Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Athlone (Mount Temple)

• 13-07-2015 6:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭

Lads it is for a society - what would this place be like ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

Lads it is for a society - what would this place be like ?

Read my review, Fix. Says it as it is. Designed by god, apparently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,513 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Designed by God is indeed accurate.

A very fair parkland course that will be perfect for the society looking for an enjoyable day out. Not a difficult course but some of the views from the top of the course are lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Read my review, Fix. Says it as it is. Designed by god, apparently

I think I remember it getting a shocker.

But - I don't have edition 3 - so wouldn't be up to date :P

Rikand wrote: »
    Designed by God is indeed accurate.

A very fair parkland course that will be perfect for the society looking for an enjoyable day out. Not a difficult course but some of the views from the top of the course are lovely.

Perfect so lowest handicap is 21 - some of the lads are handicap 36.

It is just the drinking in Athlone - we have a DGAGM - (drinking general ........)

So Sean's after.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

I enjoy playing there, not a tough course from any tee. Owner will talk all day long!!! When are ye playing it? Visitors allowed?!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,513 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Perfect so lowest handicap is 21 - some of the lads are handicap 36.

It is just the drinking in Athlone - we have a DGAGM - (drinking general ........)

So Sean's after.

Then it will be ideal for that. A lot of the holes are straight up, straight down. Mick Dolan, the owner, is an absolute gent and he'll treat ye like princes!

charlieIRL wrote: »
    I enjoy playing there, not a tough course from any tee. Owner will talk all day long!!! When are ye playing it? Visitors allowed?!!!

Was to be this weekend, but a few issues at the moment.

Thanks for replies, we may be hitting Dublin instead. Just a bunch of mates - wouldn't call it an outing. But we are going to Athlone as a group at some stage.

IMO - Glasson is the best place for an outing I've seen around there.

Anyway will see.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Glasson would be tough for high handicap golfers, lovely course but tough.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,482 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Used to be a member, it's grand, some long holes, 10 and 16 probably the best, some can drive the par 4 9th and two of the par 5's in two (4 and 11), hate 18th a par 5 with no distinguishable fairway from the tee shot. Very dry course, nice sand in bunkers.
    No hot meals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭mikepajero182

I think this course is perfect for the higher handicap players off the front tees. Very open course always in good condition.
    No meals but the pub beside it does great food or five minute drive to grogans in glasson who will cater for groups with a call ahead.
    Enjoy.