Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny v Wexford LHSC Semi-Final

• 21-06-2015 12:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭

Hon the Wexicans

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,182 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

This is over already....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

That's that anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Wexford's full back line in a world of bother.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,479 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Should really have been a third goal. No idea why that was disallowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Our full back line is all over the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,243 ✭✭✭zetecescort

They haven't gone away y'know! (the feckers :))

Wexfords touch and control is almost non existent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭BigCon

Should really have been a third goal. No idea why that was disallowed.

Square ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Anyone else think the jersies aren't the clearest in terms of colour-clash ?

Seems to be a lot of yellow in both.

We need a goal from this purple patch

Better period now for wexford

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 820 ✭✭✭BunkMoreland

Wexford forward fouled before that penalty was awarded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

3-6, all from play says Marty.

They scored a penalty..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Wexford wide count is absolutely infuriating as a neutral. Almost cost them against Clare last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Very Bored

The goals are putting a gloss on the Kilkenny performance that isn't really deserved. Its been a far from satisfactory Kilkenny performance to be honest. Wexford have been disappointing too, I thought they would be stronger than this though they have shown great mental character to keep plugging away despite conceding three goals in one half, particularly as one of them was due to a defensive calamity.

Kilkenny look like they're playing with an extra man, Gulf in class very evident

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,479 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

BigCon wrote: »
    Square ball
    Always thought it was when a player from the same team played the ball into the square. Obviously doesn't matter who plays it into the square for it to be a square ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭closeline

Wexford shocking. Desperate on the ball making poor use of it. Sidelines atrocious. And they have the wind against them now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Richie Hogan is pure class, he always seems to be able to get a bit of space for himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,681 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Any of the teams in the qualifers with the exception of Laois,Offaly and Westmeath would give Wexford a good game and may well beat them

Liam dunnes time may be at an end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Nib wrote: »
    3-6, all from play says Marty.

They scored a penalty..

I don't know which is more frustrating...the wexford first touch / decision making or listening to Marty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭closeline

No 17 what is he doing... Ridiculous shooting..

They seem to have no interest in getting it to McDonald and McGovern.

Serious serious question marks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,681 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Galways all ireland this year would not surprise me if its a waterford vs Galway all Ireland final but probe a tipp/Kilkenny final once again

Galway will win Leinster

Hard to say for sure whose Leinster it is nevermind who will win the All Ireland. Personally, I think Kilkenny are playing within themselves as they know they have the measure of Wexford and don't want to show their hand too early.

Wexford first touch is a disgrace

Done with it... Wexford are woeful though TJ fairly milked the steps there, was a free out for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

****sake Wexford. That's embarrassing.

Absolutely atrocious

Feel the Kilkenny performance has stepped up since half time. Feel sorry for Wexford, I've great time for the Wexford support who I think are amongst the most astute judges of hurling in the country. Sad to see what has happened to hurling down there especially when they had shown signs of development in the last twelve months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 southstand

I knew it was game over when Wexford had that goal chance early in the first half and messed it up, KK went straight up and scored a goal with ease.
    KK have been going through the motions since

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,446 ✭✭✭glued

No test for Kilkenny at all today. Some real comedic errors from Wexford. Hard to see how Liam Dunne can lift the heads after that. Jack Guiney is a massive loss but he wouldn't of stopped what happened today. Hard to believe it but Wexford have taken a huge step back. Was hoping for more of a game than this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

I refuse to buy this 'Wexford are back' stuff.

I hope there's at least a week, if not two, of club league games scheduled before the Leinster final as, no disrespect to Wexford, this is no preparation for Galway.

Rightwing wrote: »
    I refuse to buy this 'Wexford are back' stuff.

I don't think we're buying it down here in wexford either, Liam has taken this team as far as he can time to go now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 southstand

Galway have had two cake walks aswel so both teams in same boat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,932 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Very poor from Wexford today, Comical stuff at the back, People will rave about KK and to be fair they've been impressive but honestly i think it's more down to how poor Wexford have been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

hard to see anyone living with KK playing at this level

I'd agree with you Dick Phelan. I don't think Kilkenny gave a full account of themselves. Not even close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭An Ciarraioch

I don't think we're buying it down here in wexford either, Liam has taken this team as far as he can time to go now

Looking on as a "football man", it seems that KK and Galway are dominant to a Kerry & Cork extent, with Wexford, Dublin, Offaly and Laois scrapping it out on the next rung. Of course, Wexford should have the talent to make it a closer game, but does that owe more to management or the squad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

I certainly wouldn't class KK and Galway as a Cork and Kerry in Munster football.

Galway were lucky to get a draw the first day with Dublin and the early goals killed Dublin the second day, who missed their all star full back badly

KK will hammer Galway in the final

kilns wrote: »
    Galway were lucky to get a draw the first day with Dublin and the early goals killed Dublin the second day, who missed their all star full back badly

And I can argue that Dublin were lucky in the draw that Galway butchered 7/8 goal chances and replicated that again in the replay but converted those chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Supra lover 87

theres four teams in this championship for me which is kilkenny , tipp , waterford (depending on how the winning streak will last for waterford ) and then galway and that again will show by how good the play against kilkenny to be fair.

I've yet to be convinced Waterford won't crack when the real pressure is on in August or September if they get that far. I think Limerick have a fair chance but today will show whether I'm right or not on that. They had a shocking first match out against Clare but anyone can play badly once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,712 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Very poor from Wexford today, Comical stuff at the back, People will rave about KK and to be fair they've been impressive but honestly i think it's more down to how poor Wexford have been.

Wexford's touch was awful. Rarely seen a team give away the ball so cheaply. Wrong team to do it against as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Think Loughnan hit the nail right on the head.

He commented that both teams have huge physical men but the giants for KK play/played with the touch and speed of a player like Richie Hogan/Tommy Walsh whereas Wexford's were quite cumbersome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭skaface

Very Bored wrote: »
    I've yet to be convinced Waterford won't crack when the real pressure is on in August or September if they get that far. I think Limerick have a fair chance but today will show whether I'm right or not on that. They had a shocking first match out against Clare but anyone can play badly once.

This Waterford team won't crack, no pressure on us this year.. Lge champions, in a Munster final and in the Q final at least.. We will only get better in the next few years.

Hugely disappointing performance from Wexford. Didn't expect them to win but they were almost comically bad and incredibly naive. A year is a long time in hurling. Wexford beat Waterford less than a year ago and looked to be making big strides. Lots of youth in the Wexford team but that will knock them back a long way.

Kilkenny were ruthless as they always were, backline weren't really tested and after 10 minutes Wexford had accepted their fate. Kilkenny laid down a marker but its been a disappointing weekend for the hurling championship.

There's huge pressure on Waterford. Always is. They haven't won an All Ireland in donkey's years whilst their nearest neighbours have won it left, right and centre. The desire for an All Ireland in Waterford is overwhelming and that in itself is massive pressure. Its one thing to win a league and perhaps a Munster, its entirely another thing doing it in August and September. Perhaps I'm wrong and this team will be the one to do it but I have yet to be convinced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,932 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Very Bored wrote: »
    There's huge pressure on Waterford. Always is. They haven't won an All Ireland in donkey's years whilst their nearest neighbours have won it left, right and centre. The desire for an All Ireland in Waterford is overwhelming and that in itself is massive pressure. Its one thing to win a league and perhaps a Munster, its entirely another thing doing it in August and September. Perhaps I'm wrong and this team will be the one to do it but I have yet to be convinced.

No there really isn't, Ye we haven't won a AI in years but absolutely nobody in Waterford was thinking that would change this year nor did anyone really give us a chance at Munster. There isn't much pressure on them because even if they are beaten in the Munster Final people can clearly see they are going in the right direction which after last year's disaster has gone far beyond our expectations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

Boom__Boom wrote: »
    Anyone else think the jersies aren't the clearest in terms of colour-clash ?

Seems to be a lot of yellow in both.

I'd say Buckley would back you up on that. :eek: