Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking to change my wardrobe

• 08-07-2015 11:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭

I'm 18, I usually wear a hoody, graphic t shirt, tracksuit trousers and runners/trainers..

I want to wear something along the lines of a fitted jacket, plaid shirt, skinny (not tight just slim/tapered) and a pair of casual wingtips or casual Derby shoes ..Just as an example if I was going into town

Wearing clothes tracksuit doesn't suit me but then again no one my age (or in my area, a small village in the west of Ireland) wears clothes like that..
    All lads dress the same and they don't particularly like people anyway different.

What do you think? Should I change it or just stay similar to how I normally dress..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭lizzyman

TheBiz wrote: »
    I'm 18, I usually wear a hoody, graphic t shirt, tracksuit trousers and runners/trainers..

I want to wear something along the lines of a fitted jacket, plaid shirt, skinny (not tight just slim/tapered) and a pair of casual wingtips or casual Derby shoes ..Just as an example if I was going into town

Wearing clothes tracksuit doesn't suit me but then again no one my age (or in my area, a small village in the west of Ireland) wears clothes like that..
    All lads dress the same and they don't particularly like people anyway different.

What do you think? Should I change it or just stay similar to how I normally dress..

Sounds good man although you might want to keep that kind of outfit for heading out at the weekend for a few drinks or going to a restaurant etc. You might look a bit out of place wearing wingtips when you're popping into the local Spar for example.

I'd definitely ditch the tracksuits though. Get some good fitting jeans, a few tshirts (can be plain or graphic but nothing with slogans etc.) and some nice casual shoes like a pair of clean white Converse/Vans or some boat shoes. Add in a casual jacket and you're sorted for casual wear. Throw on a nice shirt and a casual blazer for when you want to be a bit more dressed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

TheBiz wrote: »

What type of jacket? Blazer, leather, harrington?
    Wingtips are usually called brogues this side of the pond. Brown are smart casual. Derby shoes are not very casual (maybe in brown). They are basically an Oxford with open lacing. I'd suggest boots (I always do). They look dressier than trainers but less than shoes. Just go better with jeans imo.
    Checked/plaid shirts are everywhere at the moment. I wear them, but i suppose I always have. maybe look at gingham if you want something similar but less "common". Or tatersall, if you want to look like you own the estate.
    If you must get trendy jeans, go for slim, not tapered. I usually go for straight. They're slim enough without looking "tight". But then, I think lads in skinny jeans look like they've been in their sister's wardrobe.
    It's much harder in a small village to "stand out". People in Dublin keep banging on about culchies and their "uniform". It's much asier to dress how you want in a city. I wear a newsboy cap in Dublin that I wouldn't wear at home much. Sounds silly but you are very concious of knowing everyone and being judged. I generally don't care (why would I? I'm late 30s) but you don't want to be seen as an eccentric either.
    Don't change based on what people here say. Change if you want to. You must want to though, or you wouldn't have asked. Rather than just rock up like you've robbed a Topman, gradually change. Jeans instead of tracksuit trousers for a few weeks. Then a shirt instead of a tee-shirt. Shoes/boots a month or so later etc. If it happens like that people get used to you and you won't get ribbed about having Gok Wan give you a makeover.
    Sportswear is for sports and loooks sloppy imo. Dress better and you'll feel better and look better. Girls will notice you if you stand out from the hoards of lads dressed like they're off to football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭LLewellen Farquarson

I would suggest that you do a bit more research before buying anything different to your usual. This might save you a bit (or al lot) of money (the internet is free).

There are some very good sites about mens, and young mens, clothes, and how to dress better.

dappered
    effortlessgent
    kinowear

(all websites end with dot com)

For starters. They have a ton of good information. One of them (effortless gent) is geared towards the younger man (such as yourself).

My advice, take it slow, only buy what you really need, heed the advice of getting the basics right, and keep a lookout of sales (Debenhams always have a good sale rail).

And whether you should or not, the fact that you even posted here answers that question. You won't regret it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Dapperdan

FashionBeans.com is a great site. Bookmark it, lots of articles there on various different styles and wardrobe essentials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

Dapperdan wrote: »
    FashionBeans.com is a great site. Bookmark it, lots of articles there on various different styles and wardrobe essentials.

It's a lot more "fashion-y" than classic, which in fairness if you're younger is perfect.

Like another poster said OP concentrate on making small adjustments to your current style. Swap your tracksuits for dark wash slim straight jeans, swap runners for something like converse/ addidas stan smiths, etc. Swap graphic tees for plain or more subtle patterns. Think about layering with chunky cardigans in the winter instead of hoodies. You don't have to go from tracksuit -> county gent in one fell swoop.

You're only 18 I wouldn't worry too much about moving too far from the likes of Penneys/ topman/ river island just yet. You're probably going to grow a bit more, fill out etc., and when you're trying out something new style-wise there's a lot to be said for trying cheaper versions until you get comfortable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

Asos sales will be your new friend same with river isalnd sales as they both have them on at the moemnt. You can pick up a few nice shirts now on in river island for about 14 euros each more or less and must of them are grand to wear for a few months and washes and move on to the next style or what ever is in fashion then .

I would say stay away from the plaid shirts as they're a huge hate of mine as I think you can't beat a well fitted shirt that is either say blue or white with your jeans as it looks so much more dressy. Like a idea would be getting a white shirt with poke a dots in it and your good to go.

If your looking for a nice jacket I would say in vast in a nice leather or a Barbour as you will have a jacket that will last you years and at the moment if you your close to a brown tomas they have Barbour jackets for about 90 euros at the moment and they will be the best investment you will ever make as they're dressy, keep you warm and last a long time.

With the shoes your over dressing right away with them and there more so with suits or if you wont to wear a blazer and the likes. I would say get yourself a nice stylish boot as an every day wear.

You should not care about what you're wearing even in a small town in the back ass of nowhere as I don't care myself as I live in a small town myself and i would wear a pair of extreme skinny jeans with rips in the knees, a sleeveless demein jacket and have a over the top haircut. I get odd looks all the time, but once you move to a city or a larger town for college no one cares what you wear and you should be the same.

You will get your style once you make a few mistakes as we all have and just be conferable in what you wear