Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

another stupid slurry tanker thread 2000G

• 12-06-2015 12:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭

scenario : 105hp 4 cylinder turbo tractor, 40k box, brake pipe etc.
    4 mile to piggery so all the slurry I want and P & K low and slatted tank here also. Was going to buy a 2nd hand 1600G tank and they are crazy money for 10 year old tanks. I borrowed an 1800G redrock on a try and buy and its a grand tank but your man cant decide now if he is going to keep it or sell it.

Im told my tractor should be well able to tow a 2000G tank, and no fields with hills, the roads are hilly in a spot of 2, but that's ok.

So rate the line up on build quality, price etc. on the 2000G line up

Called Belmac and there 2100G tank on 620 tyres is €9,800 incl vat list price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

scenario : 105hp 4 cylinder turbo tractor, 40k box, brake pipe etc.
    4 mile to piggery so all the slurry I want and P & K low and slatted tank here also. Was going to buy a 2nd hand 1600G tank and they are crazy money for 10 year old tanks. I borrowed an 1800G redrock on a try and buy and its a grand tank but your man cant decide now if he is going to keep it or sell it.

Im told my tractor should be well able to tow a 2000G tank, and no fields with hills, the roads are hilly in a spot of 2, but that's ok.

So rate the line up on build quality, price etc. on the 2000G line up

Is that a lgp tank?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

td5man wrote: »
    Is that a lgp tank?

I don't know but stanflt has one I saw where he bought one in 2010 or 2011 when I read through previous threads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Is that a lgp tank?

Is it standard tank or is it cutout for the wheels?
    There's a good few new conor tanks round here. Think they came from my local dealer (no vat on new ones lad ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Oi, you're an accountant, you should know better than spending all your money on machinery!

had a 2000 gal Hispec on lgp's, harder to pull than the 2600gal Conor I have now. Have a look at Conor, very happy with it. Few contractors after getting them after having Abbeys.
    Neighbour has Belmac, terrible paint work and rust.

Is it standard tank or is it cutout for the wheels?
    There's a good few new conor tanks round here. Think they came from my local dealer (no vat on new ones lad ;-)

why is there no vat on new ones ? :eek:

Ye recessed tanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

priced a couple of tanks lately

2000 gallon recessed conor 14k
    2000 gal abbey 15600- 2250 another 800
    hi spec 2000 gallon 15500

simx wrote: »
    priced a couple of tanks lately

2000 gallon recessed conor 14k
    2000 gal abbey 15600- 2250 another 800
    hi spec 2000 gallon 15500

that 4-5k more than belmac . :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

that 4-5k more than belmac . :eek:

I have belmac 2100 recessed
    Pulling it with 100hp
    On hills it feels the pressure but can handle it

Do simple maths On bad paint work and rust you have nearly 2 belmac for one of the others
    So my maths say with less money tied up if belmac lasts half as long it's better value

epfff wrote: »
    I have belmac 2100 recessed
    Pulling it with 100hp
    On hills it feels the pressure but can handle it

Do simple maths On bad paint work and rust you have nearly 2 belmac for one of the others
    So my maths say with less money tied up if belmac lasts half as long it's better value

what tyres are under your tank?

the 2100G with 28.1 tyres is €13000

what tyres are under your tank?

the 2100G with 28.1 tyres is €13000

I have the standard tyres because my
    attitude is if you cutting ground with them you shouldn't be spreading

Doing daddy Day care here atm plan to go at Slurry for evening if I think I'll post size latet

call to Mick in ferbane in person if you want belmac he doesn't do fancy sales talk or brochures etc and he then doesn't have to charge you for it. I have to say I found him one of the better guys to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

What axle is on the belmac? You'll find most of the rest doing adr with commercial brakes. Also the most of the rest have a chassis in them to spread the weight,

Baffles are important too especially on a lighter tractor

Bought a second hand 2000 hispec lately, pulls nice and follows well too, nc would be longer and so harder to follow in to gap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

105 horse 4 cyl not fit for pulling nor stopping a 2000g tank. Id say 1650 1800 max . 1650 is ropey enough getting stopped for cars pulling out etc braked or not. Not so.much ho but sheer size . Id say 120 6 cyl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭raypallas

scenario : 105hp 4 cylinder turbo tractor, 40k box, brake pipe etc. 4 mile to piggery so all the slurry I want and P & K low and slatted tank here also. Was going to buy a 2nd hand 1600G tank and they are crazy money for 10 year old tanks. I borrowed an 1800G redrock on a try and buy and its a grand tank but your man cant decide now if he is going to keep it or sell it.

Similar setup to yourself, have a 95 hp zetor here and a piggery nearby. We borrowed a 2250 cross tank to see what it was like to pull. Pulled it all right but was bit of an ask in our yard as there a good hill.
    Ended up buying an 1800R conor as the neighbour has a 2000 conor and it's 10yrs old and still in very good order.

One thing i would say what ever brand you try and get one with led work lights on the back there an absolute gift. We saved about a thousand euro off the fert bill alone in the first year of having it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

105 horse 4 cyl not fit for pulling nor stopping a 2000g tank. Id say 1650 1800 max . 1650 is ropey enough getting stopped for cars pulling out etc braked or not. Not so.much ho but sheer size . Id say 120 6 cyl

Ah come on now, them mf's must be a pile of ****e so!!! Or you ned to grow a pair!!

Lakill we are pulling a 2000g hi spec with a nh6010 which is 100hp no problems, draw is 4 miles. Serious brakes on the tanker though!!!

wouldnt go any bigger than 2000g though on 100hp, there is fair weight in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

Panch18 wrote: »
    Ah come on now, them mf's must be a pile of ****e so!!! Or you ned to grow a pair!!

Lakill we are pulling a 2000g hi spec with a nh6010 which is 100hp no problems, draw is 4 miles. Serious brakes on the tanker though!!!

in fairness it is a bag of underpowered ****e ! Haha theres being brave and being stupid
    The insurance man dealing with the motor youve totalled doesnt give a ****e either way though. Although in fairness ive wondered wud a mf 165 pull a 1600 ranker 😮

epfff wrote:
    I have the standard tyres because my attitude is if you cutting ground with them you shouldn't be spreading

True but you'd pull a tank with lgp tyres much easier than one without

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

why is there no vat on new ones ? :eek:

Ye recessed tanks

Jaysus lakill you're letting yourself down you being an accountant an all, there's no vat on new slurry equipment :)

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Jaysus lakill you're letting yourself down you being an accountant an all, there's no vat on new slurry equipment :)

Since when
    what's revenues definition of Slurry equipment

I paid and claimed back vat in 2013

Sam Kade wrote: »

well anywhere I priced tanks they quoted price including 23% vat

Panch18 wrote: »

Have loan of redrock 1800G on 23.1 tyres and my bus well able for it . The lad who owns tank has a 6010 but its chipped by NH dealer.

I think a 2000G recessed would be ok behind it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭oxjkqg

raypallas wrote: »
    Similar setup to yourself, have a 95 hp zetor here and a piggery nearby. We borrowed a 2250 cross tank to see what it was like to pull. Pulled it all right but was bit of an ask in our yard as there a good hill.
    Ended up buying an 1800R conor as the neighbour has a 2000 conor and it's 10yrs old and still in very good order.

One thing i would say what ever brand you try and get one with led work lights on the back there an absolute gift. We saved about a thousand euro off the fert bill alone in the first year of having it.

They must be some set of LED's if they can save that :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

Have loan of redrock 1800G on 23.1 tyres and my bus well able for it . The lad who owns tank has a 6010 but its chipped by NH dealer.

I think a 2000G recessed would be ok behind it

Yeah you should be grand with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

raypallas wrote: »

How did they save you that amount

called local garage and quoted 15k for galvanised 2000G on 28.1 tyres or 13.2k for painted 2000G from another manufacturer.

15k is a lot of money :o

but another dealer wants 8.5k for a 2005 - abbey 2100G resprayed.

a galvanised tank would do me 30 years surely from new , versus a 10 year old painted tank which isn't a lot cheaper really

Decisions decisions

called local garage and quoted 15k for galvanised 2000G on 28.1 tyres or 13.2k for painted 2000G from another manufacturer.

15k is a lot of money :o

but another dealer wants 8.5k for a 2005 - abbey 2100G resprayed.

a galvanised tank would do me 30 years surely from new , versus a 10 year old painted tank which isn't a lot cheaper really

Decisions decisions

What kind of tank is that?

simx wrote: »
    What kind of tank is that?

Major galvanised

abbey painted

Major galvanised

abbey painted

Priced a galvanized major 2000 gal for 14500, pm me if you want details

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

Bought a new major recessed 1700 gallon painted tank on 28.1x26 in 2013 for 12900 Inc vat.

Can I claim the vat back on this ?
    Not registered.

What about this one in your op

oxjkqg wrote:
    They must be some set of LED's if they can save that

Jesus your sharp!!!!

IH784man wrote:
    How did they save you that amount

Having the tank to spread pig slurry saved money off the fertiliser bill.

Bought a new major recessed 1700 gallon painted tank on 28.1x26 in 2013 for 12900 Inc vat.

Can I claim the vat back on this ?
    Not registered.

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

No

Did ya buy yet

IH784man wrote: »
    What about this one in your op

have ruled nothing in or out let :o.

But im not giving €8.5k for a second hand tank (5-8 years old) when I can buy a new one for between 9k and 15k for 2000G depending on different size tyres and painted/galvanised. including vat I can reclaim

Should be nothing wrong with a painted tank,it'll last you a good while too,what's the price difference between the galvanised and the painted?

I said wrote: »
    Did ya buy yet

no

IH784man wrote: »
    Should be nothing wrong with a painted tank,it'll last you a good while too,what's the price difference between the galvanised and the painted?

about €1000-1300

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Tail painter

in fairness it is a bag of underpowered ****e ! Haha theres being brave and being stupid
    The insurance man dealing with the motor youve totalled doesnt give a ****e either way though. Although in fairness ive wondered wud a mf 165 pull a 1600 ranker 😮

We pulled a 2500 gallon Ruscon tanker tandem axle with an MF 698T for many years. land is all fairly level. I even pulled it with a 2wd MF 290 a couple of times - that was a bit scary. So MF 165 should be OK in a 1600 gallon tanker but stopping could be a problem if there are no trailer brakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Is this a stupid tanker story or a silly accountant story:D.First off there is more to calculate than fertlizer prices. But we will start first with slurry. Pig Slurry in particu;lar is a a very varible product. Due to washing regimes and dry sow and breeding units it is a very varible product. While the N is better fixed than cattle slurry it is still only 35% available it approx value is 25 euro/1K gallons according to teagasc at 19-7-20. I used to get some delivered for about 10 euro/ thousand after paying to get it spread the savings were marginal at 3-4 euro/1K gallons. Even if drawing and spreading yourself it is had to imagine saving more than 10-12 euro/1000 gallons.

The reasons that most lads think they see a saving is they do not purchase the right fertlizers. The best value fertlizer are Urea, 18-6-12,0-7-30 amd MOP. The other reason lads think it is brillant is that generally they spread it early in the year. But will the spread bag fertlizer at that time?????

Ray to save 1K euro you need to spread 100K gallons ( even if the saving were 20/1K galons you need to spread 50K gallons). Even saving 1K/year it will take 10 years to pay back for a tanker and that is allowing no interest.

Now we get to the dodgy part Nitrates. When you import any slurry you import total N not available N and you import organic P as well. Both are limited by the nitrates directive. However if you import watery pig slurry in the nitrates calcualtion it is the same as normal pig slurry. As the N is only 35% available.

So what is the impact you can only import up to 170N/HA. 1K Litres a metre cubed has 4.2Kgs/N so 1000 gallon had 19kgs of N. Spreading at 1kgallons/acre is 47kgs/HA. If you import the equivlent of 2K gallons/acre then your stocking rate needs to be below 75kgs organic /HA or equivlent to an old time stocking of less than 1LU/HA.

I wonder is it back to being a busy fool. Cannot see how the numbers stack up. At present some lads are getting away without signing for the slurry. However piggery's are coming under more pressure to have all importers herd numbers. At 3-4 euro/1k gallons I taught it was not worth the it buying a tanker to save 10-15/1K gallons????????????;)

Ray to save 1K euro you need to spread 100K gallons ( even if the saving were 20/1K galons you need to spread 50K gallons). Even saving 1K/year it will take 10 years to pay back for a tanker and that is allowing no interest.

You're probably spot on with the numbers, but now I'm only paying the local contractor to agitate the slatted tanks so i don't have to pay out for two tankers for two days to empty them. So more saving to be got there. I estimate it have should paid for itself in 5 or 6 years.

Is this a stupid tanker story or a silly accountant story:D.;)

listen maybe its an excuse to get away from herself for a few hours at a time

as the mastercard saying going

1 ton of Urea €420

100 litres of diesel € 83

new slurry tanker €10,000

5 hours away from a moaning wife - PRICELESS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,205 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

listen maybe its an excuse to get away from herself for a few hours at a time

as the mastercard saying going

1 ton of Urea €420

100 litres of diesel € 83

new slurry tanker €10,000

5 hours away from a moaning wife - PRICELESS
    and i'm sure she's never glad to see the back of you:rolleyes: