Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pranged a car, left a note, how much should I expect?

• 18-07-2015 11:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭

So I tipped into another car at the shopping centre, waited around a while for the owner to return and eventually left a note on the windshield. I was hoping someone might be able to hazard a guess at how much this will cost me:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,732 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Is the wing bent too?

I'd say if wing is not bent about €150-€200, if wing is bent I'd say €500 or so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Thank goodness you took some photos though you should have got a wider shot with the registration visible just as "insurance". Some people might see this as a good chance to enhance the damage and make a false claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭WAPAIC

Thanks. The plastic was pushed in for sure but I don't think there was substantial damage to the wing. Silly mistake but could always have been worse.

I have a shot of the reg as well but obviously not posting it here. I'll only be paying what's reasonable based on a quote from a reputable repair place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Simply as a covering your backside exercise call the local station and report it too. You were decent and left a note, but just in case the note wasn't seen by the owner it wouldn't do any harm.

Is that necessary? Seems like a simple enough situation - they get a quote, if I agree with it, I pay them the value of the quote, job done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

WAPAIC wrote: »
    Is that necessary? Seems like a simple enough situation - they get a quote, if I agree with it, I pay them the value of the quote, job done?

Well, kind of. What do you plan on doing if you don't agree with it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

Fair play for sticking around and leaving a note. Honesty is hard to come by these days and I'm currently going through a bad accident with the other side changing their story to avoid liability. Won't go into details and derail your thread, but always nice to see someone honest owning up for what they did.

Hopefully it's a small enough amount and you're happy to not go through the insurance to keep your ncb intact. Best of luck with it.

Well, kind of. What do you plan on doing if you don't agree with it?

Discuss it, if necessary revert to solicitors. It's a civil matter I would have thought, AGS will have limited interest. Perhaps I'm wrong though, I'll drop in to the station later on the way by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Discuss it, if necessary revert to solicitors. It's a civil matter I would have thought, AGS will have limited interest. Perhaps I'm wrong though, I'll drop in to the station later on the way by.

I was more thinking if the note got swept away or someone took it off the car and they had to call the Gardai to report it. If the note wasn't there they could say you hit it and fecked off.

Rang the station, they said drop in if you want it on the system but it's a civil matter so long as you left a note, criminal matter if you didn't. Have photo of note on car but will drop into station later for the record anyway. Thanks again everyone. €500 is not the biggest mistake I've ever made so I'll survive.

Fair play for doing the honest thing.

Unfortunately, you're wrong. The owner of the damaged car can simply report the incident to the gardai, they'll get in touch with you to get your insurance details, and pass them over. Your insurance company will pay out, and you won't get near a solicitors office.

You have two choices, pay the quote they give you, or let your insurance handle it. You can always ask them to source a cheaper quote, but it's their choice, they can refuse.

Yep, you're wrong. The owner of the damaged car can simply report the incident to the gardai, they'll get in touch with you to get your insurance details, and pass them over. Your insurance company will pay out, and you won't get near a solicitors office.

You have two choices, pay the quote they give you, or let your insurance handle it. You can always ask them to source a cheaper quote, but it's their choice, they can refuse.

Fair enough, it could work out that way too. Must check if my NCB is protected, it may well be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Fair play to you, there are thousands out there who would have just fooked off and said nothing, well done and I hope your honesty is well rewarded.

Sure you'd be in more bother if you fecked off, wondering if you'd get a knock on the door. Not worth it although I know many would take the view that it is.

So anyway, 500EUR at most?

Hopefully less. You've a good attitude anyway, be nice to see you get off lightly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

Most likely less tbh. From the little we can see and know about it, €500 might be on the high side. I'd guess about half that region. Depends on what other damage is there, if any.

Great - thanks. Will report back when it's all resolved so! With a bit of luck he'll never ring me:) Thanks all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I'd say a bit more tbh, bumper is marked, wing is clearly pushed in also and marked.

It will depend what type of work the owner wants done. I'd expect 500-800. If you are paying cash the body shop may do a deal. Also the owner of the damaged car is fully entitled to go the insurance route so don't be pissed if they do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Fair play OP for leaving a note.

9/10 would look around and drive off if nobody saw.

I experienced this when my neighbours hit the wing on one of our cars and didn't even bother telling us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

The wing looks fairly damaged but the bumper doesn't look too bad.What kind of car and year?

Jaysis, I don't actually know, some kind of people carrier thing, possibly a zafira, 2008.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Jaysis, I don't actually know, some kind of people carrier thing, possibly a zafira, 2008.

http://www.motorcheck.ie/

Whack in the reg and see :)

Opel Zafira Life 1.6I 16V

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,506 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Hi OP, fair play to you on leaving a note. As another poster said, hopefully your honesty will be rewarded some time in the future.

To give you an idea of cost, I did a similar bit of damage to the wing of my car a while ago (photo attached). I got that fixed, along with some scratches to the rear bumper, and the removal of about 5/6 sun lotion handprints for €280.

5/6 sun lotion handprints
    Would never have imagined that would cause damage!

Thanks for the price point, I was thinking 200-350 myself but I prefer that one to some of the others mentioned:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Hi OP, fair play to you on leaving a note. As another poster said, hopefully your honesty will be rewarded some time in the future.

To give you an idea of cost, I did a similar bit of damage to the wing of my car a while ago (photo attached). I got that fixed, along with some scratches to the rear bumper, and the removal of about 5/6 sun lotion handprints for €280.
    Sounds good but it was your own damage so did you replace the wing or was it as case of a bit of filler and a respray just around the area? A third party is unlikely to settle for anything less than a replacement with a Genuine Opel part.

slimjimmc wrote: »
    Sounds good but it was your own damage so did you replace the wing or was it as case of a bit of filler and a respray just around the area? A third party is unlikely to settle for anything less than a replacement with a Genuine Opel part.

You're correct, the wing wasn't replaced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

I did this before ,
    hung around but no one turned up so left a note ,
    also reported to the local station , in case cc tv or witness reported me for driving off.

got a a call 3 days later from the owner who couldnt believe I left a note , and he just asked me to go to the local garage who had qouted him 200 , no way i was going to argue it - i just dropped in and paid the garage and kept the receipt, and counted my self lucky

bad karma to walk away - cos it WILL catch up with you every time - no one seems to realise this no matter what situation it is.

Fair play op. Neighbour of in-laws drove in my car last week. He owned up immediately and got rewarded for his honesty as I got quotation for 280 but as the car is going to be scrapped I'm neither going to get it fixed nor going to pocket the money.

Had he not called in I would have of course pursued it via his insurance. There was plenty of his paint there to find who did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭wally79

Hi all. Sorry for hijacking. Pranged my neighbours 05 peugeot 208 cc on the offside front wing the other day. Just got a quote from them for €1139 inc vat for parts and labour.

Is this high?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

wally79 wrote: »
    Hi all. Sorry for hijacking. Pranged my neighbours 05 peugeot 208 cc on the offside front wing the other day. Just got a quote from them for €1139 inc vat for parts and labour.

Is this high?

Did you do any other harm wally?
    Or can you be sure it was just the wing?

Seems high for that.

@WAPAIC

Did the owner of the car you damaged ever get in contact??

YbFocus wrote: »

Seems high for that.

Was on the phone to neighbour and wasn't told of any other damage

Wing 240
    Paint 120
    Labour 640

Was onto another garage who said labour is very high

I'd say 700 tops, that labour is outrageous.
    Because of the new wrong there is actually less labour than fixing the old one!

YbFocus wrote: »

Seems high for that.

Would you know a reputable body shop in Dublin. South would be best

Sorry wally I'm from the Midlands, plenty of lads in here are though.
    One will turn up here shortly :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

That's probably a dealer price, seems high, but hard to know without seeing the damage. The dealers will just pass the work onto another shop anyway.

Ever ready crash repair who are based in Ballsbridge are good. Brian, is who I've dealt with. They did my polo after I crashed it, and did a job on my BMW for some rust issues.

That's probably a dealer price, seems high, but hard to know without seeing the damage. The dealers will just pass the work onto another shop anyway.

Ever ready crash repair who are based in Ballsbridge are good. Brian, is who I've dealt with. They did my polo after I crashed it, and did a job on my BMW for some rust issues.

He's closed for holidays until tomorrow unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Was on the phone to neighbour and wasn't told of any other damage

Wing 240
    Paint 120
    Labour 640

Was onto another garage who said labour is very high

Probably 10 hours labour?

Doesn't seem too bad to remove the damaged wing, fit the new wing, paint and blend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭5ub

The bulk of that labour would be in paint alright. Which you would expect from a brand new wing.

Thing is, you'd get a wing from a scrapyard for under 100 quid if it was your own car