Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can you wear these shoes with jeans?

• 22-06-2015 8:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32

I was just browsing online for a pair of comfortable shoes for everyday use and came across the adidas zx flux mid in the grey colour. I cant post a url because im a new user but if you google them it should come up.

Theyre on sale at the moment so i thought I might pick them up. Usually I only wear canvas shoes but the fred perry ones I have at the moment are very uncomfortable for long use. I pretty much only wear jeans so would it look okay to wear these with jeans? And would ye recommend these or something else for both comfort and style?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I had a look and I definitely wouldn't advise wearing them with jeans. Trainers (as opposed to Converse or other canvas-type "runners") look absolutely awful with jeans, imo, sorry. Keep them for the gym and wear something else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭lizzyman

I tend to agree with dial hard. They can work with jeans but the guy in this pic is going for a very edgy streetwear kind of look. Would'nt be my cup of tea but you might like it.

If you're dead set on trainers maybe a pair of Adidas Sambas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Gallagher1

Adidas Gazelle og's always go well with jeans, surprisingly comfortable as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Sahil123

Thanks for the replies! Ya I thought the same thing myself but I find most canvas shoes very uncomfortable. Anyway I'll have a look at the gazelle og shoes. Any other recommendations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,747 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

Good shouts for Samba and Gazelle, classic look won't ever go out of style.
    If you are looking for the feel of a light running shoe style then I think the New Balance 410 is a nice shoe to go with a straight or slim leg jeans
    Grey wouldn't be my favourite colour for these but they are available

352853.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Sahil123 wrote: »
    Thanks for the replies! Ya I thought the same thing myself but I find most canvas shoes very uncomfortable. Anyway I'll have a look at the gazelle og shoes. Any other recommendations?

Why not get a pair of Timberland boots or similar?

Dial Hard wrote: »
    Why not get a pair of Timberland boots or similar?
    Are they comfy though? Comfort is the main reason I want to get new shoes.

Get a pair of padded insoles with an arch support and they'll be almost as comfortable as runners.

btw, what's up with the Fred Perrys that makes them so uncomfortable? I was often tempted to get a pair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭MinnieMinx

Seriously, why are you bothered about what some random online self appointed fashion police think?
    Buy shoes that you feel comfortable in rather than worrying about conforming to someone else's idea of style. Personally, I give a wide berth to people that judge others simply on the state of their apparel.

MinnieMinx wrote: »
    Seriously, why are you bothered about what some random online self appointed fashion police think?
    Buy shoes that you feel comfortable in rather than worrying about conforming to someone else's idea of style. Personally, I give a wide berth to people that judge others simply on the state of their apparel.

With all due respect what are you on about. This is/was a very friendly thread, nobody judged anybody, OP asked for advice and got it, he obviously wants his shoes and jeans to match, what's the problem.
    How did you even find the thread or the forum with that attitude?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭MinnieMinx

I'm not being 'unfriendly'. Quite the opposite, in fact.
    The OP wants to buy comfy shoes to wear with jeans and I'm suggesting they don't unduly worry about what anyone else thinks about their choice of clothing.
    Oh and people that start a sentence with 'with all due respect' seldom mean it. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 LaMoose

The runners you posted are made to be worn with jeans, they're not gym runners. They're nice but might be a bit out there imo depending on what you usually wear. You might come in for a bit of stick!

If you'd prefer something more conservative these are really nice and very comfortable: (can't link but look up Neighborhood ZX 500 OG Shoes on the adidas website.) Grey will go with anything really.

I agree with Minnieminx for the most part - wear what you like. I have god knows how many pairs of runners and I wear practically all of them with jeans and I'm a right fashionable b#stard. I would never, ever wear a pair of Timberland boots either but to each their own.

If you like them, buy them. Just be aware that your average Irish male has no fashion sense whatsoever and will probably judge you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 cmhmcnmr

i wouldnt personally wear those with jeans, maybe oxfords?

MinnieMinx wrote: »
    I'm not being 'unfriendly'. Quite the opposite, in fact.
    The OP wants to buy comfy shoes to wear with jeans and I'm suggesting they don't unduly worry about what anyone else thinks about their choice of clothing.
    Oh and people that start a sentence with 'with all due respect' seldom mean it. :-)

What is your understanding of 'with all due respect'?:p

Read your post again, you were quite insulting to the contributors to this thread in a roundabout way.
    No offence (is that ok?:pac:) I agree with you for the most part

LaMoose wrote: »
    The runners you posted are made to be worn with jeans, they're not gym runners. They're nice but might be a bit out there imo depending on what you usually wear. You might come in for a bit of stick!

If you'd prefer something more conservative these are really nice and very comfortable: (can't link but look up Neighborhood ZX 500 OG Shoes on the adidas website.) Grey will go with anything really.

I agree with Minnieminx for the most part - wear what you like. I have god knows how many pairs of runners and I wear practically all of them with jeans and I'm a right fashionable b#stard. I would never, ever wear a pair of Timberland boots either but to each their own.

If you like them, buy them. Just be aware that your average Irish male has no fashion sense whatsoever and will probably judge you!

Thanks for the reply! I had a look at the ones you said but unfortunately they're a bit too expensive for me (80 pounds in the UK) but I'll take what you said into account and see if I can maybe tone it down a bit and get shoes that don't stand out as much

cmhmcnmr wrote: »
    i wouldnt personally wear those with jeans, maybe oxfords?

I didn't even know what oxfords were till I googled it there! But honestly i'm only 20 and I usually dress very casually so I don't think i'll go for oxfords. But thanks for the recommendation anyway!

Alrite lads, Ive decided to shop around for the Gazelle OG ones and see if I can get them for a good price. If I can't find them though, I'm gonna go for these ones. I know they probably won't look that good with jeans but I guess ill use them more casually with sweatpants or something. Thanks for all your help!

Adidas Gazelle's are classic and will look great with jeans. I'd get a pair myself but I find them a bit too narrow fitting. The ones below would look great with jeans or chinos in my opinion and the colour is perfect for summer. If I remember rightly the Adidas.ie site does free returns and 15% off if you sign up to their newsletter.

adidas-gazelle-og-bleu-2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Bored_lad

Op if they are what you want and they fit your style go for it. They will suit a sort of street ware style and if that's what you wear then definitely get them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,123 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Ignoring the fact that someone on a fashion forum has questioned why we are giving advice about fashion, I actually think those Adidas are OK. I wouldn't wear them myself but they are definitely "a thing". It's more the younger generation, so if you are 30 forget about it. That said, I do see a few older "cool" guys who wear slim jeans, turn ups, and colourful runners. But you'd need to get the rest of the outfit right.

The New Balance are exactly what I see them wearing, so if you want to err on the side of caution you could go with them. They are definitely more 'casual' than 'gym'.

Edit - I've just seen you are 20. You can literally wear anything and get away with it. Fecker. :)

I have Gazelles but I do find them narrow as well, I'd recommend the Tobacco or Hamburg Adidas. The Hamburg are SO comfortable, and also come in a nice grey:

Adidas-Originals-Hamburg-Grey-Size-Exclusive.png

lizzyman wrote: »
    Get a pair of padded insoles with an arch support and they'll be almost as comfortable as runners.

btw, what's up with the Fred Perrys that makes them so uncomfortable? I was often tempted to get a pair.

I can't explain exactly what it is about them that makes them uncomfortable but they make my heels really sore after a while. I don't notice anything for a while but with long use it gets to a point where I have to take them off and walk around barefoot or sit down and take them off for a few mins for me to be able to walk. This is the first time I bought I pair of Fred Perry shoes and although they look really good (in my opinion), I won't be buying them again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

Sambas, Gazelles, classic Pumas etc. Or Converse Allstars. Or Vans, Airwalk type skate shoes. Anything else I don't like with jeans. Basically anything that looks like it was made pre 1980s. Just imo of course. I usually wear boots.

This thread has cost me 85 euros but it's money well spent:)
    Haven't had Gazelles in about 20 years but I got thinking while reading this and when I found myself in Schuh this morning I couldn't resist it:o

353153.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

This thread has cost me 85 euros but it's money well spent:)
    Haven't had Gazelles in about 20 years but I got thinking while reading this and when I found myself in Schuh this morning I couldn't resist it:o

353153.jpg

Gazelles eh? 20 years eh? Oasis or Blur?

il gatto wrote: »
    Gazelles eh? 20 years eh? Oasis or Blur?

Both really but Blur were number 1 for me. Back then I would have worn them with trousers that I altered myself to make a huge flare. I've had a trainer fetish ever since but I'm pretty sure Gazelles disappeared off the shelves for a long time.

Do you find them a narrow fit? I used to have a pair of white and red Adidas, almost identical to the ones Freddy Mercury wore at Live Aid and they were one of the most comfortable trainers I've ever owned. Ordered a similar pair from the Adidas website earlier this year and had to return them. Extremely narrow and uncomfortable.

I had sambas back in the 90s, green ones, then navy ones. I used to wear them with big baggy jeans and loose fitting t shirts. Fancied myself as a bit of a skater / raver. Didn't skate or rave. Well, we went to the System loads and all the other clubs. I was a big Oasis fan in '94, got more into dance and funk in 95 - 96 (drum n bass especially) and got back into Oasis for Be Here Now, which I still love.

I liked Blur's first album (I still have my 12" of There's No Other Way) but didn't go beyond that. It was Oasis, not Blur for me.

What this has to do with shoes and jeans I've no idea. I did recently "copy" this Liam Gallagher look from 97, big navy parka, dark jeans, and light blue Gazelles: 4524466335.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

Had a couple of pairs of navy Samba Super Suedes back in the 90s too, good times.

Bought some SL72s recently but returned them, just wasn't feeling them.

Last couple of pairs I've bought are Nike Internationalists. A plain grey pair and a grey polka dot pair. They're fairly comfy.

Went to buy some New Balances a couple of years back, before everyone bought them I must add, but the fit didn't work for me to my disappointment. They jump from 45 to 46.5 in Euro sizing if I remember correctly. So they were either slightly too small or slightly too big :(

eviltimeban, Damon from Blur almost singlehandedly pushed trainers to the very forefront of indie fashion, before that we were all going around in docs and German Army parka jackets, I think that's why this thread veered off course briefly. I know the stone roses etc were around before that but Blur brought it mainstream.

Lizzyman, I much prefer a narrow shoe in the style of a Gazelle than a very round toe like you'd see on Vans or the old skateboard classics. You could look at the Adidas Etrusco, lovely trainers and may be more your style, I have quite narrow feet I think.

I've had loads of Adidas over the years, the three stripes will never be beat for style.

eviltimeban, Damon from Blur almost singlehandedly pushed trainers to the very forefront of indie fashion

Nonsense! :) JK from Jamiroquai was wearing Gazelles while Damon was still in his 14 hole oxbloods!

Yeah, and he was wearing those funny hats as well, pity they never caught on.:pac: To be honest Jay Kay never influenced me or my set at the time, but when I saw Damon in his various coloured Puma Suedes I was hooked:P, never looked back. I currently have about twenty pairs of trainers, some I wear for everyday use, others make rare appearances.

I was into that look (the Jamiroquai look) - not the big hats but the loose clothes, big jeans, and skater / surfer style thing.

The style in this video from '95 sort of informed my 1995 look - impressionably 20 year old that I was!

Thank you. I feel less bad about about my shoe collection now.

Anyone ever fancy a pair of Suede Wallabees after seeing them on the cover of the Verve's Urban Hymns?

Thank you. I feel less bad about about my shoe collection now.

Anyone ever fancy a pair of Suede Wallabees after seeing them on the cover of the Verve's Urban Hymns?

I had a pair! I loved the old style wallabies, had them up to about 2002 or 2003 I think, and they changed the style. Pity they never went back to the old style.

This thread is fast becoming a shoe thread!

I never realised they changed the style. Is there a big difference?

I'm remembering a different type of shoe, it was more like a shoe than a boot. I'll try and find a picture.