Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving a car whilst eating a 99

• 17-07-2015 5:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭

I ask you is there anything more irish than seeing some culchie driving around with his elbow resting on the door and licking an ice cream cone :pac:

I've never seen it as much in other countries than here, its as bad as being on a mobile phone imo, maybe the RSA should make it illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Pretty sure eating while driving is illegal. Probably not enforced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭konman

you really don't have much to worry about do you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Did he have sprinkles or syrup on the icecream?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

You're allowed to suck a hard sweet on the public highway so therefore having a 99 is perfectly legal. As is a 69, presumably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Massimo Cassagrande

Someone needs to invent hands-free '99s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Jaysus, ye cant bait an ould cone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Kevwoody

Why are they still called 99's?

• Site Banned Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Youngblood.III

I was inventing the jumbo-breakfast roll holder for all the builders vans...then the resession hit
    :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Up here the nordys call them "Pokes" as in "Do ye wanna go fer a poke?"

Eyes popped outta my head first time I heard it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

You're allowed to suck a hard sweet on the public highway so therefore having a 99 is perfectly legal.

ah come on now, there's a big difference between sucking a sweet and having one hand on the wheel whilst eating a cone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭NegativeOne

Someone needs to invent hands-free '99s.

You mean your not meant to store your iceburger in the handsfree kit?

GAAman wrote: »

You mean you got a quare gunk?

fryup wrote: »
    ah come on now, there's a big difference between sucking a sweet and having one hand on the wheel whilst eating a cone

I'm a culchie, we only ever have one hand on the wheel. It's nice now again to have something to do with the other hand forby hang it out the window or give the country wave to everyone I see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

I ask you is there anything more irish than seeing some culchie driving around with his elbow resting on the door and licking an ice cream cone :pac:

I've never seen it as much in other countries than here, its as bad as being on a mobile phone imo, maybe the RSA should make it illegal.

It's a culchie thing, ye jackeens wouldn't understand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Was just in a car with 5 of us eating 99s, including the driver. In Kerry! Such culchies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Taxburden carrier

Punishment should fit the crime...99 euros ��

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Hachiko

there's an app for that......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

How do you know he was a cluchie? surely not going by number plates?

Kevwoody wrote: »
    Why are they still called 99's?
    What would you call them? it was not named because they were 99p, if thats what you are getting at. In fact I never remember seeing them for that price, as usually vans and newsagents would charge round numbers like £1. I remember getting them for 35p

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/99_Flake#Name
    The origins of the name are uncertain. One claim is that it was coined in Portobello, Scotland when Stephen Arcari, who opened a shop in 1922 at 99 Portobello High Street, would break a large 'Flake" in half and stick it in an ice cream. The name came from the shop's address. A Cadbury representative took the idea to his company.[1][3]

Another possibility,[1] is that it was named by Italian ice-cream sellers (many from mountainous areas in the Veneto, Trentino, Bellunese, and Friuli) in honour of the final wave of conscripts from the First World War, born in 1899 and referred to as "i Ragazzi del 99" - the Boys of '99. They were held in such high esteem that some streets in Italy were named in honour of them. The chocolate flake may have reminded them of the Alpine Regiment's hat, with a long dark feather cocked at an angle.

The Cadbury website says that the reason behind the Flake being called a 99 has been "lost in the mists of time" although it also repeats an article from an old Cadbury works paper, which states the name came from the guard of the Italian king which consisted of 99 men and "subsequently anything really special or first class was known as 99.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Nah. You eat the 99. Kid steps out in front of you - drop the 99 and perform a perfect emergency stop. Explain embarrassing stains in front of trousers.

I was once told on the mobile - Sorry you haven't got a job anymore - after 23 years, believe me you aren't putting much thought into the drive home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I can think of hundreds and thousands of reasons why it's a bad idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Drivin along... Adin in de car.. Wit da winda down... Elba out da winda... Aaatin I cone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Please stop referring to us as culchies, it's an ethnic slur. Country people or country folk is acceptable, thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭longfellow deeds

As long as i remember i've stopped in Kilrush on the way back from Kilkee for the large mister whippy, nothin' like it,
    no flake for me please,
    no iceburgers, choc ices, chilly willys or super splits only the large mister whippy will do, and then back on the road with my elbow resting on the door and a big smile on my face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

I love eating a 99er when driving to gaa matches and the bog. But I always hand the 99er to the Mrs when going through roundabouts and changing gears.

Also, I put the flake down into the hole in the cone. I'm that mad I should be sent to Ballinasloe.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 233 ✭✭Kalman

How did you know that he was "culchie"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭tigerboon

I was driving in Sicily once and a lad passed me out. His kid was sitting on his knee and both of them were enjoying an ice cream.
    The only thing "more Irish" is some city slicker dub thinking they're above country people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Ah all them furriners can stick their political correctness up the ice-cream spout.
    Jaysus, ye cant bait an ould cone!
    Choc ice or iceberger.
    GAAman wrote: »

Thought ya were on a promise?

Anyone for the last few choc ices.......?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

You can get the best 99s in Ireland in my local, luckily enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Please stop referring to us as culchies, it's an ethnic slur

Here we go. "Culchie" is an ethnic slur now. Sure, stick a claim in, sue boards.ie for mental anguish.

Make mine a 99 . They're Justified and Ancient.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Culchies should have need to pass the driving test more than once, maybe on an annual basis with a CPC of some kind.

I prefer a scoop of chocolate ice cream in a waffle cone.

So I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The problem with a 99 is that it drips in the heat and if your driving you won't be able to catch all the drips so you end up with suspicious white stains on your lap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Saw two Gardai driving down Botanic Avenue in Dublin last summer doing this.
    Such culchies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Is this phenomenon only observed outside the pale or do Jackeens indulge in it also? Op I presume you're a Jackeen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭Gooners

Nah. You eat the 99. Kid steps out in front of you - drop the 99 and perform a perfect emergency stop. Explain embarrassing stains in front of trousers.

I was once told on the mobile - Sorry you haven't got a job anymore - after 23 years, believe me you aren't putting much thought into the drive home.

Is that true about being laid off over the phone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    You can get the best 99s in Ireland in my local, luckily enough

And I bet it's a funeral directors as well. That's as country as you can get..

I just had a visual of a hearse driver eating a 99 with a coffin in the back :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭puppieperson

A 99 is an expression of summer and when you have on e you feel that summer is here even if you have to close the window to eat it due to torrential rain! It is an old custom and most loved. the OP is far too vain and self involved and wouldnt like to be seen eating an ice cream hes / shes too cool. I took my 75 yr old mum out for a day trip to the sea and afterwards she said she would love an ice cream we both had one and one for the dog, perfect end to a lovely swim in the sea on that sunny day. Embrace your unique irishness its funny and traditional!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

Read the title...now I want a 99 !!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Masala

Would eating a choc ice be ok????

Or a wibbly wobbly wonder???

Masala wrote: »
    Would eating a choc ice be ok????

Or a wibbly wobbly wonder???

Definitely not a wibbly wobbly wonder - they're way to unpredictable.

Crazy bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

OP name - Fryup ! Breakfast Roll ! LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

How about a loop the loop ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Yeah, it's more Irish to complain about someone eating an ice-cream...