Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saudi Prince to give away his $32 billion fortune.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Pretty sure I got that email before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

No I said give me your details not go post on boards.ie

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

A great example of Irish begrudgery right from the get go...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭stereo_steve

I'd guess welsh from the name ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

It was Cicero who said no man should be considered rich unless he owns or can afford his own army.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Saudi Prince. Yeah seen him Riyadh, he was useless. Didn't even do Purple Rain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

"The prince's two children were present at his boardroom when he made the announcement in Riyadh".

I'd say they were happy....take the tablets Baba....they will help you relax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

The Saudis have been giving their billions away for over 40 years, mainly to the likes of Osama bin Laden and ISIS

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

The Saudis... A great bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,531 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

As much as we love to hate these billionaires, it's great they are doing this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Saudi Prince. Yeah seen him Riyadh, he was useless. Didn't even do Purple Rain.

I thought the encore 'Living next door to Allah' was a brave choice though.

Mega rich person does something good.

We still complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,993 ✭✭✭Soups123

He can keep his money, I'll take the wife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Soups123 wrote: »
    He can keep his money, I'll take the wife

Which one?.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Tabnabs wrote: »

eh ??

Begrudgery - you don't think there is something wrong in this world when people have so much - due to circumstance really - and others have nothing ? - not to mention it's this inequality that makes it possible for such wealth!

I think begrudgery is more being pissed of that Joe down the road makes 120k and has a nice car ...

But this is the other end of the spectrum ... 32 BILLION ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭GreatDefector

Yamanoto wrote: »
    I thought the encore 'Living next door to Allah' was a brave choice though.

who the **** is allah? :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

the_monkey wrote: »
    eh ??

Begrudgery - you don't think there is something wrong in this world when people have so much - due to circumstance really - and others have nothing ? - not to mention it's this inequality that makes it possible for such wealth!

I think begrudgery is more being pissed of that Joe down the road makes 120k and has a nice car ...

Personally, I think it is fcuked up, mainly because it is me that does not have 32 billion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

the_monkey wrote: »
    eh ??

It's a figure becoming of his Royal Highness.

As is the wife that looks like his daughter.

I bet the ordinary Greek people will feel great reading this today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

IMO no person should be allowed become a billionaire.

I'd really love to hear more about this.

Does someone earn loads of money, but then suddenly think "ah jaysus, I better stop being so successful"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Tabnabs wrote: »

Begrudgery only refers to resenting people who worked hard for their money. It doesn't apply to people who inherited it or were given a business. Self made wealthy who started from scratch are to be applauded. People who were rich because of the family they were born into not so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

buried wrote: »
    The Saudis have been giving their billions away for over 40 years, mainly to the likes of Osama bin Laden and ISIS

And investing billions upon billions in the U.S. economy so their beheadings are ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Soups123 wrote: »
    He can keep his money, I'll take the wives

FYP

With the taxes you pay these days it's not worth being rich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

kneemos wrote: »
    It's a figure becoming of his Royal Highness.

As is the wife that looks like his daughter.

Well he did probably marry her when she was 8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

IMO no person should be allowed become a billionaire.

That's possibly the most retarded thing I've ever read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

He could spend it making the country less of a backward, sexist, homophobic hellhole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Zebra3 wrote: »
    And investing billions upon billions in the U.S. economy so their beheadings are ignored.

Big slimy PR drive now on by Saudi Arabia to distance themselves from the current violent, death cult form of militant Wahhabi Islam they created, exported and funded throughout the Middle east and Asia since the late 70's, which has resulted in Islamic State and those sick massacre's in Tunisia France and Kuwait last Friday

Make America Get Out of Here

El Guapo! wrote: »

You cant see anything wrong with 85 people having the same wealth as half the worlds population?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Good on him.IMO no person should be allowed become a billionaire.

Allowed? What drivel.

You know what is boring? The fuzzy idea some people have that if a guy like this wasn't a billionaire then everybody else would be a little bit richer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

You cant see anything wrong with 85 people having the same wealth arbitrary numbers on a statement as half the worlds population?.

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

What on Earth is so special about teh scion of one of the most dictatorial brutal regimes giving away money that should never have been his in the first instance? What's more how much of this charity will end up funding wahhabi mosques spreading violent extremism across the globe. This robber barons effort at redemption is pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭KomradeBishop

Billionaire donates billions to charity he owns and runs, how generous.

I encourage people to start reading up on billionaires and the 'charities' they found/run, so that people can learn that in many cases this is just a method of 'reputation laundering' (i.e. trying to make themselves look good by donating money to charity themselves), where the 'charity' is often just an organization used for seeking the persons own political/business goals.

That doesn't mean this guy isn't going to do something worthwhile with the money (quite a lot of wealthy folks and their charities do a lot of good), but his 'donation' means nothing until we see what actions the charity takes - and note, this does not mean the actions the charity itself claims they will make, as that is just PR, usually after a time charities like these start to develop a long string of criticisms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Fantastic gesture. We need more of this kind of stuff. Nobody needs that much money whilst people are starving to death on our planet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

Fantastic gesture. We need more of this kind of stuff. Nobody needs that much money whilst people are starving to death on our planet.

Precisely why we need progressive taxation and extremely high estate taxes for bequeathments over a certain amount.

Fantastic gesture depending on where it goes, a point that seems a bit vague.

The money will go to the Saudi prince's organisation called Alwaleed Philanthropies to work in the fields of "intercultural understanding" and supporting communities in need, he said in a statement.

That could mean anything, but smacks a of funding madrasas in Pakistan, or worse 'here Dublin, have youself a super mosque and a new Islamic cultural center', like the center for fatwa research out in Clonskeagh.

conorhal wrote: »
    Fantastic gesture depending on where it goes, a point that seems a bit vague.

The money will go to the Saudi prince's organisation called Alwaleed Philanthropies to work in the fields of "intercultural understanding" and supporting communities in need, he said in a statement.

That could mean anything, but smacks of 'here Dublin, have youself a super mosque and an Islamic cultural center', like the center for fatwa research out in Clonskeagh.

Reported

Reported

Quick into the holster aren'tca? Why don't you try googling the guy

http://www.ed.ac.uk/polopoly_fs/1.167823!/fileManager/Annual%20Report%202015.pdf

He spends most of his time and money funding solely islamic persuits to further the reach of his wierd cult.

Edit:

I see a wad of his cash is already being spent by Trinity to fund the odious Dr. Ali Selim who spends his time writing books about how best to islamicize our education system and threatening to sue any paper that published a charlie Hebdo cartoon.

He can take his 'charitable donation' and shove it where the sun don't shine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

buried wrote: »
    Big slimy PR drive now on by Saudi Arabia to distance themselves from the current violent, death cult form of militant Wahhabi Islam they created, exported and funded throughout the Middle east and Asia since the late 70's, which has resulted in Islamic State and those sick massacre's in Tunisia France and Kuwait last Friday

And therein lies a major difference between the Saudi dictatorship and the U.S.-led west.

The U.S. and its' lackeys can murder at will and the media automatically whitewash it without being paid off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭DarkyHughes

Good on him.IMO no person should be allowed become a billionaire.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/middleeast/saudiarabia/11712286/Billionaire-Saudi-prince-to-give-away-32-billion-fortune.html

Sad fact is the worlds top 85 richest people have the same wealth as 3.5 billion of the worlds poorest people.Half of the worlds wealth is owned by 1% of the population.The wealth of the 1% richest people is $110 trillion.Disgusting thought.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/laurashin/2014/01/23/the-85-richest-people-in-the-world-have-as-much-wealth-as-the-3-5-billion-poorest/

Yeah, who needs money when you can watch one of your subjects get stoned to death on a weekly basis for petty crimes instead to make you happy?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

El Guapo! wrote: »

I'd cap it at 500 million. When individual people amass figures that large it cheapens the value of money for everyone because it either stagnates on ledgers or meaningless overpriced assets like $200m paintings or seeks returns in areas like utilities and property.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Yeah, who needs money when you can watch one of your subjects get stoned to death on a weekly basis for petty crimes instead to make you happy?

What are you on about?

Executions in Saudi Arabia are done by beheading, not stoning.

And they average about 1 lawful killing every 50 days.

Quick into the holster aren'tca? Why don't you try googling the guy

http://www.ed.ac.uk/polopoly_fs/1.167823!/fileManager/Annual%20Report%202015.pdf

He spends most of his time and money funding solely islamic persuits to further the reach of his wierd cult.

Edit:

I see a wad of his cash is already being spent by Trinity to fund the odious Dr. Ali Selim who spends his time writing books about how best to islamicize our education system and threatening to sue any paper that published a charlie Hebdo cartoon.

He can take his 'charitable donation' and shove it where the sun don't shine.

The fact you edited the post shows you knew it was a racist remark. That's enough for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

god I wish I was a billionaire just so I could donate it all to myself
    I mean the business I am running
    I mean the charity I am running....

ALLA AKBAAARRR

The fact you edited the post shows you knew it was a racist remark. That's enough for me.

Edited to provide aditional information regards his funding of extremism in Ireland you eejit. Though I'm sure that in your book that makes me 'even MORE racist'. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Edited to provide aditional information regards his funding of extremism in Ireland you eejit. Though I'm sure that in your book that makes me 'even MORE racist'. :rolleyes:

Nice use of a blue smiley. The Irish for black man translates as blue man. What does this have to so with black people? You feckin racist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

There are claims that the Saudi prince in question has links to terrorism.

Allowed? What drivel.

You know what is boring? The fuzzy idea some people have that if a guy like this wasn't a billionaire then everybody else would be a little bit richer.

Born into ruling family of oil rich nation.

Consumers across globe pay for oil. He skims off a certain cut.

How the hell do you think it works out of interest? Do you think he has a magic money tree and his money doesn't come out of your pocket when you fill the car?

I think maybe you are the one who has the fuzzy ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

A friend of mine used to work for him and says he was a daycent skin. Hope the money does some good.