Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Settling a damage claim directly

• 29-05-2015 10:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4

I had a bit of a fender bender the other day. No speed, stuck in traffic and basically just tipped the guy in front of me. No major damage, just a bit to his bumper.

I've been on to the insurance company and they have more or less advised me to settle directly as the claim is relatively low - €350.

My question is, apart from a receipt for the actual money, is there anything else to get the other guy to sign to prove we settled the case?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,046 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Did you get a quote for the damage? You should take in to account that if it's an expensive car with parking sensors and unseen damage caused underneath the bumper a simple knock could go well over a grand or more.

Write up a document to say that on x date you caused damage to Mr X's car and that the damage has been payed for in full and full and final settlement accepted, both you sign and both take a copy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 WoodSpoon

Did you get a quote for the damage? You should take in to account that if it's an expensive car with parking sensors and unseen damage caused underneath the bumper a simple knock could go well over a grand or more.

Write up a document to say that on x date you caused damage to Mr X's car and that the damage has been payed for in full and full and final settlement accepted, both you sign and both take a copy.

Thanks for the reply. The other guy has got the quote himself, so he's happy with it.

I'll do up that document, hopefully that will be it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Just on the side of caution, in 6 months time, it could become 'He hit me at 50km/h while stopped and my neck is sore, can't work etc' People can become very mean when the thoughts of money comes into it. Not saying its the case here but some people have been known to this.

I'd maybe try get some witness's on that document or copper-fasten it with an agreed story e.g. I hit him at 3km/h in static traffic, no neck pain, I saw a doctor afterwards etc.

I'm all for settling privately but just remembering its admitting liability and pretty much removing your option for your insurance to cover your back should the other party become nasty.

ironclaw wrote: »
    Just on the side of caution, in 6 months time, it could become 'He hit me at 50km/h while stopped and my neck is sore, can't work etc' People can become very mean when the thoughts of money comes into it. Not saying its the case here but some people have been known to this.

I'd maybe try get some witness's on that document or copper-fasten it with an agreed story e.g. I hit him at 3km/h in static traffic, no neck pain, I saw a doctor afterwards etc.

I'm all for settling privately but just remembering its admitting liability and pretty much removing your option for your insurance to cover your back should the other party become nasty.

Hmm, that's what I'm worried about obviously. Food for thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Surely if both insurance companies have been informed, and you get him to sign a document stating that everything is final that would cover you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Google disclaimer/settlement document and print a suitable one or adapt it for your own needs, make two copies, have the other driver sign both and you sign both and give him a copy. You keep the other if he decides to file a claim a later date, produce the disclaimer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Sounds a bit odd that the Insurer would push this back to you really.

It's their job after all to deal with your liabilities.

Anyway, get a form signed off saying "I <other person> accept that I have received x amount from < OP > for loss and damage sustained on < date > in full and final settlement.

Get it signed by him, you and Witnessed by somebody indepdent of both of ye (like the garage person) and it's signed off.

Or get an email from him saying everything is cool

MugMugs wrote: »
    Sounds a bit odd that the Insurer would push this back to you really.

It's their job after all to deal with your liabilities.

They didn't really. They just suggested it might be cheaper for me in this case to settle directly.