Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

25plus.ie - Experiences

• 05-07-2015 4:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭

Just wondering if anyone has any recent experiences with 25plus.ie.

They are giving me by far the best quote considering an accident I had a few years ago.

Has anyone had any major issues with them?

Read some old posts about people having their policy cancelled by them a few days into it so I'm a bit wary.

Any comments appreciated.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Used them before, had no issues.

If you're aware of their charges and conditions and can live with them (and the more basic level of customer service) and the quote is good, run with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭mossy464

BuffyBot wrote: »
    Used them before, had no issues.

If you're aware of their charges and conditions and can live with them (and the more basic level of customer service) and the quote is good, run with it.

Many thanks.

What particular charges and conditions are you referring to?

Everything in the quote looks good to me in terms of excess etc.

Also in the quote I notice from the two options that one doesnt include legal expenses and the other does. What legal expenses do they mean?

As in if you had an accident and the third party claimed against you they would or wouldnt cover legal representation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Like most "low cost" providers, you'll pay for many things other providers do for free (changes of car, address etc).

However, most of it can be done online for free via their website, to be fair to them.

Generally, legal expenses would be in the event of a court case following an accident etc: but if you're unsure, call them to clarify before taking out the policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭aidanathome

I used them 2 years ago. No issues, would happily go with them again if they gave me the cheapest quote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

biko wrote: »
    I've been with them, no issues except that they are really strict on documentation.
    Make sure to keep every single scrap of paper they send you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭vandriver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

Have two cars insured with them for years, no issues, get my renewal email, renew online, had one claim which was sorted without fuss

Thanks for all the replies.

Think i'll be going ahead with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭MrTom1

changed to them myself, their customer service is brutal :mad: but i like their online section, anything i need or want is online so i dont call them.

Car broke down a few weeks ago and i called them up and the tow truck was there with in the hour, all he needed was a pic of my reg and that was that. So no complaints here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

Switched to them for my renewal last week. Received the necessary piece of paper for window in exchange for money. 530 for fully comp instead of the ridiculous 800-1000 tpft everywhere else I tried(:confused:), so happy out. All done online, never spoke to anyone. Stuck my no claims letter in the post today.

Anyone know of any implications for my NCB when joining them. Assuming no claims will I have another years no claims in addition to what I currently have after a year.

if you have none say on the application, they will cancel the policy as they want it in black and white with in 30 days. if you have what ever amount just send that in, i sent mine in via email and they where grand with it

Went ahead with the policy anyway today.

Just wondering do AIG as the underwriters still have final say on insuring me? Reason I ask is due to a significant claim I had against me which I have told them about so I don't see why they'd quote if they couldnt honour it.

Well, been with them now for nearly 2 months and all is well. Happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

mossy464 wrote: »
    Well, been with them now for nearly 2 months and all is well. Happy days.

Ye same here. Even changed cars the other week and thought here we go... but just done it online and it didn't cost me a penny. Its a handy online thing they have where you can swap your policy to another car temporarily/permanently and change other details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Euripides_

God Nightmare to deal with. Good prices, but pay all at once. Never again. If you have to contact support for any reason, prepare for stress

anyone renewals go through the roof :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭bodonnell

Mine went up about €60, considering some of the quotes reported on here don't think it was too bad.

How can you go up if you haven't claimed and been driving such and such a year 🀔 Madness insurance companies can charge folks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

They can still increase prices, it's not tied to your performance or loyalty.
    See this thread for alternatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Bebo stunnah

From my own experience I'd avoid them like the plague. Their customer service would struggle to be any poorer. When I took out my policy at the beginning of last year I sent them all my details, then 10 days later they sent me out a chaser letter asking why my previous policies NCB wasn't on the car I was looking to insure. They were also wondering why there was a gap in my insurance (there wasn't- my new policy was to start the minute after my new one ended). After finally getting through to someone on their online chat it finally got sorted. I was left waiting for over an hour on the phone until my credit ran out.

Their mailing address was a PO box in Dublin. it's now a PO box in Letterkenny. That meant it took atleast two days minimum before any mail correspondance reached them as they're based in Derry.

When my renewal came in last month there was a 35% increasse from last year but it was also my cheapest quote. I went with the next closest quote to it which was a few euro more expensive. I also required insurance which covers me to drive other cars to be included but 25plus have it in their details that it only covers you in an emergency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

i got a little pug 1.2, 4 seater wheelchair adapted yoke, i had been with them at least four years, sorry sir but we do not insure that type of vehicle

My renewal is due in the next month or so. Anyone had a renewal with them recently? Hoping mine doesnt go up too much. Haven't had any issues with them so I'd like to stick with them.