next week or so anyway, thanks cena :)

For anyone interested, the fully synth oil currently on sale in Lidl is also BMW ll98 and it's €4.99 for a litre, which is pretty good value too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

unkel wrote: »
    Sweet! The 5W40 fully synth is BMW ll98 specified, so grand for my old BMW engine. At €15 for 4l this is a bargain! Will pick some up tomorrow plus a filter. Was about to change the oil in the next week or so anyway, thanks cena :)

For anyone interested, the fully synth oil currently on sale in Lidl is also BMW ll98 and it's €4.99 for a litre, which is pretty good value too.
    The 5w30 vauxhall/gm used to be ll01 . Was still on the spec on the site the last time I checked but gone off the label now.
    I found it good, in that the mini ran quieter on it in cold weather than castrol 5w30 and the engine didn't eat itself at least...

Yeah have a few bottles of the Lidl for top ups. Don't think the subaru likes it though.

It actually does say ll01 :)
    Halfords Vauxhall/Opel GM Fully Synthetic Oil 4L Extra Info

Oil viscosity 5W30
    Fully Synthetic
    4L bottle
    It meets the requirements of Vauxhall/Opel GM-LL-A-025, GM-LL-B-025, BMW Longlife 2001

Much of a muchness, but I'll probably get that one instead so!

I do only about 6-7k miles per year and I change the oil every year.

It actually does say ll01 :)

Much of a muchness, but I'll probably get that one instead so!

I do only about 6-7k miles per year and I change the oil every year.

I have a bottle in the shed and it no longer has ll01 on the label!! So maybe the formulation has changed.

Edit - It is also possible that the 5l bottle formulations are different to the 4L bottles - is one only a promotional WIGIG product and the other always on the shelf??

I'll tell ya tomorrow. If it doesn't say ll01 on the label of that one, I'll go for the one that does say ll98 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

The 5w30 vauxhall/gm used to be ll01 . Was still on the spec on the site the last time I checked but gone off the label now.
    I found it good, in that the mini ran quieter on it in cold weather than castrol 5w30 and the engine didn't eat itself at least...

Yeah have a few bottles of the Lidl for top ups. Don't think the subaru likes it though.

I've been using that oil in mine for the last 2 years, great oil. Used Castrol for the first service, and halfords for the last two. Never noticed any difference at all. Oil changed every 3000 miles.

Oil changed every 3000 miles.

Why so often, out of curiousity?

3,000 miles is about what? 2 months driving? (to me, anyway)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Why so often, out of curiousity?

3,000 miles is about what? 2 months driving? (to me, anyway)

That's a year to me! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭cena

What is the Lidl oil like compared to other brands

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 124 ✭✭Dark sun

For me it's the one thing I don't skimp on is a good quality brand oil, I know a few lads who have used the lidl oil and it's been fine, but it's got to be cheap for a reason, I know it might have the spec but it's the quality has to be lacking for the sake of €20-30 euro, especially in some modern diesel you could be fine for now but down the line could end up costing you, just my 2cents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭5ub

That's a year to me! :)

Bloody hell I'd do that in under two months nearly, in a 328i no less

cena wrote: »
    What is the Lidl oil like compared to other brands

There is no such thing as good or bad oil brands. That's all marketing nonsense tbh. It's all about the specification / approval of the particular oil for your engine.
    Dark sun wrote: »
    the lidl oil and it's been fine, but it's got to be cheap for a reason

Yep. The reason is that Lidl don't spend money on expensive TV ads, like the likes of Castrol / Mobile. And they buy in bulk giving them superior prices to work with. And the usual other reasons why Lidl is cheap. Low number of lines sold, high turnover, low margin, cheap locations, minimal staff, etc.

A lot of people here believe the mantra: "You get what you pay for"

Let me tell you: that is bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

: "You get what you pay for"

Let me tell you: that is bollocks.

In my life the things I have that still work after many years were expensive to buy initially. Cheap stuff has nearly always been a false economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Feck, bought 5l for her car there last week. Trade card only gets you about €6 off oil now, but I think they've dropped the rrp anyway. Castrol edge quite reasonable there too.

I've been using Total fully synth oil in the civic for 3 years now, but usually get cheap re halfords/lidl fully synth for her car rather than big brand semi synth. It's all about the specs rather than the brand.

Vauxhall opel gm 5w30, despite being specified as bmw ll01 online, doesn't carry ll01 spec on the label any more. Bought some anyway for the scooby. Planning on doing an intermediate oil change on it myself, oil was fairly worn out the last time at 10k km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,993 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Picked up four litres this morning. Won't be needed for another 3k miles but to good a price to pass up.
    €12.75 with the Axa card!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,253 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

In my life the things I have that still work after many years were expensive to buy initially. Cheap stuff has nearly always been a false economy.
    Engine oil is manufactured to meet certain specifications though.
    So as long as it meets the standard required by your cars manufacturer you fine.
    I used to buy on certain premium oils, until I learned that cheaper ones could do the job just as well.