Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Road Trip Around Ireland - Ideas?

• 01-07-2015 06:07AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭

So I'm doing a 10 day road trip round ireland at the end of august and looking for ideas of where to go. I'm irish but live overseas so don't get much of a chance to see the place these days. I've been to every county before but never really done any touristy things (cliffs of moher, guinness factory, blarney stone etc) so I'd like to do some of the best ones. I will have a car if that makes a difference.

My first 5 days I will be travelling with a girl from sydney (from tinder) who's never been to ireland before (I've never met her before either but will meet her in london a couple of days before she's due to fly here). Note if she's a complete fruitcake I'll do the first 5 days myself but I'm pretty sure she'll be joining me. The second 5 days I have friends from cork and donegal joining me.

I guess the west coast is best for most of the time but I don't care where I go really. I'm from co. monaghan if that makes a difference. Help me AH!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 332 ✭✭mcneil

So I'm doing a 10 day road trip round ireland at the end of august and looking for ideas of where to go. I'm irish but live overseas so don't get much of a chance to see the place these days. I've been to every county before but never really done any touristy things (cliffs of moher, guinness factory, blarney stone etc) so I'd like to do some of the best ones. I will have a car if that makes a difference.

My first 5 days I will be travelling with a girl from sydney (from tinder) who's never been to ireland before (I've never met her before either but will meet her in london a couple of days before she's due to fly here). Note if she's a complete fruitcake I'll do the first 5 days myself but I'm pretty sure she'll be joining me. The second 5 days I have friends from cork and donegal joining me.

I guess the west coast is best for most of the time but I don't care where I go really. I'm from co. monaghan if that makes a difference. Help me AH!

Go west, its beautiful over there!

Been thinking a wee trip around the country myself with the misses and kids but worried about all them crazy drivers ya see on the roads :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭exaisle

You could do a roadtrip along the Wild Atlantic Way....runs all the way down the west coast..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

The car will make a difference alright. Faster and easier on the feet than walking.
    Apart from that, the usual, Kerry, West Cork, Clare and Connemara are all lovely. If you want somewhere with less tourist but still loads to see, Mayo, Sligo and Donegal are worth a look. Loads of scenery that most people don't seem to know about. Achill, Downpatrick Head, Lough Gill, Glencar, Dartry mountains, Glenveigh, Glencolumcille, The Rosses,
    Please come. Bring money. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

il gatto wrote: »
    Kerry, West Cork, Clare and Connemara are all lovely. If you want somewhere with less tourist but still loads to see, Mayo, Sligo and Donegal are worth a look. Loads of scenery that most people don't seem to know about. Achill, Downpatrick Head, Lough Gill, Glencar, Dartry mountains, Glenveigh, Glencolumcille, The Rosses,
    Please come. Bring money. :)

Don't forget Lovely Leitrim. The drive from Rosses Point to Fundoran is spectacular. Equally so is the the road back towards Manorhamilton, Dromahair etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Really hope not to see a missing persons bulletin about a girl from Sydney who was travelling with a strange man from Ireland..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

thee glitz wrote: »
    Don't forget Lovely Leitrim. The drive from Rosses Point to Fundoran is spectacular. Equally so is the the road back towards Manorhamilton, Dromahair etc.

I felt bad leaving it out but I wanted my post to be taken seriously. People who aren't from the north west just don't "get" Leitrim. I blame Dustin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,787 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Loop Head in Clare's spectacular.

(not biased, it's gorgeous).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Very Bored

The coast road from Belfast to Derry is awesome, you get to see (stop at?) the Giant's Causeway on the way as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

Irelands actually pretty small if you're travelling by car. We spent 5 days a few years ago in a road trip, we went to every county (32) and took a pic with the county sign and went to the main nice tourist thing in the county if possible. Overnighted in Belfast, Donegal, Galway, Killarney and Cork. Was great craic and having the theme kinda helped us keep going on hungover mornings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

If going to west Cork, as I'm sure you will, you MUST go across the Sheep's Head peninsula. Some of the most dramatic coastline you'll see anywhere imo.

Your own county and others surrounding it are pretty great in places too don't forget! Armagh at that time will be well worth a visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Spend all 10 days in Leitrim, Longford and Roscommon...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Spend all 10 days in Leitrim, Longford and Roscommon...
    Cruel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,950 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Sit in traffic outside Adare for an hour. Although Castletownsend and West Cork is gorgeous.

Last year I did Rosslare - West Cork. Stopped in Dungarvan, Glendore, Union Hall, Kinsale, Skibbereen, Baltimore & Sherkin Island and in Ardmore on the way back.

Ardmore I hated, was in a couple of cafes/restaurants and found the staff in them to be rude and obnoxious. Wouldn't go back.

All of West Cork was absolutely amazing. The people, the scenery, the food, the pubs! Kinsale was my favourite. If you're going there stay in Desmond House B&B. The owner Michael is Captain Birdseye himself, the nicest man you'll ever meet. The yummiest breakfast, and the comfiest of rooms (mine had a Jacuzzi bath!!!). Hire a bike (I had mine with me) and cycle to Charles Fort, have lunch in The Bullman. If it's good weather you can sit outside, it's right on a tiny cove :)

Baltimore is so pretty, don't be tempted to go on the castle tour, particularly if you have foreign guests, it's embarrassing :D take the boat to one of the Islands, I went to Sherkin, stunning place, you can hire bikes on the Island and go exploring. Have one of the many beaches all to yourselves ;)

Check out beautiful The Cliffs of Moher in Co. Clare, visit Lahinch, and Doolin.

Galway city is just the loveliest chilled fun place. Definitely a place to bring visitors Have a pint in O'Connells pub on Eyre Square!

Go to Sligo and take a walk up The Glen, climb Knocknarea and take in the spectacular Atlantic Ocean views. Go to Strandhill - have breakfast in Shells ice cream in Mammy Johnsons . Drive out to Rosses Point and have a pint in Harry's.

Get surf lessons in Bundoran (or maybe Mullaghmore if you're a bit more adventurous!). Go for a walk on Rossnowlagh beach, have the NICEST Guinness in the Sandhouse hotel. Drive along the beach (not if you've had the Guinness of cours) to Smuggler's Inn and eat mussels on a hilltop with the most amazing view of the bay.

Take a spin to Slieve League, either take a boattrip to view the cliffs from below, or take a walk across the mountain to look down from the viewing point. Pet some sheep on the way if you're brave enough!

Take your guest to the Dunfanaghy Famine Exhibition for an Irish History Lesson.

Go to the Inishowen Peninsula and stand on the edge of the world! Drive the coast to the Giant's Causeway, take a walk across the Carrick a Rede rope bridge. (bonus points if it's a windy day!).

There's so many things I haven't even touched on!!! And that's just the west coast. God but I do love Ireland :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

FailteIreland appear to have hacked whoops' account.

OP, take her to Donegal, we'll do the rest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Don't forget to take her up the Áras.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

FailteIreland appear to have hacked whoops' account.

OP, take her to Donegal, we'll do the rest.

But not Bundoran. Rest of Donegal is nice, just not Bundoran.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Areyouwell

Road Trip Around Ireland - Ideas?

Stay on the West coast and stay away from the east.

I'd do it as follows...Donegal-Sligo-Mayo-Galway-Clare-Kerry-Cork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Menas wrote: »
    It's a little known fact that the people of Leitrim diverted the River Drowes in the middle of the night in 1878 to move Bundoran into Donegal, and the wastards won't take it back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Would it be overly lazy to suggest doing it on google-maps, that way you don't even have to leave your house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭wrmwit

Galway city is just the loveliest chilled fun place. Definitely a place to bring visitors Have a pint in O'Connells pub on Eyre Square!

I second that. O'Connells is a great spot.

If you find yourself in Cliften, head out the Sky Road and onto Lower Sky Road. The views are some of the best in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭Triboro

Menas wrote: »

Was up at the sea sessions there and had a great time, lovely people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

My advise when travelling through the midlands is to stay on the road and beware the moon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,102 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

If you find yourselves down around caherdaniel in Kerry, it would be rude not to go over to Skellig Michael. (unless them star wars lads have booked the whole place out) You'd need to book a few days in advance though to make sure you have a spot on a boat.

It's also not too far away from Valentia Island either which is lovely (there's a bridge so you don't need to worry about booking a ferry or boat to get there)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Forget about all that flashy scenery in the west,

A trip around Ireland is not complete without a trip to Offaly and it's beautiful boglands.

Last year I did Rosslare - West Cork. Stopped in Dungarvan, Glendore, Union Hall, Kinsale, Skibbereen, Baltimore & Sherkin Island and in Ardmore on the way back.

Ardmore I hated, was in a couple of cafes/restaurants and found the staff in them to be rude and obnoxious. Wouldn't go back.

All of West Cork was absolutely amazing. The people, the scenery, the food, the pubs! Kinsale was my favourite. If you're going there stay in Desmond House B&B. The owner Michael is Captain Birdseye himself, the nicest man you'll ever meet. The yummiest breakfast, and the comfiest of rooms (mine had a Jacuzzi bath!!!). Hire a bike (I had mine with me) and cycle to Charles Fort, have lunch in The Bullman. If it's good weather you can sit outside, it's right on a tiny cove :)

Baltimore is so pretty, don't be tempted to go on the castle tour, particularly if you have foreign guests, it's embarrassing :D take the boat to one of the Islands, I went to Sherkin, stunning place, you can hire bikes on the Island and go exploring. Have one of the many beaches all to yourselves ;)

Agree fully with the West Cork thing...just not Sherkin. I find it pretty flat and unexciting. Cape Clear is more interesting, bigger, more to see, much further out etc. Then further west there is Dursey at the end if Beara with its cable car, and in Kerry the Blaskets with their rich history and stunning beach, and the most dramatic of all, the Skelligs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Areyouwell wrote: »
    Stay on the West coast and stay away from the east.

I'd do it as follows...Donegal-Sligo-Mayo-Galway-Clare-Kerry-Cork

I would also like to second this proposal.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

If funds are low you could hitch hike. With a fridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,001 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

If you manage to do the entire length of the west coast, I would highly (seriously highly) recommend the Skelligs in Kerry, and Glenveagh National Park in north Donegal.

Been to Skellig Michael once, to Glenveagh many times, and both are my absolutely favourite places in Ireland. Jaw-dropping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,001 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

If funds are low you could hitch hike. With a fridge.
    That's old hat, been done before.

I'd suggest a dishwasher. Or a mattress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

exaisle wrote: »
    You could do a roadtrip along the Wild Atlantic Way....runs all the way down the west coast..

Yeah the whole road part make it wild :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭massdebater

Thanks for the suggestions everyone! Some really great ideas here :)