Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

first time to Ireland

• 09-07-2015 7:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the forums, and am happy to be here.

I've been programming for a living for the past years and just recently left my job to travel in Europe.

My first destination is Ireland, where I due to arrive this summer.

I'd be happy to make friends with people here (:

Cheers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

Ssssuuuuuure!

Enjoy Ireland

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

robocat wrote: »
    Hi everyone,

I've been programming for a living for the past years and just recently left my job to travel in Europe.

Cheers!

This will end well :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Bring lots of money. Throw it at the locals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Ahhh friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Chase all the leprachauns and drink loads of Guinness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Welcome. Bring some sunshine with you. We're running low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 robocat

haha such a warm welcome!

Thanks!

Say guys,

How's the Hitech industry in Ireland?

Is it thriving?

I'm doing RT Embedded and was wondering how common it is in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Thanks!

Say guys,

Is it thriving?

Name your price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Is it thriving?

It used to be Hitech, then they changed what and what Hitech is now seems weird and scary to me! And it'll happen to you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

kneemos wrote:
    Ahhh friend.

Get down off that car!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

Hi everyone,

Cheers!

Welcome to the Emerald Isle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

The Chinese a great bunch of lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

To be honest, not great. In fact I think I'm the only one that wears a pair of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Always more of an ASICS man myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

Robocat, where do you intend to visit in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭agent graves

first go to pennys and then the local watering hole.. with such fine dress ware and a pint in hand you will make the best of friends..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I came over like you in 1999 and still haven't gone home . it's a great country , great people .

Sh1te weather tho , at least the rain was warmer in Wales

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Massimo Cassagrande

By RT embedded, I presume you're a journalist quivvering in a ditch beside some Pro-Russian Ukranian fighters, clutching a video camera.. no wonder you need a holiday.

Oh! It's a tecchie yokiemajig? Know feck all about them - you'd want to head to Town for that sort of thing.

Aineoil wrote: »
    Robocat, where do you intend to visit in Ireland?

Hi Aineoil

I plan to visit Dublin first for a few days, and then explore Ireland's country side, which looks amazing in the photos!

Where are you located in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Hi robocat and welcome to Ireland.
    How did you find this forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭GreatDefector

Hi, I'm the wallet inspector

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Pretend to be a celebrity and then say your great great granny was from Sligo or Clare. We love that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Thanks!

Say guys,

Is it thriving?

We are way beyond RT Embedding now. That's so last decade for us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

A Cheap holiday in other peoples misery! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭libelula

This is so original. I've never seen anything like this before.

biko wrote: »
    Hi robocat and welcome to Ireland.
    How did you find this forum?

Hi Biko

It's nice to meet you.

I reached it through google.

How are you?

Where do you live in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

After Hours.............a great place to get a first impression of Irish people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Uh oh. Of all the Irish forums you could have stumbled across, I'm afraid you've hit the saloon.

Still, good luck on your travels, it is a beautiful country to visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I came over like you in 1999 and still haven't gone home . it's a great country , great people .

Sh1te weather tho , at least the rain was warmer in Wales

Who is holding you hostage and have you seen any landmarks that might give a hint as to your location? I'll call the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Who is holding you hostage and have you seen any landmarks that might give a hint as to your location? I'll call the guards.

Raise the alarm in the two Gardai threads - you have the choice of the corrupt ones or the starving ones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

If the OP was female this thread would be 25+ pages by now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

@robocat

Do the Wild Atlantic Way when you get here.I would'nt spend more than 3 or 4 hours in Dublin if I were you.See the real Ireland.

http://www.wildatlanticway.com/home/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

@robocat

Do the Wild Atlantic Way when you get here.I would'nt spend more than 3 or 4 hours in Dublin if I were you.See the real Ireland.

http://www.wildatlanticway.com/home/

Rubbish. Nothing but hills and nature and ****e there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Sun King

Are you the vanguard of American freedom? We don't want any of that here. We have no weapons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Irish people are for the most part friendly and you seem like a friendly person yourself so you'll have a grand time. The western coast is not to be missed - check out the Cliffs of Moher - they're fairly spectacular.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Hi everyone,

Cheers!

Share your girlfriend with the locals

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

LorMal wrote: »
    Rubbish. Nothing but hills and nature and ****e there.
    Ya. You have to go miles to get a fix know what I mean bud