Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ESB and Water on outfarm

• 19-06-2015 02:17PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭

Lads - I'm thinking of getting power and water to an outfarm. Do ye know if anyone supplies this service as an all in one package, or do I need to arrange:

1) A well bored
    2) A pump house built
    3) ESB installed
    4) A pump installed

Anyone know if one supplier does all?

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

cost you close on 1300 for esb connection alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,281 ✭✭✭zetecescort

cost you close on 1300 for esb connection alone

And be hit with the low usage charge. Paying €60-70 every 2 months for using around €15 worth of units:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

Might seem like a silly question but do you need them what are you putting there.
    I have an outfarm with no esb or water and plan to use a solar electric fence and dig out an old spring and use gravity flow or a pasture pump for water for cattle.
    Any other work I can just use a generator.
    I thought about going your route but couldn't justify the esb standing order charge for a few cattle if its not needed.
    You could be talking up to 10 grand + 1000 every year after

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭locha

Did it last year. ESB 750. Well dug and pump installed to 200ft - 4k + VAT. Built pump house myself. You also need to get electrician to sign off on it. I did it on 60 acre out farm- should have done it 20 years ago...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

locha wrote: »
    Did it last year. ESB 750. Well dug and pump installed to 200ft - 4k + VAT. Built pump house myself. You also need to get electrician to sign off on it. I did it on 60 acre out farm- should have done it 20 years ago...

Do you mind me asking what did you do before hand had you water on the farm or did you draw it in and how did fencing work .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

locha wrote: »

how did you manage esb for €750?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

form for connections like fencers & things less than 2k

https://www.esb.ie/esbnetworks/en/commercial-downloads/NC4.pdf

hth

djmc wrote: »
    Do you mind me asking what did you do before hand had you water on the farm or did you draw it in and how did fencing work .

Drew water with a tanker and was getting some from a well that always let me down at various stages. Honestly I should have done it years ago.

Didn't manage - it was what I was quoted for getting the pole up and link to the pump house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Isn't cost of connection associated with distance and number of poles needed to get to the new site?