Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New 7 series photoshop

• 11-06-2015 1:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭

Annoyed that BMW have once again messed up the front of the 7 series with horrible headlights and fussy detailing, I messed around with it in Photoshop.
    Yay? Nay?

SMwVkSx.jpg

Yay or Nay? 5 votes

Yay!
    0% 0 votes
    Nay!
    100% 5 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

I much prefer the one on the left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    I much prefer the one on the left.

One on the left looks like an Octavia with a shít bodykit on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

What in the name of Christ is going on with those grilles. Looks like the car has a raging coke habit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

It looks like a collage and they cut the grilles out of a much closer up picture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

They both look shit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    They both look shit.

You cant polish a turd! Seen one in baby blue with chrome trim. One of the ugliest cars i've ever seen, from in front and behind. Looked ok side on. At least a nissan baleno can hide!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Muuuuch better

11535863_1583716081877534_228807848728905310_n.jpg?oh=948579c50ea169abc26e6bd252dd80bb&oe=5633D305

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

Annoyed that BMW have once again messed up the front of the 7 series with horrible headlights and fussy detailing, Iound with it in Photoshop.
    Yay? Nay?

g]

I think you made it a little better. Too me the whole front end look of bmws is based on the nice kidney shaped grills. That one has the look of a fancy industrial fridge about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i like that you can drive it from either side
    do the lights change to Continental foucs when you drive it from the left seat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Modern BMWs look rubbish altogether.

Bring back the old 1980-1990 styling 3, 5, 7 series...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

Can you Photoshop a 1.6 diesel into it with €180 road tax? 15 inch alloys too please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

BMJD wrote: »
    Can you Photoshop a 1.6 diesel into it with €180 road tax? 15 inch alloys too please.

1.6 diesel, are you jokin? The insurance on that will kill ya.

1.4 that's what ye want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

Like a rocket lad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

The new 725d produces 218hp and emits only 103g/km of CO2. That's pretty savage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

Pov06 wrote: »
    Modern BMWs look rubbish altogether.

Bring back the old 1980-1990 styling 3, 5, 7 series...

I don't mind the current 3, apart from that agreed.

The Mk2 7 was one of the best looking cars on the road in its day (outside of exotica like Ferraris etc).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Came across this article. Shows the development of the 7 series on a timeline, and how much it has grown! I'd be a bigger fan of the older machines too.

http://www.carthrottle.com/post/morphing-six-generations-of-the-bmw-7series-shows-just-how-fat-its-become/

I seem to be the only one who kinda likes this one! Inside it's a massive improvement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Sobanek wrote: »
    The new 725d produces 218hp and emits only 103g/km of CO2. That's pretty savage.

Jaysus is there actually going to be a 2.0D 7 Series now? Granted it's twin turbo but seriously that's just depressing...

166man wrote: »
    Jaysus is there actually going to be a 2.0D 7 Series now? Granted it's twin turbo but seriously that's just depressing...
    Well now, every penny counts when you spend over 100k on a car...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭trabpc

Hi, I have €100,000 in me back pocket and I'm looking at buying a BMW, but number one on my list is the chaep tax. Any ideas!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Lads, those engines are for business/fleet users for the most part and to keep the EU happy. It's a big part of their sales outside of Ireland. The fact it suits the tax regime here is purely coincidental - the Irish market doesn't even get consideration in these things it's so small.

There's still the option to go bigger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Why does every thread always end up talking about car tax, shut up FFS!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭maddness

Sitec wrote: »
    Pretty depressing, CO2 emissions and big premium cars shouldn't be mentioned in the same sentence.

A four cylinder diesel luxury car......Kill me now.

Lads, those engines are for business/fleet users for the most part and to keep the EU happy. It's a big part of their sales outside of Ireland. The fact it suits the tax regime here is purely coincidental - the Irish market doesn't even get consideration in these things it's so small.

There's still the option to go bigger.

I get why they make and sell them, similar to the 518d, and fair play to them if they can do that, from a business perspective.

But looking at the car, as a car I guess, a four cylinder diesel won't suit the big 7. Even if it's go two turbos. Used the drive the twin turbo 2.0D X5 a good bit in work and that thing was hopeless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

I wonder does it have v12 sounds playing in over the speakers

I get why they make and sell them, similar to the 518d, and fair play to them if they can do that, from a business perspective.

But looking at the car, as a car I guess, a four cylinder diesel won't suit the big 7. Even if it's go two turbos. Used the drive the twin turbo 2.0D X5 a good bit in work and that thing was hopeless.
    X5 is a different beast, that's a heavy and unaerodynamic car.
    This new 7 seems like it'll weigh no more than a 5. And will have more power than a 520d. Should be OK. More power than a late 90's 728i!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,261 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

mercedes had a 2.1L diesel in the 2011-2013 s class, 201bhp, think 500nm of torque and 0-100 in 8.2 seconds, not bad for something that weighs that much! Being done on the motor tax is one thing, its the VRT which goes down significantly when you are talking about these kind of Co2 figures, likewise the car depreciates far less because the purchase and running costs are reduced. In lots of countries, I would say pay a little more and get the 6 pot petrol or diesel etc. In Ireland with the vrt and scandalous E2350 top rate of tax on Co2, its a different story...

I personally think its great, that people can now buy a car the caliber of an s class or 7 series etc and not be done on the tax! Its one less way for them to gouge those that they are already murdering on income tax, certainly anyone who can afford that car new will be getting done....
    Using an all-new EfficientLightweigh chassis, which uses an extensive amount of CFRP (Carbon Fiber Reinforced Plastic) in the passenger cell and aluminum in the chassis, the new G11/G12 7 Series will weigh 130 kg (286 lbs) less than the previous generation.
    that 4 cylinder diesel luxury tank will probably leave the vast majority of cars on the road for dead 0-100, I reckon it will be sub 8 seconds...

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    X5 is a different beast, that's a heavy and unaerodynamic car.
    This new 7 seems like it'll weigh no more than a 5. And will have more power than a 520d. Should be OK. More power than a late 90's 728i!

It's not that different though. It's the actual engine and gearbox combination which isn't nice. I found it quite agricultural and it spent its time forever changing up and down as opposed to the 3.0d in the same car which was just spot on.

Oh there's no doubt it's the wrong engine for the car, but I think it'll perform more like the F10, a bit sluggish and mostly forgettable.