Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help with Debs Suit

• 29-06-2015 3:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭

I need help finding a Debs suit that fits. I originally planned on getting this suit, I went into RI today and all fit today bar the jacket. I need a 38 short as opposed to the 38 regular. (I'm small so I have short arms and legs and the 38 regular sleeves goes down past my knuckles and the bottom of the jacket past my pockets). The problem is, the sized jacket is sold out in all shops in Ireland and also online, with no sign of it coming back into stock.

So where (online or in a bricks and mortar shop) can I get a suit of similar style and colour, my budget is that of the linked suit! I'll be in Dublin this Thursday so if any of ye could recommend a place to go, that would be great!

Cheers! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,129 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

M&S, will have a full range of sizes and styles. Good prices too (I think they have 20% off men's suits at the moment).

If the sleeves are too long, or the trousers, then bring them to a tailor / alterations places and they can fix it up for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭Troxck

M&S, will have a full range of sizes and styles. Good prices too (I think they have 20% off men's suits at the moment).

If the sleeves are too long, or the trousers, then bring them to a tailor / alterations places and they can fix it up for you.

It is the jacket that is the problem. It isn't just the sleeves though, the whole fit of the jacket is wrong and it would be difficult for a tailor to alterate it fully.

I'll check out M&S, thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

There's a few suit shops on Dawson St. in Dublin. My Dad got a really nice 3-piece suit (highly recommended for a debs!) for €160 or so this time last year in Monza Menswear. The guy in there really knows his stuff.

Yeah, if you wanna look like a Eurotrash millionaire! :D

Wow, thanks for being a dick and slagging off my Dad.

Sorry, I meant the Monza Menswear guy.

Fair enough! The guy I met with my Dad was grand, he knew exactly what size my Dad was on sight, had great recommendations for him style-wise and Dad came out delighted, looking swish for his sons wedding. That's all I know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

M & S are really good for suits. Well made and nicely cut. I'd buy one long before a River Island suit tbh.

il gatto wrote: »
    M & S are really good for suits. Well made and nicely cut. I'd buy one long before a River Island suit tbh.

Why is that? I'm 100% naive with suits, know nothing about them. I've seen M&S suits before and I never found them that stylish in comparison to RI suits. I've always seen those suits more as a suit my Dad would wear really

Troxck wrote: »
    Why is that? I'm 100% naive with suits, know nothing about them. I've seen M&S suits before and I never found them that stylish in comparison to RI suits. I've always seen those suits more as a suit my Dad would wear really

They are usually well made and use good cloth. They do dad suits but also have many slimmer and trendier styles. And a suit should never be too stylish as they'll age badly. A simple suit with the right shirt, tie, shoes etc. will always look good as long as it fits well. I've read Saville Row tailors recommend them as a good off the peg suit. Check out their website. The range is pretty big.

il gatto wrote: »
    They are usually well made and use good cloth. They do dad suits but also have many slimmer and trendier styles. And a suit should never be too stylish as they'll age badly. A simple suit with the right shirt, tie, shoes etc. will always look good as long as it fits well. I've read Saville Row tailors recommend them as a good off the peg suit. Check out their website. The range is pretty big.

Cheers, I will. I would be better off getting a simple suit that could be used for various events since I'll be heading off to college meaning possible job interviews and the likes.

I'll look in different shops and see what's on offer!

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭allym

Burton and Next would tend to have similar styles to river island. Burton definitely do short jackets, wouldn't be 100% about next but I think they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 StylePoetic

This is a tricky one. I attended the pre-debs of a friend's sister recently and it was head to toe in what I would consider to be bad attire. But I get it, they're 17/18. Lots of Polyester suits, double collar shirts, polyester ties etc.

If you--understandably because of your age--want to fit in there, then go to River Island/Topman etc. and you will get a suit there no problem. You may have to bring it to get it altered and it will make the best of what it is, but the reality is it's likely a cheap, polyester mix suit. Also, I've tried River Island suits on and did not like the fit even for that price.

You're not going to get a suit that looks great or wears well from there. But you're young and from what you've said are not that big into suits so don't spend too much now. People are recommending M&S. I'd buy a suit or blazer from M&S but that's because I'm older and want wool blazers etc. and some of their stuff looks cool.

TM Lewin on St. Anne St do a nice navy slim fitting suit that won't break the bank.

There may come a time when you're older that you have more of an appreciation for suits, and when that time comes go to Louis Copeland or wherever to get the brand name suits.

For now, try Topman. They've a better shape for suits, won't break the bank and you'll likely mix in with the crowd at the debs better.

I'm all for individualism and would personally recommend something like a check grey blazer with navy trousers or the dark/light reverse of a navy tweed blazer with grey trousers to look a little different.

You might try no tie, as that seems to be the look and make sure to get a nice pocket square.

And most of all, you're young and debs are great so enjoy it!

This is a tricky one. I attended the pre-debs of a friend's sister recently and it was head to toe in what I would consider to be bad attire. But I get it, they're 17/18. Lots of Polyester suits, double collar shirts, polyester ties etc.

If you--understandably because of your age--want to fit in there, then go to River Island/Topman etc. and you will get a suit there no problem. You may have to bring it to get it altered and it will make the best of what it is, but the reality is it's likely a cheap, polyester mix suit. Also, I've tried River Island suits on and did not like the fit even for that price.

You're not going to get a suit that looks great or wears well from there. But you're young and from what you've said are not that big into suits so don't spend too much now. People are recommending M&S. I'd buy a suit or blazer from M&S but that's because I'm older and want wool blazers etc. and some of their stuff looks cool.

TM Lewin on St. Anne St do a nice navy slim fitting suit that won't break the bank.

There may come a time when you're older that you have more of an appreciation for suits, and when that time comes go to Louis Copeland or wherever to get the brand name suits.

For now, try Topman. They've a better shape for suits, won't break the bank and you'll likely mix in with the crowd at the debs better.

I'm all for individualism and would personally recommend something like a check grey blazer with navy trousers or the dark/light reverse of a navy tweed blazer with grey trousers to look a little different.

You might try no tie, as that seems to be the look and make sure to get a nice pocket square.

And most of all, you're young and debs are great so enjoy it!

I'm 19, I don't have a great need for suits at this age. I'm sure they'll be a day when I'll need a more "mature" and practical suit, but for now the one from RI is great.

I ended up getting that 3 piece suit, shirt, bowtie and shoes which came to €309, you'll probably think I was ripped off but it fits and I like how it looks. It's wool blend too, if that makes it any way better than polyester.

I was wondering about a pocket square, would it be necessary or "too much" for a Debs?

Thanks for all the advice lads!

I'm 19, I don't have a great need for suits at this age. I'm sure they'll be a day when I'll need a more "mature" and practical suit, but for now the one from RI is great.

I ended up getting that 3 piece suit, shirt, bowtie and shoes which came to €309, you'll probably think I was ripped off but it fits and I like how it looks. It's wool blend too, if that makes it any way better than polyester.

I was wondering about a pocket square, would it be necessary or "too much" for a Debs?

I'd say the bow tie is more "too much" than a simple pocket square. I couldn't wear one without a tux or tails (which I've never had to wear).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 StylePoetic

Yeah that's what I thought and you're right. Wait until you're move into suits before spending massive money. I don't think you're ripped off. You got everything you wanted including shoes for €300 and you'll be able to use the suit again and you like the fit.

Re: dickie, they'll be 10 a penny at the debs so why not? I don't think it's too much. Some people like them - you do, so wear it.

And yes, definitely get a pocket square. It's a nice finishing touch. Something that looks well with the dickie, not an exact match.

Yeah that's what I thought and you're right. Wait until you're move into suits before spending massive money. I don't think you're ripped off. You got everything you wanted including shoes for €300 and you'll be able to use the suit again and you like the fit.

Re: dickie, they'll be 10 a penny at the debs so why not? I don't think it's too much. Some people like them - you do, so wear it.

And yes, definitely get a pocket square. It's a nice finishing touch. Something that looks well with the dickie, not an exact match.

Thanks for the help. The suit I ended up getting was a bit darker than the suit linked so it isn't as"flashy" and looks more practical and I like it as much.

Thanks for the help!