Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tractor tyre prices

• 23-06-2015 6:55pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Just wondering if anybody had to buy a few during the silage season and if prices are any better since crude oil dropped?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭raypallas

Don't know but neighbour gave around 1800 for two back tires for a massey 5455 there recently. Wouldn't exactly call that cheap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

raypallas wrote: »
    Don't know but neighbour gave around 1800 for two back tires for a massey 5455 there recently. Wouldn't exactly call that cheap!

Jaysus that's steep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

blue5000 wrote: »
    Just wondering if anybody had to buy a few during the silage season and if prices are any better since crude oil dropped?

No Blue dearer than ever.
    Shopping for a pair of Michelin 710/70/42 and they are in the €3100/tyre kinda range. (Plus vat).

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Dawggone wrote: »
    Shopping for a pair of Michelin 710/70/42 and they are in the €3100/tyre kinda range. (Plus vat).
    That's a few ton of wheat gone anyway:eek:

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Tractor I'm driving got a set of 800's in the spring, wouldn't like to clip them on a gate hanger!!

blue5000 wrote: »
    That's a few ton of wheat gone anyway:eek:

+1.

C0N0R wrote: »
    Tractor I'm driving got a set of 800's in the spring, wouldn't like to clip them on a gate hanger!!

Run and hide!:)

I've tyres insured so you mightn't have to hide...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Run and hide!:)

I've tyres insured so you mightn't have to hide...

Ye would bloody want it at that price.

They do wear out though.
    Get about 3400 hours work out of them.

They do wear out though.
    Get about 3400 hours work out of them.

Much road/ yard work?

No yard work.
    No real road work either. Just weight I quess.
    10 ton unladen.
    Thinking on moving her on rather than reshoeing.

No yard work.
    No real road work either. Just weight I quess.
    10 ton unladen.
    Thinking on moving her on rather than reshoeing.

What is it. Big lady to be 10 t unladen

Deere 7920

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Brother gave €2500 for back tyres for the 5140 , not sure on the size but they're bigger than the usual size for that tractor anyhow. Think agrimax is the brand

Bullocks wrote: »
    Brother gave €2500 for back tyres for the 5140 , not sure on the size but they're bigger than the usual size for that tractor anyhow. Think agrimax is the brand

BKT's?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

r38/85's ftw

Blackgrass wrote: »
    r38/85's ftw

Don't understand?

More sidewall to collapse =longer foot print = much more contact= better grip at lower psi's

But it's on 42" rims.
    Would have to change?

BKT's?

What's a BKT ?

Bullocks wrote: »
    What's a BKT ?

Budget brand. Think they are manufactured in India(?).
    I find them good enough value for money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Deere 7920

Few years ago when I first landed in oz my first job for a farmer was spreading lime in a Spanky new 7930 with 30 hrs on her. 300ha field working off old gps lines that were drove over hundreds of times & I found an old stake. It sliced the back tyre like butter. I really didn't want to call that one in!

Budget brand. Think they are manufactured in India(?).
    I find them good enough value for money.

Don't know , mate of mine imports/sells alot of tractor tyres and said they were good ones , got them off him so what else would he say sure !

But it's on 42" rims.
    Would have to change?

yep 38's are smaller diameter but the '85' in theory means side walls are about 85% height of the width. But they actually stand as tall as 42's iykwim. I'd only trust michies to have sidewalls flexible/strong enough to get toooo creative have 650/85/r38's on the 210r leaves a bigger foot print than 7530(rolling/discing fert tractor) on 800/70/42's albeit narrower so not much use for top work but Really helps to put the power down as not too wide vs more lugs on the ground if you get me. Not sure a 710/85/42 would get under any mud guards?!

As an aside, Trellebourgs seem to be the common tyre of choice now on all but prime movers as michies are silly expensive to just wear out on roads/yards!
    (think actually owned by same parent company?)

i

yep 38's are smaller diameter but the '85' in theory means side walls are about 85% height of the width. But they actually stand as tall as 42's iykwim. I'd only trust michies to have sidewalls flexible/strong enough to get toooo creative have 650/85/r38's on the 210r leaves a bigger foot print than 7530(rolling/discing fert tractor) on 800/70/42's albeit narrower so not much use for top work but Really helps to put the power down as not too wide vs more lugs on the ground if you get me. Not sure a 710/85/42 would get under any mud guards?!

As an aside, Trellebourgs seem to be the common tyre of choice now on all but prime movers as michies are silly expensive to just wear out on roads/yards!
    (think actually owned by same parent company?)

i

Wrote a big long script on a new iPhone 6 and all was lost.
    Me thinks new iPhone 6 could get a Birdseye view of the inner workings of an axial flow tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

The price of crude oil takes a long while to impact on anything in Ireland really! I haven't seen much of a price decrease in anything from the plastics/rubber sector. If value for money is the prime motivator here I'd have to recommend going on the hunt for quality 2nd tyres. The export boyos and breakers would be the best place to start but be wary of the usual chancers! We got good 2nd hand set of radial 16.9 r34 goodyears at 40% thread at a very tidy price but they were from a local crowd that were selling due to a bereavement so it wouldn't be a true indicator of the so called "going rate" so I won't bother talking price. I have just always found the price of new quality branded tractor tyres is something I couldn't justify paying. That's just my two cents worth anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

The price of crude oil takes a long while to impact on anything in Ireland really! I haven't seen much of a price decrease in anything from the plastics/rubber sector. If value for money is the prime motivator here I'd have to recommend going on the hunt for quality 2nd tyres. The export boyos and breakers would be the best place to start but be wary of the usual chancers! We got good 2nd hand set of radial 16.9 r34 goodyears at 40% thread at a very tidy price but they were from a local crowd that were selling due to a bereavement so it wouldn't be a true indicator of the so called "going rate" so I won't bother talking price. I have just always found the price of new quality branded tractor tyres is something I couldn't justify paying. That's just my two cents worth anyways.

The rocket - feather effect

Had to get a tyre for the silage wagon there . 15-55-17 . 10 ply BKT €170 . Dear or cheap ?