Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Becoming a Psychologist

Options
  • 12-07-2015 11:25pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8

I posted a thread related to this in what I believe is the wrong forum so i've decided to create a new thread as I don't know how to move or delete my old one.

I am looking into a career in psychology and have a few questions.

1) If I get a BA and a Masters, what are my career options? can I work as a counselor or therapist?

My dream job would be a psychologist, which I know requires a Ph.D, however I dislike the idea right now of spending so long in education. If I finish my third level study at a Masters (I am thinking of Applied Psychology - Mental Health at UCC) will I be able to practice as a Therapist or counselor? Will I have many career options?

2) Do you have to have a Masters to be able to get onto a Ph.D course?

Can you go from a BA in psychology straight to Ph.D or does a Ph.D course require a Masters as an entry requirement?

3) How emotionally draining is this job? (A fully qualified working psychologist)

Are you able to switch off when you leave your working place?

Thank you very much for reading my post, thank you in advance for your answers.
    Excuse my ignorance if i have said some things wrong as I have only gained an interest for the career path recently.
    Tagged:

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 22,258 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Brooklyn27 wrote: »
    I posted a thread related to this in what I believe is the wrong forum so i've decided to create a new thread as I don't know how to move or delete my old one.