Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ivan Basso (see mod warning in OP)

• 13-07-2015 3:32pm
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭

We heard today the Ivan Basso was diagnosed as suffering from testicular cancer. Cancer is a disease many of us will get at some stage in our lives if not already.
    I thought it would be nice to set up a thread offering support and best wishes to Ivan Basso and hopefully forward on a link to his twitter account.
    I hope he keeps positive, focused and that with the support of his family and doctors he beats this and gets back to a full and healthy life.
    Best wishes Ivan...

gadetra wrote: »
    Mod voice: Any doping discussion is off topic for this tread, this particular thread is about wishing a man recently diagnosed with cancer well. Any further questions PM me do not respond in thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Very sad to hear of this. Hopefully it has been caught early.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Cancer is a tough thing to deal with. Hope he gets well soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Hope he's healthy and back on his bike soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭BGT

Great idea, RobFowl thanks. A terrific cyclist, here's hoping he makes a full and speedy recovery! If there is a bright light in all of this it seems the Tinkoff doctors rate his chances of a full recovery very highly, and secondly that it may raise awareness of this condition. Early detection is so important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Zipp101

I watched the press conference earlier and was struck by his positive attitude and the way he tried to to play the whole thing down just hours after hearing about it himself - what a strong character. Best wishes to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭irishrover99

Very sad news. I believe contador was in tears at the press conference as they are meant to be good mates.
    Hopefully they can make something positive out of it for basso.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,901 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Horrible news. At 37 he's a young man and he can easily beat this. Unfortunately he's not a young pro cyclist, this is probably a career ender. I'd say that's the least of his worries right now though.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭disco1

I had this at age 20 I'm 41 now...I wish him well.
    Very treatable if caught early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

Pretty sure speculating on any source or cause here just cos he is a pro cycle is futile, not to mention downright insensitive... It must have come as an awful shock to hear that. He is young n fit so all points towards a full recovery. For inspiration we should look to Tipperary hurler Noel Mcgrath, only 3 months ago he was diagnosed and treated for TC. Yesterday he was with his teammates winning a Munster medal. Basso will be fine and for that we can only be grateful. Way too many can't beat the scourge. Best of Luck to him.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Hermy wrote: »
    removed at poster's request

Well my dad died of cancer and I would hate to have thought there was people thinking ill of him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Whatever about his past. Cancer is awful. I wish him and his family a recovery. Cancer has nothing to do with his cycling career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Some things are more important than sport. Can't believe some people have some kind of proviso over wishing him well. Bloody amazing actually. He has a wife and three children.

All the best to him and the Basso family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

I am truly disappointed to see anything other than well-wishing for Basso here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

RobFowl wrote: »
    We heard today the Ivan Basso was diagnosed as suffering from testicular cancer. Cancer is a disease many of us will get at some stage in our lives if not already.
    I thought it would be nice to set up a thread offering support and best wishes to Ivan Basso and hopefully forward on a link to his twitter account.
    I hope he keeps positive, focused and that with the support of his family and doctors he beats this and gets back to a full and healthy life.
    Best wishes Ivan...

This thread was started to offer support and best wishes for Ivan Basso.
    If anybody wants to do otherwise, start another thread.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

My Dad died slowly and painfully from throat cancer as a result of his smoking, I am glad the people posting above weren't around me at the time.
    I started this thread purely and simply as a place to offer best wishes and support for Ivan Basso is dealing with cancer.
    Seems some can't help themselves turn it into something else.
    Could I ask the mods to either move the off topic posts somewhere else (possibly a kick you when you are down thread?) or else just close this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Terrible news. Best of luck to Ivan Basso.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Mod voice: Any doping discussion is off topic for this tread, this particular thread is about wishing a man recently diagnosed with cancer well. Any further questions PM me do not respond in thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭StevieGriff

<snip>

Wish Basso all the best, no doubt he'll be back on the bike in no time. Apparently he wanted to continue with the tour but wasn't being allowed, mental lad.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,891 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Brian? wrote: »
    Horrible news. At 37 he's a young man
    from what (little) i understand of TC, it's a young man's disease, but very treatable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

disco1 wrote: »
    I had this at age 20 I'm 41 now...I wish him well.
    Very treatable if caught early.

I'd hope that the fact he is subject to regular medical screening means that this is the case.

I wish him all the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

my own father dies from cancer, and it is an absolute **** of a disease. Wouldnt wish it on my worst enemy. Wish Basso all the best and hopefully he can go on a live a long full life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭lethal dose

We've all been affected by cancer to some degree but clinical outcomes and treatments are improving all the time. It's this hope that makes me confident for the future in beating it and here's hoping to a full recovery for Ivan Basso.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭laraghrider

from what (little) i understand of TC, it's a young man's disease, but very treatable.

It is more common in the under 40's and yes it's very treatable providing it's caught in time. Always check yourselves lads. As a species we have evolved well beyond the point of "ah it's nothing i'll be grand" and don't ever be ashamed to go to your doctor.

Best of luck Ivan. It can be a long and difficult road but one that can have a very good outcome none the less.

There is some nasty fookers on this site. Food for thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

disco1 wrote: »
    There is some nasty fookers on this site. Food for thought.

On this site you may attack the posts, but not the posters. No need for name calling.

Terrible, hope he makes a full recovery.

Yes sorry for that but I was 20.. like I said when I was diagnosed and it stays with you for life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Bloggsie

RobFowl wrote: »
    Best wishes Ivan...
    I hope it has been detected early enough for preventative measures to be taken and he can get back in the saddle very soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

Should stop all the speculation ..

https://twitter.com/SadhbhOS/status/620941808126660608