Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryanair no passport

• 16-06-2015 1:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭

I'm flying to UK in 6 weeks time, just realised that my UK passport expires at end of month. As I live in Dublin I have to use the Overseas Passport system which takes 6 weeks instead of the normal 3 weeks from the Uk. Previous posts have said that Ryanair only accepts passports for travel. But their website indicates that Photo-ID is accepted (see attached). I have a driving licence and Social Welfare card which are official photo-id documents. Does anyone know what the story is?
    Ryanair.JPG

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Passport only I'm afraid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭sillysocks

They've a live chat section on their website now which I found very helpful. Maybe ask there for accurate info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭Sheldons Brain

Only passports, this is not an internal UK flight.

Could you get a passport in the north or are you restricted to the overseas process?
    http://www.nidirect.gov.uk/her-majestys-passport-office-northern-ireland-regional-office

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭superb choice of username

if they are insistent on passport, then you have two options:
    1) get emergency passport from UK embassy in Dublin (expensive)
    2) if you know anyone in Northern Ireland, you can have the UK passport delivered there. Renew the normal way. If really urgent, you can make appointment to go to Belfast passport office and do the fasttrack option

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

sillysocks wrote: »
    They've a live chat section on their website now which I found very helpful. Maybe ask there for accurate info.

This is a frequently asked question on here and the replies given are accurate. Ryanair only accepts valid passports or official national identity cards (issued by some countries) for non domestic travel.

OP consider rebooking with another airline or ferry company as they don't require a passport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,927 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

other option, choose one of the other airlines (or ferry companies) which do not require a passport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Rather than relying on Ryanair, I'd try ringing the Embassy in Dublin to see if there is any fast-track process in place. Seeing as you live in the Republic I'd imagine that you probably couldn't, but check to see if there any way that you could travel up to Belfast and renew it there: https://www.gov.uk/get-a-passport-urgently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭armstrongracer

Tried other options but I'm flying there and back in a day and only Ryanair's times suited. Have to do the express option. It's still way cheaper than getting an Irish passport (I qualify for both). In the past I've done the whole process at the Embassy in Dublin but the website only seems to give the postal option now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭anvilfour

if they are insistent on passport, then you have two options:
    1) get emergency passport from UK embassy in Dublin (expensive)
    2) if you know anyone in Northern Ireland, you can have the UK passport delivered there. Renew the normal way. If really urgent, you can make appointment to go to Belfast passport office and do the fasttrack option

Good idea!

You can also pay for a Premium service to receive your passport within 4 hours:

https://www.gov.uk/get-a-passport-urgently

I think when the time comes I'll just pop up to Belfast and have it done there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭Gatica

athtrasna wrote: »
    This is a frequently asked question on here and the replies given are accurate. Ryanair only accepts valid passports or official national identity cards (issued by some countries) for non domestic travel.

OP consider rebooking with another airline or ferry company as they don't require a passport

as above... Ireland and the UK do NOT have a national ID card. The licences and work-type IDs don't count. The IDs that Ryanair mention on their website are the EEA national IDs. They're equivalent to a passport/Social security card in one.

Gatica wrote: »
    as above... Ireland and the UK do NOT have a national ID card. The licences and work-type IDs don't count. The IDs that Ryanair mention on their website are the EEA national IDs. They're equivalent to a passport/Social security card in one.
    not yet, but Ireland will have a passport card avalable within weeks !

just read that on the wiki! That's great.... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,824 ✭✭✭billie1b

I'm flying to UK in 6 weeks time, just realised that my UK passport expires at end of month. As I live in Dublin I have to use the Overseas Passport system which takes 6 weeks instead of the normal 3 weeks from the Uk. Previous posts have said that Ryanair only accepts passports for travel. But their website indicates that Photo-ID is accepted (see attached). I have a driving licence and Social Welfare card which are official photo-id documents. Does anyone know what the story is?
    Ryanair.JPG

A driving licence is not an official form of documentation for travelling abroad with, its only a document used to permit the holder to drive a vehicle of which category it states. A driving licence is not even to be used to buy cigarettes, alcohol or other items that you need to prove age identity but as usual in Ireland we have the 'sure fook it its grand attitude'.

It's not that odd that people assume it can be used as ID, since Irish citizens can travel to the UK on almost any ID and be allowed into the country. Most countries also accept driver's licence as proof of age for alcohol and cigarettes. It's only in Ireland that they can insist on the garda age card (which if you're foreign, how would you even have one?!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,445 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

not yet, but Ireland will have a passport card avalable within weeks !

Not until the end of September unfortunately.

https://www.dfa.ie/passports-citizenship/top-passport-questions/new-passport-card/
    Passport Card

A new Irish Passport Card, which will be accepted for travel within the European Union and the European Economic Area and will be available from the end of September.
    In January the Minister launched the Passport Card and gave the target date of availability as July 2015. However to improve the durability of the card it was necessary to alter the polycarbonate structure of the card. This will mean that the card issued to the public meets the highest international standards of polycarbonate cards. It has led to a slight lengthening in the time it is taking to manufacture the card and the new target date of issue now mid to end September.

The passport card will be available to all Irish citizens who are over 18 years and hold a valid Irish Passport. The card will have a maximum validity of 5 years (or the remaining validity of an individual’s passport book) and will cost €35.

The security features of the card have incorporated the advice of security experts including An Garda Síochána. One innovative feature of note is the embedded hologram photo on a strip on the reverse of the card. This is the first occasion on which this security feature will be used on travel documents.

About the Passport Card
    • You must be over 18 to apply for a Passport Card
    • You must be in possession of your valid Passport book in order to apply for a Passport Card
    • Your Passport must have a minimum of 30 days validity remaining
    • When completing your online Passport Card application details must appear exactly as they appear on your Passport book
    • The Passport Card has a maximum validity of 5 years or the remaining validity of your current Passport book
    • Application fee €35 plus credit card transition
    • You can only apply online or through the free app on your phone or tablet
    • Payment by credit/debit card only

How long is the Passport Card valid for?
    The Passport Card has a maximum validity of 5 years or the remaining validity of your current Passport book i.e. the card cannot exceed the validity of your Passport book.

That is just stupid. I thought the two were independent of each other. It means every time you get your passport you gotta fork out extra to get the card too at the same time. The EU IDs are valid for 10 years and independent of your passport.

From the very outset it was made clear that you would have to have a passport already to avail of the passport card.

Not sure how you got the impression that it would be otherwise.

I didn't know Ireland was introducing these ID cards. I had no expectation of them other than when they'd be introduced, that they would be similar to the way the other EU countries issue ID cards. I think that's pretty normal expectation considering over a dozen countries do it differently... and vast majority for 10 years, and none from the wiki link seem to rely on passport validity other than Ireland. Other than its size, it seem to kinda beat the purpose of the ID card. In the countries that I'm aware of, you'd have the ID independent of and often instead of a passport, as there's no requirement to own a passport and you can travel with it between most continental EU countries.

I don't know if that has to do with getting at least some revenue from people obtaining passports to obtain an ID card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭etoughguy

sillysocks wrote: »

They do indeed and I used it for a passport related question recently, good advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

I didn't know Ireland was introducing these ID cards. I had no expectation of them other than when they'd be introduced, that they would be similar to the way the other EU countries issue ID cards. I think that's pretty normal expectation considering over a dozen countries do it differently... and vast majority for 10 years, and none from the wiki link seem to rely on passport validity other than Ireland. Other than its size, it seem to kinda beat the purpose of the ID card. In the countries that I'm aware of, you'd have the ID independent of and often instead of a passport, as there's no requirement to own a passport and you can travel with it between most continental EU countries.

I don't know if that has to do with getting at least some revenue from people obtaining passports to obtain an ID card.

They're not ID cards, they're passport cards. Very different use here to other EU countries.
    The reason i'm presuming they've been brought in is because the Passport Office is sick of students losing them while out getting drunk as they've been using them for ID instead of the Garda Age Card. They can now use this card which is easier to carry and should be harder to lose, it also means that if it's lost there will still be a passport presumably in the person's possession.

oh, that's a shame then.
    Considering losing a passport is such a big deal, it would mean losing a passport card is also gonna be a big deal. ...plus, the Garda age cards cost considerably less at 10 or so Euro.

oh, that's a shame then.
    Considering losing a passport is such a big deal, it would mean losing a passport card is also gonna be a big deal. ...plus, the Garda age cards cost considerably less at 10 or so Euro.
    garda age cards are no use to anyone abroad, or anyone trying to get abroad.

by rights there should be a normal id card (so rebranding Garda Card as "ID card") for everyone.

But a passport card is not the worst idea and it could be Ireland leading the way once again. For many non EU destinations you no longer get a stamp on entry and the chip is the important feature, so this could be the way forward in general.
    Personally I'd be happy to take a passport card over papery yoke any day, i.e. have the card as the principal document and have the paper passport as a premium optional extra for travel to strange exotic countries that only backbackers or missionarys see anyhow (a sweeping generalisation, but not far off the truth)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

billie1b wrote: »
    A driving licence is not an official form of documentation for travelling abroad with, its only a document used to permit the holder to drive a vehicle of which category it states. A driving licence is not even to be used to buy cigarettes, alcohol or other items that you need to prove age identity but as usual in Ireland we have the 'sure fook it its grand attitude'.

Yeah it is! When travelling within the common travel area, borders permit travellers resident in one of the member countries to travel with just a driver's license (or one of many other documents other than passports/national identity cards).

It's only Ryanair being a pain because they don't want to have to train staff to be able to read multiple ID types so they introduce their own blanket rule.

But a passport card is not the worst idea and it could be Ireland leading the way once again.

I'm sorry I don't understand?

It may be an ID under another name, but it's still ID. Other countries have had it for many years, Ireland is only just starting to roll it out (postponed so far) this year. The EU ID can be used to travel between most EU countries instead of a passport, so I don't see how this passport card is revolutionising anything.

I'm sorry I don't understand?

It may be an ID under another name, but it's still ID. Other countries have had it for many years, Ireland is only just starting to roll it out (postponed so far) this year. The EU ID can be used to travel between most EU countries instead of a passport, so I don't see how this passport card is revolutionising anything.

It's not a national identity card, just a passport facsimile without the visa pages.

I understand what the card is, I don't understand how Ireland is leading the way, and how it's doing so "again". It may be the first to create a card version of the passport, but I don't see the upside of that over what the other EU countries have.
    Sorry for going off topic, OP. I'm gonna leave it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

I understand what the card is, I don't understand how Ireland is leading the way, and how it's doing so "again". It may be the first to create a card version of the passport, but I don't see the upside of that over what the other EU countries have.

Because the UK tried to implement an ID Card some years back and made a complete balls of it, many people going from the UK to the Netherlands were stuffed, with the Dutch Authorities not even knowing what it was.

With the Passport card they don't have to change any arrangements and is accepted in the EU/EEA Area.

Personally I think it's fantastic, I'm living abroad some years now and in many countries it's legally required to carry identification with you (i.e. you need to be able to identify yourself if challenged)

I never carry my Passport around except when driving to work (as I cross a border)

This way I can keep a mini copy of my passport in my wallet and also have something to use when waiting for my new passport if I somehow lose it.

Losing a passport for me now would be a complete balls, I don't live in Ireland and if I was somewhere like Spain (i.e. not feasible to get back to the Netherlands by land) it could turn out to be very expensive.

ok, with "again" I mean that a little country like Ireland is leading the way like it did with the smoking ban, environmental charge on plastic bags and even the recent gay marraige referendum which has made Germany sit up and put that issue at the top of the agenda.

Ireland is now going to be the first country in the world to introduce a credit card format of a passport.

If Ireland introduces the passport card successfully then its a successful proof of concept that is likely to be copied by other countries.

snip

This way I can keep a mini copy of my passport in my wallet and also have something to use when waiting for my new passport if I somehow lose it.

snip

Just an FYI on this. The new passport card would probably become cancelled electronically when your book passport gets blocked.
    Of course if won't suddenly self-combust so should work as visual ID when checked by a cop or whatever. But try to get it scanned through a border - problems perhaps.

enda1 wrote: »
    Just an FYI on this. The new passport card would probably become cancelled electronically when your book passport gets blocked.
    Of course if won't suddenly self-combust so should work as visual ID when checked by a cop or whatever. But try to get it scanned through a border - problems perhaps.

There is no border control between the Schengen Countries, it's visual inspection only.

I never said otherwise.
    All police officers in the Shengen area though are border officials and hve the right to see your ID and run it through their system. The point is the passport card will I think be voided with the passport book so it would not be considered ID any longer.

Also the UK and Ireland and a few other places are not in Shengen but accept national ID card and will accept this passport card. Maybe Turkey too??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,824 ✭✭✭billie1b

Yeah it is!

NO, its not!!

I never said otherwise.
    All police officers in the Shengen area though are border officials and hve the right to see your ID and run it through their system. The point is the passport card will I think be voided with the passport book so it would not be considered ID any longer.

Also the UK and Ireland and a few other places are not in Shengen but accept national ID card and will accept this passport card. Maybe Turkey too??

No, there is no border control you walk out of the airport, your ID is only necessary for checking in with the airline.

If for example you get stopped at the road border crossing between NL/DE a Photocopy of your passport is enough, but to fly you need a physical ID (Passport/ID Card)

The Passport ID Card is only Valid in EU/EEA as far as I know as visiting other countries such as Turkey there would be nowhere to stamp on arrival

No, there is no border control you walk out of the airport, your ID is only necessary for checking in with the airline.

If for example you get stopped at the road border crossing between NL/DE a Photocopy of your passport is enough, but to fly you need a physical ID (Passport/ID Card)

The Passport ID Card is only Valid in EU/EEA as far as I know as visiting other countries such as Turkey there would be nowhere to stamp on arrival

You're misunderstanding. An invalid passport book will invalidate a passport card. Of course a cursory glance will not tell this.

I know there is no border check between Schengen countries when travelling. I live between France and Italy, travelling between them very regularly!

However, police officers of both countries have the right to demand ID as a spot check on the street, in an airport, wherever, and to check your ID for validity. A passport card which accompanies an invalid passport book would not be a valid ID and could lead to problems.

There are many non Schengen counties in the EEA also.

That's true regarding Turkey for the moment. I know they accept French National ID cards as the French don't need a visa. There has been talk of Ireland and Turkey improving relations to the goal of visa free travel and in that case perhaps there would be an eventual acceptance of the passport card - but not yet.

billie1b wrote: »
    NO, its not!!

Pantomime is it?

Please try to prove to me that a driving license alone will not be sufficient for entry from the UK to Ireland (discounting Ryanair's own rules).

Pantomime is it?

Please try to prove to me that a driving license alone will not be sufficient for entry from the UK to Ireland (discounting Ryanair's own rules).

There is no Border Control for entry into the UK you just show your plane ticket, if you are not EU/EEA though you need to carry a passport or European Permanent Residents card.

They have thankfully proper segregation. But the airline is tasked with determining you have sufficient documentation to allow entry. Like I said though, landing in Ireland a driving license is enough.

This is not correct for travel within the Common Travel Area.

Citizens of Ireland and the UK need some form of photo ID from the following list:

- Valid Passport
    - Driver's licence with photo
    - International student card
    - National ID card / Government issued photo ID cards
    - Health Insurance cards with photo / Social security cards with photo
    - Bus pass with photo
    - Work ID with photo

Ryanair will only accept a passport for UK and Irish citizens.

Anyone from another country needs a passport or valid EU National ID card.

There are random UK Border Agency checks at UK airports and ports. I've had full ID checks by the UK Border Agency upon landing at London City Airport recently - a ticket would not suffice.

I think people need to make clear in their posts in this discussion what area of Europe they are talking about travel between, as different rules apply, and people are getting wires crossed.

lxflyer wrote: »
    This is not correct for travel within the Common Travel Area.

Citizens of Ireland and the UK need some form of photo ID from the following list:

- Valid Passport
    - Driver's licence with photo
    - International student card
    - National ID card / Government issued photo ID cards
    - Health Insurance cards with photo / Social security cards with photo
    - Bus pass with photo
    - Work ID with photo

Ryanair will only accept a passport for UK and Irish citizens.

Anyone from another country needs a passport or valid EU National ID card.

There are random UK Border Agency checks at UK airports and ports. I've had full ID checks by the UK Border Agency upon landing at London City Airport recently - a ticket would not suffice.

I think people need to make clear in their posts in this discussion what area of Europe they are talking about travel between, as different rules apply, and people are getting wires crossed.

Shared Terminal you were mixing with Passengers from the non Common Travel Area.

Same as before Schiphol had the M Terminal and Schengen passengers sometimes mixed with International Passengers in the D Terminal. Photo ID is to show you are who you say you are on the ticket stub.

BTW an EU National ID is not the same as an EU Permanent Residence card.

I've flown many times to the UK and shown no ID at all upon arrival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

Shared Terminal you were mixing with Passengers from the non Common Travel Area.

Same as before Schiphol had the M Terminal and Schengen passengers sometimes mixed with International Passengers in the D Terminal. Photo ID is to show you are who you say you are on the ticket stub.

And I've flown many times and was forced to show ID. In fact, at my last flight, I was asked to show another form of ID on top of my passport because they were not content that it was me. I was also searched.
    I will be travelling by ferry in two weeks, with my Driving Licence as the accepted form of ID.

No, again that is not correct. UK and Ireland arrivals have a specific entry into the baggage hall at London City Airport.

I've not had a check into London City Airport before, and use it frequency enough, and clearly UK Border Agency are implementing random checks. Just because you have not had one doesn't mean that they don't happen, and that you don't have to bring the relevant ID.

You do need some form of photo ID from the list above. A ticket will not be sufficient.

lxflyer wrote: »
    No, again that is not correct. UK and Ireland arrivals have a specific entry into the baggage hall at London City Airport.

I've not had a check into London City Airport before, and use it frequency enough, and clearly UK Border Agency are implementing random checks. Just because you have not had one doesn't mean that they don't happen, and that you don't have to bring the relevant ID.

You do need some form of photo ID from the list above. A ticket will not be sufficient.

Your list is for Irish/UK Citizen, but the ID Mentioned doesn't prove you are an Irish/UK Citizen.

There are four separate things:

The Identification for the flight
    Arriving from a UK/Republic of Ireland Flight (physical separation in the terminal)
    Entry into the UK (Border control)
    Right to be in the UK (On demand identification requirement)

The first is just an Airline requirement

On the second you only need to prove you came from an airport in the common travel area, if you mix with non common travel area passengers then there's a check to prove you are who you say you are on the ticket, hence why you need photo ID

Entry Into the UK/Right to be in the UK
    People who have a Visa for Ireland may not necessarily have a Visa for the UK, so you either need a Passport with the Relevant visa or an EU Permanent Residents Card (stamp 4 EU-FAM)

The last one only really happens if you don't look/sound like you are from the UK/Ireland and you must be accompanied by a European Citizen.

Also Border Control in the UK are not just at the Airport, they can stop you outside the Airport as well and check you have the right to be in the UK, there are cases of people traveling from the Republic to the North and they had problems.

In any case, in Principal you can travel within the common travel area without identification, if you are controlled (and this doesn't necessarily apply to airports/ferry ports) you need an EU/EEA Passport/National ID Card (Which Ireland doesn't have yet) or a Passport with a Visa that allows you to be there or a stamp 4 EU-FAM Residents card while accompanying an EU Passport Holder.

I hate to say it but you only ever really have to worry about it when you are not Caucasian.

Source:
    Friend who was deported on a visit to the UK while having a valid Irish Visa, he was controlled on the Train not at the airport.
    Friend who is Irish but has Asian parents and spent time in detention at Luton Airport because she had the identification mentioned above but they didn't believe that she was Irish

So really saying you can fly problem free with whats in that list is not necessarily true.

It's pretty much the same deal as flying from one schengen country to the other, you can be controlled but it might just happen to be at the airport or somewhere else.

To re-iterate, if they don't believe you are an Irish/UK Citizen and you don't have a passport you can have a problem, even though it's pretty rare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Big Wex fan

Sorry, Slight change of topic. Do you have to give the Passport number ID number when booking Ryan air flights?
    I'm ready to book a holiday but I've been waiting for one of the family's passport to be renewed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

Sorry, Slight change of topic. Do you have to give the Passport number ID number when booking Ryan air flights?
    I'm ready to book a holiday but I've been waiting for one of the family's passport to be renewed.

Not on booking but yes when you go to check in