Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Yet another Driving of other cars extension thread

• 10-07-2015 5:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭

I know this has probably been done to death but I couldnt find any current info on the subject as there has been many changes in the insurance sector. Does anybody know which insurance companies offer the driving of other cars extension (3rd party extension) to people aged under 25. I know for a fact Liberty and Aviva do, but aviva are very reluctant to quote on cars aged over 14 years old and liberty are trying their best to price themselves out of the market! Axa and the AA only offer it for over 25 year olds. All info is much appreciated!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

Because a lot of young people (not you) try to insure an old shltbox and then drive a more powerful skanger banger under DOC, Insurers have clamped down on the facility

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

The best example of this I've seen so far is lads looking to buy log books for 1.0 Micras and Corsas on Facebook.

They don't even want the car! Just the logbook so they can insure the cheap car and drives Altezzas :D

What's even worse is that there were people interested in selling the log books for their cars. Makes you wonder when you see ads on Donedeal that say "no log book".

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

I find RSA the best here as your third party extension to drive other cars is fully comp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

Has the law changed???
    When I was a lad the third party extension only covered me to drive other cars that were elsewhere insured. You couldn't just insure a micra and drive around in a random 200bhp yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Has the law changed???
    When I was a lad the third party extension only covered me to drive other cars that were elsewhere insured. You couldn't just insure a micra and drive around in a random 200bhp yoke.
    'twas never law afaik, just policy terms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭selectamatic

cheers for the reply's. Ay a few men round these parts were at that aswell but from what I hear alot of insurance companies are only insuring NCT'd cars now. I mainly want it cos when all of us are home here there arefive cars at the house and its horrid handy to have. I know the aul altezza's and civics and such have a bad rep but to be perfectly honest anyone I know that has cars like that wouldn't dream of claiming off insurance if they had an accident that only they themselves were involved in as in the long run they'd be worse off and in my own experience in my locality the amount of people getting into accidents in your everyday family cars far out number the amount in so called boy racer cars, I could honestly say no one round these parts has crashed a high performance jap car in the last 5 years or so!
    One of the insurance women today told me I'd struggle to insure any toyota over 15 years old bar a yaris, the car I'm trying to insure is a 1998 5 door liftback corolla its hardly that much of a higher risk car! But it seems the regulators are very slack and most companies are allowed do as they please :( anyway rant over!
    Does anyone know if RSA do driving of other cars for u25's?
    Or any other company that might so far I have Aviva, Liberty and possibly RSA..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Just to let you know, it's generally basic third party cover. It does not cover the car or you, just want you hit. Its not really designed for driving another car constantly, more like a 'drive home / get home' kinda situation.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057026952

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭weekaizer

I used to be with lloyds through a broker a few years ago they offered me driving other cars third party cover.
    I was already insured with them and then asked if they would cover me to drive other cars to which they agreed...

Thanks must give lloyds a try. Ay I know its only third party cover and not for constant use like I said I mainly want it for using some of the family cars if I ever need to.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

ironclaw wrote: »
    Just to let you know, it's generally basic third party cover. It does not cover the car or you, just want you hit. Its not really designed for driving another car constantly, more like a 'drive home / get home' kinda situation.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057026952

Fully comp on other cars with RSA. worth giving them a call but I think they only insure through brokers.

kceire wrote: »
    Fully comp on other cars with RSA. worth giving them a call but I think they only insure through brokers.

I heard that alright but if I'm not mistaken, its over 25s?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,704 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

kceire wrote: »

I have that from Axa, I think it's a loyalty/clean sheet thing though and you only get it if they decide to give it to you. It's not a chargeable item on my renewal.

I think axa will add it to your policy if you've been with them for three years or something and are u25. They offer it to all over 25 year olds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Liberty didn't even offer this to me (signed up originally back when they were Quinn) - it was just automatically there from when I was 18. I remember ringing to clarify it mean any car and being told "ah yeah, as long as it's not a Subaru WRX or something silly"!
    Because a lot of young people (not you) try to insure an old shltbox and then drive a more powerful skanger banger under DOC, Insurers have clamped down on the facility

The catch is that it must be a car you don't own and haven't leased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭DakarVert

So basically you can drive any other car 3rd party provided it's not in your name and has a valid NCT?

Are you supposed to transfer the disc over from your own car? (Even though the Reg won't match)

Is it really that easy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

DakarVert wrote: »
    So basically you can drive any other car 3rd party provided it's not in your name and has a valid NCT?

Are you supposed to transfer the disc over from your own car? (Even though the Reg won't match)

Is it really that easy?

I always thought the other car needed to also be insured by someone so basicly your company claims from them? This thread seems to be suggesting otherwise?

On a Liberty Certificate of Motor Insurance:
    Vehicles or classes of vehicles, the use of which is covered [Reg. No. Here]
    The policyholder if they have a full EU licence, may also drive, with the permission of the owner, any Private Motor Car that they do not own and have not hired or leased subject to the terms and conditions of the policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭DakarVert

So that's basically how young guys are insuring the likes of Skylines/Silvias/Altezzas?

Car in someone else's name, Insuring a Micra and driving the other car third party.

What way does it work at a checkpoint if stopped? I presume you have to carry policy documents with you to prove your insured?

The small print in the policy booklet actually goes so far as to say you can't have existing cover. There's nothing about the current owner having cover either (this is an old booklet but it hasn't changed to the best of my knowledge):
    If your certificate of insurance says so, we will also cover you, the policyholder, for your liability to other people while you are driving any other private motor car which you do not own or have not hired or leased, as long as:
    1. the vehicle is not owned by your employer or hired to them under a hire-purchase or lease agreement;
    2. you currently hold a full European Union (EU) driving licence;
    3. the use of the vehicle is covered in the certificate of insurance;
    4. cover is not provided by any other insurance;
    5. you have the owner's permission to drive the vehicle;
    6. the vehicle is in a roadworthy condition; and
    7. you still have your vehicle and it has not been damaged beyond cost-effective repair.
    DakarVert wrote: »
    So that's basically how young guys are insuring the likes of Skylines/Silvias/Altezzas?

Car in someone else's name, Insuring a Micra and driving the other car third party.

What way does it work at a checkpoint if stopped? I presume you have to carry policy documents with you to prove your insured?

You have to display a valid disc, this could be the one for the person whose primary vehicle it is, or your own, I believe.

Either way if you can produce valid certificate of insurance when stopped or within ten days you should be fine. You can't be done for no insurance if you're insured, regardless of your ability to display a disc. Not sure on the penalty for displaying no disc at all, however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭PBWXFORD

Ive been with Liberty (Quinn) since 2001 and the driving other cars is standard on all their policies without asking or paying extra for it. When i was insured first at 18 years old you didnt even need a full licence to have this with them, i think the full licence only became a condition of it from around 2007 or 2008.

But in any case the main point here is that the other car DOES NOT need insurance cover already on it for you to be insured to drive it, aslong as you adhere to the other conditions of the policy. Now the bit where it says "cover is not provided by any other insurance;" What this actually means is that say for instance you want to drive your mothers car and you are already a name driver on your mothers policy, then your own policy will not cover you as if they did and you had an accident the injured part could make a claim from both your and your mothers policy with both policies active on that car while you were driving it. This condition is to stop that happening. Now say on the other hand your mother has her car insured but you are not a named driver on her policy, then in that case your own policy will cover you to drive it. So basically if there is insurance on the other car but you are not a named driver or if there is no insurance whatsoever on the other car either way your own policy will cover you to drive it.

And yes although you will be covered you can still be fined for non display of a valid insurance disc, but only by a Guard as they are the only ones that can enforce this not traffic wardens etc. What i do is bring my policy with my when driving another car with no disc that way if stopped by a guard i can prove there and then that i am covered and 99% of the time the guard will not say anything about no disc in the window. If you are fined it is a €60 on the spot fine with no points

Thanks for the reply. Ya I was the same when with liberty but I let me policy lapse for a few months as I sold me car the week me insurance ran out and I was driving the aul fella's van the last while but now since I've been trying to get insurance liberty have added about 500 to the price of what it would have cost me back in march despite the fact I've earned my no claims bonus with them! shame really but it didn't make sense to renew back in march since I had the van but it looks like it would have been wise now :mad: From what I've learned Aviva and Liberty are really the only two offering driving of other cars to under 25 year olds Lloyds might, I have to try them yet but I'll have to get a broker that uses them first and even then I doubt it'll be a great quote anyways!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭LawlessBoy

As far as I know liberty offer it to people under 25 if you have had a full licence for over 2 years. I know there is a few lads are my area doing it. 19/20 driving Silvia's altezzas and skylines with a Micra sitting in their gardens. From what I was told they have it all legit even if it is abusing it a bit. The cars have to be in someone else's name and fully taxed and NCTd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭LawlessBoy

First Ireland use llyods as a broker I'm insured with them through first Ireland .

I'm curious actually - if someone has cover for two vehicles on a policy (not a standard thing but I presume it is possible for someone who owns more than one vehicle to get cover for both), are they issued two discs?

If you drive another car under your own policy, which has your reg on it, is displaying that enough to comply with the rule regarding displaying a valid disc?

Im fairly sure if you want a policy for 2 cars you will have to have 2 separate policies..

As for displaying the disc from your insured car in another car while driving it, you are not allowed do this as the reg of the car will be displayed. If the guard just glances at the window your fine but if they take a cose look and see a different reg you that will not count as a valid disc for that car and you will more than likely end up being asked more questions than if you had no disc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

Has the law changed???

I recently renewed a motor bike insurance policy (fully comp), and it was explicitly stated that I had 3rd party cover on any other motor cycle,providing that

~ I was not the owner of the other cycle
    ~ a policy was in force on the other cycle.

Well with Liberty the other car definitely does not need to have insurance on it for your own policy to cover you. It may be the case that the other car would need its own policy with other insurance companies.

A friend of mine recently insured a commercial van through Campion brokers and on his policy it states he is covered third party to drive any other commercial vehicle including vans, jeeps and literally any commercial vehicle up to 3,500kg and the other vehicle does not need to have an active policy on it!
    With the motor car insurance you are covered to drive other private vehicles only, no commercials.

I think the catch 22 and the reason most policies don't need the other car covered seperately is the offence of non-display of a valid disc. For a private individual, it would be a rare occurrence to have a car on the road that isn't insured anyway that you would need to drive. Most people wouldn't take the risk as, even though it archaic, is still an offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,704 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

ironclaw wrote: »
    I think the catch 22 and the reason most policies don't need the other car covered seperately is the offence of non-display of a valid disc. For a private individual, it would be a rare occurrence to have a car on the road that isn't insured anyway that you would need to drive. Most people wouldn't take the risk as, even though it archaic, is still an offence.

If a car has been traded in to a dealer and you as a prospective buyer take it out on a test drive, it won't have an insurance disc with the registration number on it. The sales guy may chuck trade plates on the dash and the rear shelf but that only covers the absence of a tax disc.

In that situation you would be relying on the dealer's insurance to cover you but would you bring your own insurance cert to show to the cops in case you were stopped? In a lot of cases you could be between cars and have no active policy of your own.

It's an interesting scenario, I wonder has anyone here ever been stopped by the cops when doing a test drive and what happens when they ask about the lack of an insurance disc?