Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

insurance looking for accident report.

• 23-06-2015 1:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭

Hi guys my insurance company is looking for an accident report to be filled in. My car was hit by an other car which failed to stop. I caught up with the other driver . Anyway
    Reported the matter to my insurance company and to his insurance company. No no one claiming off my policy. I only reported it to my company to give them a heads up.
    The other drivers insurance is going to cover the damage. So why are my insurance company insisting I have to fill it in. No claim will be made against my policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,707 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

They will want your side of the story, it's standard, they usually look for you to draw diagrams too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Did you ask your insurance co.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭thebiglad

1) it's probably in your policy conditions anyhow.
    2) If there are any issues with the claim down the line there may be a claim or counter claim v your policy and so they want to have an account in writing to be able to satisfy themselves and close off.
    3) They can check the vehicle usage and driver information against the insured information - nothing like a claim for a double check

Just fill in the form, return it to them and you'll probably hear no more, just 10 minutes work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭oldon

thebiglad wrote: »
    1) it's probably in your policy conditions anyhow.
    2) If there are any issues with the claim down the line there may be a claim or counter claim v your policy and so they want to have an account in writing to be able to satisfy themselves and close off.
    3) They can check the vehicle usage and driver information against the insured information - nothing like a claim for a double check

Just fill in the form, return it to them and you'll probably hear no more, just 10 minutes work.

My solicitor said I don't need to fill it out. As I have dashcam footage of the incident.
    Garda are looking to charge the other driver. And there should be no other dealings with my insurance company.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭oldon

Even though there is no claim against your policy, they well load you anyways for being in an accident.

That's sucks. Muppet hits me and I get loaded.

No they won't - that'll only happen if the claim is fault (and then it depends on cost) or if a claim is made is made against OP which the insurer needs to defend - seems unlikely on this occasion that will happen.

Your Solicitor is wrong v dash cam being all they need - it may prove what happened but the accident report form has more sections than what happened and they want all the details not just circumstances.

Stop worrying about it and fill in the form, it would have been done by now and over with. You've already told them about the accident anyhow so filling in the form will not change anything.

Make it clear you are claiming directly from the responsible party and that you have Dash Cam footage if required.

How do you know they loaded you? The Claims Loading would be included in your premium.

Your claims record should be clear and any no claim bonus intact so free to move to another insurer anyhow.

If they were penalising you with a non-fault claim (and this is a claim which is really non-fault not just where you believed you were non-fault (happens often)) you could have complained to their Complaints Dept and then to the Ombudsman to get the records corrected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

oldon wrote: »
    My solicitor said I don't need to fill it out. As I have dashcam footage of the incident.
    Garda are looking to charge the other driver. And there should be no other dealings with my insurance company.

Dashcams seem to be such a confusing area.

Has there been clear guidelines publish on dashcams? I've encountered situations where the Guards inform people that the recordings can be used and "they are grand" only to find out they are not grand, cannot be used as evidence and can actually be questioned severely to the point of being inadmissible.

Interested to know if there has been clear guildelines published about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

The other drivers insurance is going to cover the damage. So why are my insurance company insisting I have to fill it in.

They want to know your side of the story and who was driving the car and for what purpose the car was being used.
    No claim will be made against my policy.

Your insurance company is going through the standard procedure as they are well used to people telling them there will be no claim, I had the right of way, the other guy admitted liability etc. etc., then three months later the whiplash claim arrives.

If you felt there wasn't going to be a claim and you're not prepared to furnish them with a report then you shouldn't have bothered your arse telling them about the accident in the first place.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,773 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

TheDoc wrote: »
    Dashcams seem to be such a confusing area.

Has there been clear guidelines publish on dashcams? I've encountered situations where the Guards inform people that the recordings can be used and "they are grand" only to find out they are not grand, cannot be used as evidence and can actually be questioned severely to the point of being inadmissible.

Interested to know if there has been clear guildelines published about them.

The Gardaí are not appropriately qualified to give legal advice. They are not legal professionals.

There are no guidelines yet there are lots of guiding lines. It comes down to principles of evidence over which some constitutional concerns seem to be veneered. It's not a black-and-white area so it would be incorrect for anyone to say that dashcam evidence is generally admissible or inadmissible.

However, if dashcam footage is available that clearly displays who is at fault regarding an accident where liability is in dispute, then it ought to be admitted. There are a number of qualifiers in that sentence that mean such footage will not always be admitted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Your solicitor is wrong, or more likely, you misunderstood. You must comp,ete the accident report, even if the footage appeared on the RTE News from several angles.
    thebiglad wrote: »
    No they won't - that'll only happen if the claim is fault (and then it depends on cost).

Wrong. The insurer will load you whether at fault, or not, at least until the claim is cleared and settled. You will find it next to impossible to get insurance elsewhere. I am in this boat, where I am not at fault. Was rear ended and claim pending for serious injuries, yet my insurance is higher, due to outstanding claim on the other drivers policy....no claim against me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭NUTLEY BOY

You are obliged to complete the form irrespective of what you think about fault.

Your obligations arise under contract and the Road Traffic Act 1961 [or as amended].

BTW if you insist on NOT filling in the report form you might find that the insurer will not even issue you with an offer to renew your policy and that becomes a whole new box of frogs.