Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brown Stuff 400 audax, July 25

• 22-06-2015 2:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭

Back in Ireland a couple of weeks earlier than planned, so I'm thinking about doing this. Anyone taken part in the last few years? What sort of time would be realistic for this sort of thing? My max distance is about 230km, so I'm also thinking 400km will require a different style of riding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

You picked a tough 400km to start with! I think there is circa 5000m climbing.

If you are very strong you might average 24km/h moving which would take 16h 40 mins plus how long you are stopped for. On long rides I don't stop much but it is hard enough to keep stopped time under 2 hrs even with no mechanicals, giving you 18h 30mins with everything going well. On a 400 in Mayo I was moving for 15:52 with a total time of 17:37, that route was very easy compared to BS. On National 600 riding with one other we were at sleeping control at 391km in 14:02 and total 15:52, again an easy route with good surfaces and other than a snapped gear cable no delays(which wasn't a delay as I didn't stop at control 20km from where I repaired bike), we didn't hang about at stops much. If I get to do it I'd be delighted being finished in 20hrs, but I'd be prepared for a longer day.

Have a look on audax ireland website, some good info on; night riding, increasing distance, gear etc. Have a look on yacf.co.uk (Freakville, but fairly knowledgeable Freakville!) also

You'll also have to be prepared to ride a lot of route solo. On the Mayo 400 I did 200 of it solo which is not unusual

Maybe really strong guys could average a faster moving time, but with that route, those guys are pretty scarce. I can think of a few who would but they'd be the strongest guys riding audax.

You have to figure you'll probably have to carry extra clothing, spares, food etc which adds to weight and hence time on a very hilly route.

Give it a go, maybe do a 200km first, you might pick up a thing or two on gear, strategy from other riders which might help you.

Best of luck with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,065 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I would have above average endurance and have done probably 10 or so 300+ rides on mixed terrain but I would baulk at doing a 400k which plots it way from one peak to another.

It would take a serious amount of mental stamina and is for the true hard men of Audax (..and of course Nameless Phil). With the small numbers riding it, and the distance involved, you'll more than likely be on your own for hours on end and that's before you factor in inclement weather which could lead to a miserable day and night in the saddle. Think of it as doing the Wicklow 200 twice over, without the crowds, atmosphere and food stops.

You might be better off doing a couple of 300's first and then a fairly flat 400k before taking the plunge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,065 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Just thinking that on the same day (25th July) a few of the lads here are doing the Boards.ie Evil 200 which is about 250k with approx 4,500m of climbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭NamelessPhil

You have 27 hours to finish a 400, usually from 6am to 9am the following morning.

I did the REK 400 last year and it took me 21 and a half hours to complete with 17:04 moving time, average speed of 24.2 for 4,668m climbing. I expect the Brown Stuff to take me at least 20 hours moving.

I've signed up for this. There are still places left if anyone else is interested. The organiser suggested that I bring a friend, I reckon I won't have any friends left if they came along! So is anyone else up for 400km and at least 5000+m climbing?

http://www.audaxireland.org/calendar/gazetteer/400km-events/brown-stuff-400

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭OleRodrigo

Yep, I'm in.

It's twice the distance of the Evil 200 and you get to climb Mount Leinster!

OleRodrigo wrote: »
    Yep, I'm in.

Are you doing it fixed?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭OleRodrigo

Are you doing it fixed?:D

Ha...no :D

I've signed up for this. There are still places left if anyone else is interested. The organiser suggested that I bring a friend, I reckon I won't have any friends left if they came along! So is anyone else up for 400km and at least 5000+m climbing?

http://www.audaxireland.org/calendar/gazetteer/400km-events/brown-stuff-400

Just signed up. May ride from Clonmel so youll have a friend for half it. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Bloggsie

you are all bloody mad! I admire your commitment & fitness both mental & physical, but your feckin nuts!

ford2600 wrote: »
    Just signed up. May ride from Clonmel so youll have a friend for half it. :-)

Work not cooperating so won't get to ride this. Enjoy the suffering...

I'll ride the more civilised Pink Elephant 200 on Sunday

Back and in one piece. It was tough but most of the climbing is in the first 200. Corrabut Gap on Mount Leinster was hard, mostly because of the flies trying to land on me! I've never cycled up Mount Leinster before but doing it immediately after Sally Gap, Shay Elliott and Slieve Maan was hard.

Dry from 6am to 6pm and then showers from Carrick on Suir to Urlingford and then the rain came down hard at 3am until the finish at least I had a tailwind for most of the way back. Dozed in a ditch between 3am and 4am, I couldn't sleep properly because of the sound of dripping rain on the space blanket! Felt like ****e for the first 200 and then felt mostly grand but slow for the second 200.

https://www.strava.com/activities/354563361