Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any market for silage come September?

• 06-06-2015 4:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭

seems like people still have silage left over from last year. Farm in West Mayo. Anyone looking to buy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

seems like people still have silage left over from last year. Farm in West Mayo. Anyone looking to buy?

Don't know bout Mayo but around here silage is for nothing
    Just done deal today for very good 1st cut bales baled 2 weeks ago probably 220kg/dm in them for E20 in field
    Also option to take second cut off same new grass for E20 - so trying to get both delivered into yard and stacked for E20 each all in
    Also bought some 2014 silage a month ago for E10/bale there's a bit of waste on it and they have to be moved soon so there will be a bit more wast when moved but should have 70% good in em...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

ellewood wrote: »
    Just done deal today for very good 1st cut bales baled 2 weeks ago probably 220kg/dm in them for E20 in field
    Also option to take second cut off same new grass for E20 - so trying to get both delivered into yard and stacked for E20 each all in
    Also bought some 2014 silage a month ago for E10/bale there's a bit of waste on it and they have to be moved soon so there will be a bit more wast when moved but should have 70% good in em...

Great value there, can't go wrong with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

ellewood wrote: »

I'd say they were delighted to get rid...a lot of 2014 bales in the ditches around here too

rangler1 wrote: »
    I'd say they were delighted to get rid...a lot of 2014 bales in the ditches around here too

Exactly all mad to get rid

I had been trying to get some meadow and cut/bale myself but lads looking for silly money

Now I don't care if it rains till Xmas eve☺

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

rangler1 wrote: »

I'm after spreading a load of urea Should have held fire;)

I be hoping to pick up standing crops handy come Sept

Why don't these guys lease out land for 5-7 yrs tax free? Nobrainer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Capercaillie

I mow in September, I offered to give away the bales for nothing to contractor as long as he paid for mowing. He refused!

Because they are getting a ball of money from eu every year.... I think most of them buy a new armchair out of every year as wellðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭howdee

No market for silage around here, there are a few lads that sell bales every year and there yards are full from last year. If I had a slab and I'd be considering making an offer on there crops as they don't seem to be in a rush to cut them either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Am sure there are a variety of reasons - but I'd suspect the main one is "cos it's their ground and they want to?"

What would you say Frazz if someone said to you "farming - working all hours, poor returns, dangerous workplace - why don't you give it up and get another job? Nobrainer."

Hard to get somebody who will look after the place and won't totally rape the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Hard to get somebody who will look after the place and won't totally rape the place.

It is, but good lads are out there too to be fair.

Sometimes but usually when one only deals with the highest bidder rather than the person with the track record.

Half my ground on long term leases, soil indices and ph same as my farm average

Am sure there are a variety of reasons - but I'd suspect the main one is "cos it's their ground and they want to?"

What would you say Frazz if someone said to you "farming - working all hours, poor returns, dangerous workplace - why don't you give it up and get another job? Nobrainer."

As an former boss once told me "your unemployable" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 New Farmer 2

New to the business.
    I have 30 acres and should get around 290 bales of hay. How much would it cost to get it mowed baled and stacked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Got silage delivered into the into the pit a couple of weeks ago, €250 a load. 20ft trailer c. 25% dm. I estimate cost €100 per ton dm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,936 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Was offered 35 acres of silage of a guy who takes ground and bales it to sell, offered us 35 acres that he has took right beside us politely declined him when he went looking for 160 an acre for what's best described as poor cow dry feed....
    The funny thing is he still has the yard full of lasts years silage with no one to buy it but thought I would pay London for this year's stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

It is, but good lads are out there too to be fair.

Too often landlords look for highest price.
    get on really well with owner of our out farm. Says she hasn't seen it as good since her husband farmed it and that's 18 yrs ago now.

Was a long game to get a lease on it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭fanadman1

If growth stays as it is those balrs sitting in ditchs could be very important come next january or feburay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Had to turn away another fella with stuff yesterday and I know theres more on the way.the problem is most lads dont come until its too late for me but even atthat I cant take it as I have no room. Might be area dependant but stuff just jumped out of the ground last couple of weeks, cut stuff every few days over last few weeks and yesterday's stuff was mad heavy.i think it will be given awayfor nothing this autumn as what do lads do make more bales to sell or buy cattle neither an attractive option

fanadman1 wrote: »
    If growth stays as it is those balrs sitting in ditchs could be very important come next january or feburay

Must be area specific as I'd have to say this is a super year for grass to date. Bursting out of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Must be area specific as I'd have to say this is a super year for grass to date. Bursting out of it

Belter of a year for grass ,wet land and difficult late land aside I think a lot of lads just don't know how to grow grass and feed the ground adequate n p and k as well as putting out lime yearly to keep ph correct.things like getting stock to grass as early in feb as possible and grazing tight through spring really set farm up for the year

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Belter of a year for grass ,wet land and difficult late land aside I think a lot of lads just don't know how to grow grass and feed the ground adequate n p and k as well as putting out lime yearly to keep ph correct.things like getting stock to grass as early in feb as possible and grazing tight through spring really set farm up for the year
    I'm a novice compared to most of the people here, when it comes to grass growing I would say. However everyone around me is bare with grass. We're on the sea and it's being blowing a cold gale/wind since the good weather finished in the spring. My next door neighbor says that with all the fertiliser/light stocking it matters nothing, when the North Wind is blowing across the Machair the grass will not grow!

If you left 100 bales of grass (no plastic) to rot, how long would it take?

Im in north west donegal here.
    Nobody in 15 miles of me has there first cut taken. most are 3-4 weeks of due to the wet conditions, i had mine cut last week last season. where as i only baged it last week this year this is where i think 2014 bales will sell well late first cuts and possibly no seacond definitly no 3rd

If you left 100 bales of grass (no plastic) to rot, how long would it take?

See thats a differt story then when thats said round here it means stacked in corners not wraped is a completly differnt story

I was going to buy rotted farmyard dung at 60 euros a loader (delivered) in the autumn. It might be cheaper to let the bales rot.

Buy? Do you want any more :)

Joking aside there's no way I'd let it off farm, pure gold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Buy? Do you want any more :)

Joking aside there's no way I'd let it off farm, pure gold

S
    I dunno what I'm going to do with all I have. May stock pile it in the wood for next yr :D need to get shed emptied so we can make a start on cubicles.

S
    I dunno what I'm going to do with all I have. May stock pile it in the wood for next yr :D need to get shed emptied so we can make a start on cubicles.

Put in piles in fields and spread after cows when rotation lengthens. We did it last year great job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭PMU

look at the forecast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Im in north west donegal here.
    Nobody in 15 miles of me has there first cut taken. most are 3-4 weeks of due to the wet conditions, i had mine cut last week last season. where as i only baged it last week this year this is where i think 2014 bales will sell well late first cuts and possibly no seacond definitly no 3rd
    Amazing contrasts of weather for such a small country. Down here in west cork, looking at the sea everyday, and it's a super yr for grass so far.
    I'll never forget the summer of 2012, fed silage most months that summer, but from what I can remember it was actually a super summer in the northwest. Crazy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

What are guys paying for silage ground? Have one or two options and wondering what I can afford to pay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Amazing contrasts of weather for such a small country. Down here in west cork, looking at the sea everyday, and it's a super yr for grass so far.
    I'll never forget the summer of 2012, fed silage most months that summer, but from what I can remember it was actually a super summer in the northwest. Crazy!
    I'm half way between ye and we were never as tight for grass either. Ground is waterlogged around here and has been that way since the start of April. A few weeks like today though and it could be all forgotten about. I'm live between two hills beside the sea aswell so see an awful lot of rain that fellas a few miles further inland wouldn't. Ironically enough the ground would be reliatevly free draining around here too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

mahoney_j wrote: »

Got kinda caught for grass for last two weeks of May. Great growth during April, however it really slowed from early May. Too much rain. I was maybe a bit consertive with N at the start but it all had 20 units at the end and still did not get real growth until last week. There was no sunshine, a good bit of rain averaging over 40-50mm/week and wind.

Silage crop was not effected as it takes grass to grow grass and by early May there was a good thick crop to keep it going. Grazing conditions were grand but growth was brutal. Last week changed growth with an good explosion around here. Lads that leave out cattle late had no issue as land with covers just kept growing. I will have about 60% of my silage needs by tomorrow evening (200+bales) and will get the rest from 2nd and 3rd cut Hybrid and red clover and taking out some surplas paddocks.

Talking to locals most cut there laws more in April than May this year. I imagine that further east got a way less rain than we did so it did not effect growth as much. One other thing I noticed was that the silage paddocks cut the 24th of mat sill have very little green on them even the one with the red clover is only starting to recover late this week

funny you are right i started ag college that back end and everyone was on about the terrible summer and i was thinking that i had seen alot lot worse ha
    its a small country but like our accents things change very quickly round here.
    i remember april 14 was driveing through a small village near home and it was flooded littlerly fields sheds 1-2 feet of water running on the road down the road about a mile and the sun splitting the rocks and men clipping sheep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

There's a lot of lads round me complaining about no grass and I have to say I've one of the best feeding years yet, carrying more stock. I'm reckoning a lots to do with paddocks and fertiliser usage. I've changed from more or less set stocking to rotational grazing and spreading little and often. I've extra paddocks closed now and I'm reckoning I should be able to pull in a 4 month surplus of winter feed. It'll give me a good few options for pushing the stocking rate next year.