Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

iStick in trouble!

• 10-07-2015 6:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭

Hi all.

Been vaping the last 3 years using a standard Kanger T2 mated to an ego-style 900mAh battery.

This week I splashed out on an Eleaf iStick 20w kit which includes a GS Air clero.

At first, all good. Clouds to the heavens!

Then after a couple of hours the resistanse was reading over 4 ohms. This restricted me to ~7Watts.

Changed the coil in the atty to the spare one supplied with the kit & all good again................for a while. Did the same thing again,

I'm wondering if I'm doing something wrong. Is it faulty kit, or is there something more sinister at play?

Thanks in advance for any advise on this one lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭JH_raheny

Strange that the ohm would change, it should stay the same more or less unless there's a short somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭thevaper

are you using the bend adapter on your istick.
    i used to use an iclear 30s on the 20 and the ohms would jump all over the place,if i took the adapter off the ohm reading would be stable
    just a thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

thevaper wrote: »
    are you using the bend adapter on your istick.
    i used to use an iclear 30s on the 20 and the ohms would jump all over the place,if i took the adapter off the ohm reading would be stable
    just a thought

No. The clearo is screwed direct into the unit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭nuttyboy79

Try gently prying up the pin on the istick just a mm or so.

nuttyboy79 wrote: »
    Try gently prying up the pin on the istick just a mm or so.

Tried it already. Thanks for the suggestion though.

Keep them coming lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭EGriff

Did you try just unscrewing it a bit? That started to happen mine after about 8 months and screwing it in and out fixed it for a few minutes at a time.

Gave up on it and got a 30w to replace it, better threads on that. I would try returning it if you only have it a short while.

EGriff wrote: »
    Did you try just unscrewing it a bit? That started to happen mine after about 8 months and screwing it in and out fixed it for a few minutes at a time.

Gave up on it and got a 30w to replace it, better threads on that. I would try returning it if you only have it a short while.

Tried that too. No joy.

I tried an El-cheepo clearo on it(an F.B.) with the aid of the ego adapter supplied with the kit. It read a consistent 2.2 ohms.

My T2s haven't responded well. Hard to get them to work well with the iStick, I find.

Thanks for the tip though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭youdipstick

Tried that too. No joy.

I tried an El-cheepo clearo on it(an F.B.) with the aid of the ego adapter supplied with the kit. It read a consistent 2.2 ohms.

My T2s haven't responded well. Hard to get them to work well with the iStick, I find.

Thanks for the tip though.

A known factor is the threads which has been mentioned by Egriff,get a small thin piece of cardboard about 4 or 5mm wide,hold it next to the threads on the istick & screw in your clearo,there should be tension while screwing:D this should make your clearo threads a better negative connection with your istick threads.
    Check the positive 510 pin on your clearo,that might need prying out a bit.

Other than that,your istick has a fault in the chip.

A known factor is the threads which has been mentioned by Egriff,get a small thin piece of cardboard about 4 or 5mm wide,hold it next to the threads on the istick & screw in your clearo,there should be tension while screwing:D this should make your clearo threads a better negative connection with your istick threads.
    Check the positive 510 pin on your clearo,that might need prying out a bit.

Other than that,your istick has a fault in the chip.

Got some card & did some 'heavy screwing' this morn. The unit is still reading over 4 ohms.

I finally got one of my T2 clearos to work with it though. Using a 1.8 ohm coil, I'm getting a consistent reading of 2.4 ohms.

Tis hard to know whether the problem is with the clearo or the unit.

I'm getting stumped at this stage. :confused:

Got some card & did some 'heavy screwing' this morn. The unit is still reading over 4 ohms.

I finally got one of my T2 clearos to work with it though. Using a 1.8 ohm coil, I'm getting a consistent reading of 2.4 ohms.

Tis hard to know whether the problem is with the clearo or the unit.

I'm getting stumped at this stage. :confused:

That is a weird one,I just don't know what to suggest,it seems it is reading both coils very high,wouldn't mind if it was only .2 Ohm out but a couple of Ohms out,do you have anymore clearo's to try or does anyone us live near you.

I went down to a neighbour whom I know has a fairly advanced setup.

Put his clearo on my unit & it read the correct resistance.

It's looking like the clearo's at fault.

I'm tempted to go to a 'Bricks & Mortar' shop to see if I can get a suitable clearo for this thing.

the aspire mini nautilis is a perfect match

thevaper wrote: »
    the aspire mini nautilis is a perfect match

I wound up buying an aspire K1. As this is only a test, I didn't want to spend much.

This one has a 1.8 ohm coil & the unit is reading 1.9. So far so good.

Tis looking like the GS air clearo is faulty. I might contact my online supplier & see if they'll replace it.

I'll see how it goes over the weekend.

It's great to know you got the mystery solved...

I wound up buying an aspire K1. As this is only a test, I didn't want to spend much.

This one has a 1.8 ohm coil & the unit is reading 1.9. So far so good.

Tis looking like the GS air clearo is faulty. I might contact my online supplier & see if they'll replace it.

I'll see how it goes over the weekend.[/QUOTE

never used that tank but the aspire bvc coils are very good. with a 1.8 coil
    you should get a good vape at 10 watts

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

My 50watt is the same if I use different clearos.

I have a ce5 that says 1.8ohm on the coil but when I put it on the istick it reads 2.0

The cheapo clearos at 2.0 ohms can read anything from 1.8 all the way up to 2.4.
    Just tried it there with a 1.8 and its says 2.2.
    My gsair at 1.5 ohms is reading 1.7 at the minute.Popped an old 1.5 coil in it and that's reading 1.5

I don't think the readout is as accurate as it should be on these Isticks to be honest.The only real way to check is with a multimeter on the coil to be honest but its probably going to be hard to get at the coil on these things.

It's great to know you got the mystery solved...

Thank you youdipstick.:D

And thanks to all who replied. These mods are a different world to the pen-style jobs I'm used to.

I'll see how the K1 bears up & then see about replacing the GS or buying an upgrade.

Thanks again lads. I'll keep yis updated.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Actually I think I may have found something.If you change the clearo / tank while the unit is powered on it gives the correct reading.
    I was changing them with the power off.
    Just tried it with 3 different tops and they all read correct when you swap them with it powered on but wrong if its powered off.

I wonder does it keep the previous tank / clearo ohms??

Hellrazer wrote: »
    Actually I think I may have found something.If you change the clearo / tank while the unit is powered on it gives the correct reading.
    I was changing them with the power off.
    Just tried it with 3 different tops and they all read correct when you swap them with it powered on but wrong if its powered off.

I wonder does it keep the previous tank / clearo ohms??

I was changing coils with the unit powered on.

For the Hell, I changed them with it off. One of my GS coils is now down to 2.4 ohms now!

Figure that one out.

Those BVC coils in the K1 are really good, I still use them regularly. I'm assuming it's bvc's, don't think they make the BDCs anymore.

EGriff wrote: »
    Those BVC coils in the K1 are really good, I still use them regularly. I'm assuming it's bvc's, don't think they make the BDCs anymore.

I bought a spare coil for the K1 & BVC is printed on it.

I'd say the K1 would be under pressure if I upped the wattage. It seems happy enough at 8-10W though.

I'm using a bvc coil right now at 14 watts and its going grand. (1.9ohms @ 5.1v).