Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NCT Without Tax

• 15-07-2015 7:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭

Sorry probably asked loads of times but do you need Tax to do an NCT ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

No.

Obviously you shouldn't drive without tax, but it's not something they look at in the Nct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭6541

No its just the car is old and Tax and NCT runs out this month. Depending on how bad the Car is I might just scrap it based on NCT etc..

You can actually drive without tax if you're on the way to or from an Nct appointment.

Afaik this applies even if the car is declared off the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

colm_mcm wrote: »
    You can actually drive without tax if you're on the way to or from an Nct appointment.

Afaik this applies even if the car is declared off the road.

I'd rather say this applies only if car is declared off the road.
    If it's not declared off the road, but untaxed, you can not do it legally.

Sorry a bit confused folks, Tax runs out end of July, next test date in my Centre is Mid August. I plan on driving and NCT the car without Tax for the month of August ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Ok, so stop driving car at end July. On day of NCT you can to and from the NCT centre without tax. If you pass and plan to continue driving you need to tax car.

biko wrote: »
    Ok, so stop driving car at end July. On day of NCT you can to and from the NCT centre without tax. If you pass and plan to continue driving you need to tax car.

How about this drive on and don't pay the water charges as well!

Up to you, say hi to the guards.

6541 wrote: »
    Sorry a bit confused folks, Tax runs out end of July, next test date in my Centre is Mid August. I plan on driving and NCT the car without Tax for the month of August ...

You'll be grand. My tax ended at the start of this month, and my NCT isn't due til the 28th.

I went through a checkpoint a couple of days ago and nothing was said. Quick glance at the discs in the window and waved on.

Im waiting for mine to go through the NCT, but im also flip-flopping about buying a different car altogether, so I'm in no panic to tax it. Unless your tax is out a while, chances are the Gardai don't care. I think they can usually tell the genuine cases from the people who are ripping the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

....the Gardai don't care. I think they can usually tell the genuine cases from the people who are ripping the piss.

So what's this genuine case for not paying your tax??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

There is none if you want to drive but I think what he means is that Gardaí tend to use their discretion if your tax is out by a couple of weeks or so. If you go much longer then the chances of talking your way out of a fine lessens. Go through a checkpoint with tax out 2 months or more and there's a good chance you'll be continuing your journey by other means.

I have not seen a checkpoint in over three years. I drive the length and breath of Ireland.

"Sorry Garda, but I couldn't be bothered my hole taxing it". :pac:

As SlimJim says..
    slimjimmc wrote: »
    what he means is that Gardaí tend to use their discretion

Gardai are dealing with Joe Public every day. They can tell who will get around to taxing their car when they have a chance, and who has never taxed a car in their lives.

If I explained my above situation to a Garda (not taxing til the NCT, to see if it's staying on the road or not), I'm pretty sure I'd get a nod of understanding from the Garda and sent on my way. If my tax was out by 6 months and the NCT was out with no test booked, then he might have a different view.

Gardai wear a uniform, but they put their pants on one leg at a time, just like everyone else. They're real people and generally have a bit of common sense and appreciation for people's everyday lives. They're not all 'out to get you' for every little thing under the sun.

Any reasonable person (Garda or otherwise) would have no issue with your tax out a couple of weeks.

I have not seen a checkpoint in over three years. I drive the length and breath of Ireland.

Oddly enough, I've started to see, what I can only describe as 'makeshift' checkpoints, appearing a fair bit more often. Often just two uniformed Gardai step out onto the road from the path and start conducting one, without a patrol car.

They seem to stay at it for 10-20 minutes and move along to another road that you can't turn off from easily. I've met more checkpoints so far this year than I have in any previous year (albeit, I'm only driving about 3 years so my experience is limited).

If I explained my above situation to a Garda (not taxing til the NCT, to see if it's staying on the road or not), I'm pretty sure I'd get a nod of understanding from the Garda and sent on my way.
    I wouldn't recommend giving that excuse, it shows your intent to evade motor tax. Whatever chance you have with either tax or NCT being out but having both tax and NCT out could be pushing it a bit.
    If my tax was out by 6 months and the NCT was out with no test booked, then he might have a different view.
    That's an understatement. You'd likely be told the tow truck is on its way, take your belongings with you.

slimjimmc wrote: »
    I wouldn't recommend giving that excuse, it shows your intent to evade motor tax. Whatever chance you have with either tax or NCT being out but having both tax and NCT out could be pushing it a bit.

That's an understatement. You'd likely be told the tow truck is on its way, take your belongings with you.

Your post sounds like your contesting my opinion.. but you seem to be agreeing with me, ultimately? :confused: Confusing :P

You posted 2 scenarios.

I'm disagreeing with your first scenario: getting the nod of understanding for recently expired NCT and tax after you admitting you're intentionally breaking the law on motor tax.

I'm agreeing with your last scenario (tax expired by 6mths and no NCT) whilst emphasising that the likelihood of action are higher and the consequences are likely to be quite severe.

jasus Lads relax it was only a simple question. I rang the NCT people and they confirmed that one does not need tax for a NCT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭chickenlicken2

If your tax expires 07.15 you have until 30.08.15 to pay for a new disc without having to pay the monthly arrears in addition to the 3/6/12 months.

So regardless of rules re tax and driving to an appointment for not you would be perfectly fine driving to the appointment in august.

That's not correct. Current tax is either displayed or not. Gardai have been known to use their discretion, but you don't have the guts of a month to drive around without tax.

If you're taxing the car late in the month (up till the last day of that month) you pay from the start of that same month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I think when you're detected by the Auto number plate recognition system, you just get the ticket , regardless if your excuse.

Isn't there a 2 week grace period, or was that done away with? If so, OP, you're ok until NCT.

No, there is no grace period.
    In reality, you're very unlikely to be done for having tax out under a month, but it's at the discretion of the guard.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭kidneyfan

colm_mcm wrote: »
    No, there is no grace period.
    In reality, you're very unlikely to be done for having tax out under a month, but it's at the discretion of the guard.
    Gardai should have no discretion. They can't be trusted to exercise it honestly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Their discretion got me out of having no NCT for 5 months. Asked as to why, I was waiting on an appointment.

They've always been fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭ebbsy

You will be ok as long as the weather is bad. The fuzz d'ont tend to do checkpoints when its raining.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    I think when you're detected by the Auto number plate recognition system, you just get the ticket , regardless if your excuse.

If the Gardai act on an ANPR detection then they have to pull you over. ANPR isn't like a speed van that just automatically issues tickets.

Once the Garda pulls you over, it's back to him using discretion.

kidneyfan wrote: »
    Gardai should have no discretion. They can't be trusted to exercise it honestly.

Ah, they can, though.

Freeman stuff removed.

• Site Banned Posts: 39 yz450man

endacl wrote: »
    Did you take some special training in being wrong, or is it a natural talent you have? You're very good at it.

no its just called educating myself on my inalienable rights on this land for the last 10yrs nearly,no government should have power over me or anyone else until i/we consent to it.
    you should try it sometime,you might learn something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭Alan_007_

I'm pretty sure deregestering a car and driving around the place with your own plates is a fairly good way for the car to become property of the government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

In my case it was no money😱😱

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

yz450man wrote: »
    no its just called educating myself on my inalienable rights on this land for the last 10yrs nearly,no government should have power over me or anyone else until i/we consent to it.
    you should try it sometime,you might learn something

There's a reason your posts are being removed all over this site. Can you guess what it is?

because your all bitches that's why. its obvious your all dumb ass slaves

User banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Righteous stuff man, free the hippies.

You sound cross. Have you considered a nice cup of tea and a sit down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭Alan_007_

You're either a troll or incredibly, incredibly dense.

Alan_007_ wrote: »

no troll, so having knowledge is being dense? now how dumb does that make you huh?

Alan_007_ wrote: »

Are the two necessarily mutually exclusive? The latter may in fact enhance the former?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

_Tyrrell_ wrote: »
    Righteous stuff man, free the hippies.

That's what I love about being irish. Even when people are being nice to you they can still put you in your place. This post by endaci should be post of the month

not at all :) im laughin here at the fact people are so dumb.

i don't eat or drink stuff that kills people,but you lot wouldnt know anything about that

yz450man banned. We'll stop here.