Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Long haul flight the same day as a race...

• 28-05-2015 3:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭

Looks like I need to do a work trip late summer, which puts me in a city the same weekend their marathon is on. Would be a nice one to do, as its on many "best big city marathons outside the majors" type lists. My DCM training would have me starting to do 18-20 milers around then, so I would think about entering and jogging around the marathon in question..

But my travel plans would force me to fly home about 10 hours after I cross the finish line? Anyone ever done anything like that?

Inter web seems to say its not ideal, but move around and keep drinking liquids and yer grand - but out of all you crazy feckers Im sure someone has done something similar..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭bigslice

A good friend done Berlin a few years back and flew out that evening. He survived and found it grand.

I suppose to be sure you could wear compression socks/tights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭eldiva

Good few of the lads I train with have flown home the evening of Rotterdam and had no issues. I've done 5k races and flown transatlantic a few hours later. I'd recommend proper compression gear and walk around and stretch on the flight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

I did the Chicago marathon in 2013, drank a load of beer and got the 8pm red eye home. Didn't find it too bad at the time, but was in a world of pain for a week or more, far worse than normal. I nearly always fly home from European marathons the same day and never find it any bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭RunRoryRun

Did London last month and flew out early the next morning to San Fran - was about 15ish hours after finishing. Didn't find it too bad. Same day might be a bit rougher, but i always find I'm more in bits the day after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

I ran the marine corps marathon in DC 18 months ago. Crossed finish line and straight back to hotel to get my connecting flight at 3:30pm through Boston and onto Dublin.
    Arrived in Ireland at 6:30am before toeing the line for DCM at 9am.
    I was pretty tired but no major issues apart from fatigue in the last few miles in Dublin.