Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting caught using a phone while driving?

• 06-06-2015 5:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭

It hasn't happened to me, thankfully, but just wondering if someone driving and holding a phone can receive a fixed penalty charge without direct intervention from a Garda at the scene?

Does it suffice for them to see a driver on the phone, get the reg no. and send on a fixed penalty notice to the registered vehicle-owner or do they have to stop the offending driver and ticket them there & then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I think it has to be stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Pataman

Pity or they could setup up cameras on the side of the road each morning and make a fortune

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

but what if it is a cookie?o-IPHONE-COOKIE-PRANK-570.jpg?6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,677 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

There is still a total indifference to mobile phone use whilst driving, it is rife and I see dozens upon dozens of people daily doing it. Thing is, nearly every phone built in the last 5 years has a speakerphone, so there's no need to hold it to your ear.

I think the Gardai aren't too serious about their clampdown either.

As some has said, they could hook up a dashcam to all their cars and record constantly, they would have hundreds of reg's they could issue penalties to via the post, and they would have the photos to prove it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭AhHaor

Using a phone on an r road in the country driving at 80 km/h is lethal. Using a phone in traffic is not lethal and until this is distinguished the rules are flawed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,159 ✭✭✭EchoIndia

AhHaor wrote: »
    Using a phone on an r road in the country driving at 80 km/h is lethal. Using a phone in traffic is not lethal and until this is distinguished the rules are flawed.

What is "in traffic" and how would you define it (legally)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Being in traffic doesn't prevent you from being distracted and hitting someone and seriously injuring them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Yeah I was wondering about this the other day, if you reported a driver for driving without due care i.e. indicating etc. could they still be fined or get penalty points?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭AhHaor

TheChizler wrote: »
    Being in traffic doesn't prevent you from being distracted and hitting someone and seriously injuring them.

I agree. But mobile devices are only becoming more integrated with our body and our cars. It'd be nice to see the government appempt to somewhat allow them rather than a blanket ban.

What would the ruling be if you're using Google glass or another wearable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Morpork

I agree. But mobile devices are only becoming more integrated with our body and our cars. It'd be nice to see the government appempt to somewhat allow them rather than a blanket ban.

What would the ruling be if you're using Google glass or another wearable?

Oculus rift?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭anvilfour

My Dad says he'll stop doing it when girls stop doing their makeup in the mirror as they drive... I've never see anyone do this, sounds dangerous! :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭dashcamdanny

Some pr1ck on the N7 pushed me a few inchs from the central reservation yesterday with my kids in the car. Which made me even more angry.
    Texting d1ckhead.

He did not even notice me even after a horn blast.

The law should be harsher IMO. I would love to see people like that banned for a few months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Rips

I've been pulled for this, it was a 'Do we need milk?' Yeah' phone call in heavy traffic, guards were obviously well in off the side of the road as I was 1/2 mile gone before the motorbike appeared behind me. So they must need to.

At the time it wasn't long after they had brought in the new massive fine for texting/holding a phone or whatever it was, and to be honest, I was terrified as I had no idea what the actual implications were and the way the guard was going on it seemed to me he was going to let it slide so I said nothing. I got a €60 fine but not the points.

When you consider how cheap a handsfree set is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Rips

Well for someone who hasn't purchased a phone in 8 years, it would want to be free to be 'cheap' :pac:

I don't make a habit of being on the phone in the car, I certainly never text. Its annoying not being able to make a quick call when you need to, especially when you can eat, smoke, fiddle with a satnav or do whatever else to your hearts content.

A second earlier, if I had the phone in my hand unlocking it, instead of to my ear, I could have been a totally different story :mad:

Rips wrote: »
    Well for someone who hasn't purchased a phone in 8 years, it would want to be free to be 'cheap' :pac:

I don't make a habit of being on the phone in the car, I certainly never text. Its annoying not being able to make a quick call when you need to, especially when you can eat, smoke, fiddle with a satnav or do whatever else to your hearts content.

A second earlier, if I had the phone in my hand unlocking it, instead of to my ear, I could have been a totally different story :mad:

You can get it at the local thrift store, don't be a miser! :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭MidMan25

Got caught once while sat in traffic going absolutely nowhere for ages :(

I was talking on the phone when a motorbike garda pulled up next to me

2 points and a €60 fine, the only offence i've been caught for thus far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

I can understand if using the phone while moving but when stopped in traffic? Seems a bit much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

I can understand if using the phone while moving but when stopped in traffic? Seems a bit much.

If you're in traffic, as has been pointed out above, you need to have your wits about you in case a pedestrian darts out, bikes swarming about like insects, not to mention indicating and making sure you're not that numpty that doesn't close the gap.

As has been pointed out above, how do you define traffic? The fact that it already takes people half an hour to realise the light has gone green won't be helped either.

Finally given the large numbers of Brain Surgeons, Rocket Scientists and CIA operatives that can't possibly be parted from their phones for the time it takes to drive to Tesco, are you really going to hang up when the 'traffic' starts moving?

If you need to be on the phone that badly buy a hands free kit, simples.

If you're in traffic, as has been pointed out above, you need to have your wits about you in case a pedestrian darts out, bikes swarming about like insects, not to mention indicating and making sure you're not that numpty that doesn't close the gap.

As has been pointed out above, how do you define traffic? The fact that it already takes people half an hour to realise the light has gone green won't be helped either.

Finally given the large numbers of Brain Surgeons, Rocket Scientists and CIA operatives that can't possibly be parted from their phones for the time it takes to drive to Tesco, are you really going to hang up when the 'traffic' starts moving?

If you need to be on the phone that badly buy a hands free kit, simples.

+1 one of the great things about being a rocket scientist or brain surgeon is you're paid enough to afford a handsfree kit! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

I got caught about 4 or 5 years back. Told a mate I'd pick him up from town at 2am, that time came and went I was driving home about 30mins later pretty pi**ed off when he rang me and I picked it up at a red light to give him abuse. I didnt even notice the unmarked Garda car next to me.

The Garda was laughing when I told him the story and what had happened but I still got the fine and 2 penalty points. It wasnt that bad though, buddy paid towards the fine anyway but I dont use the phone now in the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

anvilfour wrote: »
    +1 one of the great things about being a rocket scientist or brain surgeon is you're paid enough to afford a handsfree kit! :)
    Ahhh but you don't need to be on rocket scientist/brain surgeon wages to afford the €10-€30 for a bluetooth earpiece though. ;) Can natter away perfectly legally on a small budget. :)

Its rife these days, if you take a look at drivers in queues of traffic the majority of them will be looking down at their smartphone unaware of any changes that have happened around them, even the green light.

I've been behind many a driver that you can see looking down, the traffic starts to move and they're sill in day day land, then they panic, look up and floor it in some apparent move to make up for holding you up.

slimjimmc wrote: »
    Ahhh but you don't need to be on rocket scientist/brain surgeon wages to afford the €10-€30 for a bluetooth earpiece though. ;) Can natter away perfectly legally on a small budget. :)

Well quite so, no excuse to break the law! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Fire engine screaming down the Quays today. Saw atleast one eejit trying to take evasive action with a phone in hand. What's more important, picking up milk or getting out of the way of the truck going to put out the fire in someone's house.

I've notions it was their house on fire hence the important phone call. Sadly it probably was not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭Comhrá

If the Gardai and lawmakers were really interested in getting on top of the phone/driving infractions, the fixed fine should be say, €150 and maybe once a month or so, a nationwide Garda campaign, widely highlighted beforehand on the national media.........but no, they're not really interested, full stop.

What happened to the no-texting legislation introduced a year or two back? As far as I know, it was neither enforceable nor properly defined so no prosecutions were ever made........fairly typical Irish half-ar$ed dysfunctionl legislation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

tippman1 wrote: »
    If the Gardai and lawmakers were really interested in getting on top of the phone/driving infractions, the fixed fine should be say, €150 and maybe once a month or so, a nationwide Garda campaign, widely highlighted beforehand on the national media.........but no, they're not really interested, full stop.

What happened to the no-texting legislation introduced a year or two back? As far as I know, it was neither enforceable nor properly defined so no prosecutions were ever made........fairly typical Irish half-ar$ed dysfunctionl legislation.

Someone said to me down the pub that the bespectacled Dympna who drafted the legislation managed to render every satnav in the fiefdom illegal before anyone copped it, so that whole hames is being sort of politely ignored. I don't know how true that is. :)