Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best non outrageously priced bar in the city?

• 15-07-2015 8:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭

Hey lads, have a few friends coming home from the states for a week and we're heading into town on Friday and looking for a few bars around that aren't outrageously expensive, ie. not temple bar prices and preferably one that does the odd 4/4.50 pint or I guess pitchers. We're all in our early 20's. If any of them open late that'd be great but not a necessity.

Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭yogi37

Quite like the Bleeding Horse myself, at the top of Camden St. Haven't been there in a while but regularly used to go on a Friday night with work. They used to have some special offers (pints of Tiger for €4.50 kind of thing), but not sure if that still goes on. Stays open late too. Cassidys across the road from it is also a nice pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Dick Turnip

I was only saying the other day to my friend, how much I bloody hate the Bleeding Horse! Just something about it I don't like.

If you're early 20s, then maybe stick to some of the pubs and bars around Dame Lane. Also, if they're americans they might want to see a proper pub along the likes of the Stags Head for a few pints to start with. The Globe opens late, is free in and usually has some drinks offers on.
    Could try out Pygmalion also. It's dirt cheap on a Sunday as drinks are half price or so. can't think off hand how expensive it compares to other establishments on a Friday night though.

If ye like craft beer, maybe check out The Beer Market near Christchurch. Haven't been but have heard some good things however I think it would be on the more pricey side so maybe good for one or two.

I'd avoid Temple Bar or Dawson Street also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

yogi37 wrote: »
    Quite like the Bleeding Horse myself, at the top of Camden St. Haven't been there in a while but regularly used to go on a Friday night with work. They used to have some special offers (pints of Tiger for €4.50 kind of thing), but not sure if that still goes on. Stays open late too. Cassidys across the road from it is also a nice pub.

I like the Bleeding Horse but last few times I've went they've stopped doing pitchers which has grinded my gears a lot, definitely a solid backup though.
    I was only saying the other day to my friend, how much I bloody hate the Bleeding Horse! Just something about it I don't like.

If you're early 20s, then maybe stick to some of the pubs and bars around Dame Lane. Also, if they're americans they might want to see a proper pub along the likes of the Stags Head for a few pints to start with. The Globe opens late, is free in and usually has some drinks offers on.
    Could try out Pygmalion also. It's dirt cheap on a Sunday as drinks are half price or so. can't think off hand how expensive it compares to other establishments on a Friday night though.

If ye like craft beer, maybe check out The Beer Market near Christchurch. Haven't been but have heard some good things however I think it would be on the more pricey side so maybe good for one or two.

I'd avoid Temple Bar or Dawson Street also.

Been to the Bleeding Horse a fair few times! Don't mind it and it's on the list but would probably prefer something else yeah. Did not know that about Pygmalion, will definitely check that out, if not this weekend then another time myself haha. Never heard of the Globe before but it looks good so will probably head there at some stage too!

Cheers lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

The Restaurant Royale:D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

The Restaurant Royale:D

Haha if that's the one I'm thinking of on Stephen's Street, it's called Snug Bar now :D

A few options depending on what your looking for:

The woolshed on Parnell st, pitchers, reasonably priced pints and OK food. Great to watch a match in but not much else

The black sheep on Capel st, craft beer pub, sell a lot of their own stuff for €5-€5.50ish. Normally have a beer of the month too. Great food

O'Reillys at Tara st station. Have only been there for a few after work pints but it's called club hell at the weekend and supposedly has cheap pints

The gypsy rose on Aston quay (I think it's Aston anyway) cheap pints last time I was there, about €4-€4.50 IIRC haven't been in awhile though. Normally live music and a bit of craic

Anywhere else I'd recommend would be about €5.50-€6 a pint