Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommend "cool" trainers for a 14 year old

• 28-05-2015 11:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭

sorry folks..if im not in the right forum:).....My son turns 14 at the weekend and want to surprise him with trainers. He has Adidas fluxes. He was talking about the Superstars in red but can't get them anywhere:mad:....can ye recommend some that are "on trend" (I appreciate that term is prob out with the Indians!!)....cheers folks...am a bit clueless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

I know it may not seem it but there are certain trainers that are always on trend.............Converse, VAns etc!!

You cant go wrong with either of these...

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

sorry folks..if im not in the right forum:).....My son turns 14 at the weekend and want to surprise him with trainers. He has Adidas fluxes. He was talking about the Superstars in red but can't get them anywhere:mad:....can ye recommend some that are "on trend" (I appreciate that term is prob out with the Indians!!)....cheers folks...am a bit clueless

Adidas ROM or SL-72

retro-cool!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Egginacup wrote: »
    Adidas ROM or SL-72

retro-cool!!

I ordered a pair of ROM yesterday, first 'cool' runners I ever owned :D

Btw OP

http://www.lifestylesports.com/en/uk/christmas-kids/younger-boys-supercolor/invt/41820041?gclid=CNzFnYWp5MUCFa3MtAodPn0Aog&gclsrc=aw.ds

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Nike Hurrachies are what all the kids are wearing at the moment.
    The Flux are phasing out already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

I would say get the superstars in red, even if they are a bit late, especially if that is what is stated preference is.

http://www.adidas.ie/superstar-supercolor-pack-shoes/S41833.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭runningbuddy

Thanks tommy....one size available....am looking for a 7.5/8 but thanks anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Get him Air Jordans and a lifejacket because after he puts them on he'll be drowning in fanny.

Just what an "Irish Mammy" wants to hear:)!!! Are those an ankle boot type thing Frada??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Places like Schuh usually have plenty of styles of Adidas Gazelles, Stan Smiths or Superstars. Can't go wrong there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

What size??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Littlewoods normally have a decent selection of Adidas

a size 7 or an 8 /......I use insoles when they are too big.....get the wear out of them, as they say!!

He was talking about the Superstars in red but can't get them anywhere:s

Almost certain Schuh have the superstars in different colours.

I work beside one. Do you want me to check for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Connorzee

Ye should defo get the Red superstars if ye can (Part of a collab between Pharrell Williams and Adidas where they have a shoe for 6/7 different shades of the colour wheel)... failing that Roshe Runs by Nike are popular among teens for the past year and fairly summery and come in an abundance of colours. Relatively cheap too at an €80 price point

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=schuh+roshe+run&espv=2&biw=1185&bih=515&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ei=dAFnVaW6Ncj9UuqhgLgI&ved=0CAcQ_AUoAg&dpr=1#tbm=isch&q=roshe+run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Are Superstars back in again? Hated them, the toes always discoloured when they were in white.

You can't go wrong with the Nike Air Max range, still classics.

Adidas Sambas! Never get old!

kfallon wrote: »
    Adidas Sambas! Never get old!

Adidas Dragon FTW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

You really can't go wrong with a dapper pair of brogue. http://www.mossbros.ie/moss-london-tan-brogue-965337421
    He'll be the envy of his chums at the picnic. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

Nike Air Max! The scum bag trainer of choice for the 1990s ar$ehole look.

Just to be safe go for Converse......

Vans don't last as long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Connorzee

razorblunt wrote: »
    Are Superstars back in again? Hated them, the toes always discoloured when they were in white.

At the moment they are. Pharrell Williams has kind of overhauled the line. Starting with these solid colours and different designs to come next

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Don't really like the plain ones but the Superstar Snake are nice in red and are in stock.

Never a huge fan of them compared to City Series, Gazelle OG, Stan Smiths, Trimm Trabb, Forest Hills etc but I like the Superstar East River Rivalry reissues.

Computer says no.

anncoates wrote: »
    Almost certain Schuh have the superstars in different colours.

I work beside one. Do you want me to check for you?

OP: I nipped out to check in Schuh for you and they only have them in Purple, Black and Green. Almost certain I saw them in red there in recent times.

The lad checked on the system as well and no joy.

Also nipped into the JD Sports outlet here but none either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Gola.

valoren wrote: »
    Gola.

The brand that scream Please Bully Me Mercilessly.

valoren wrote: »
    Gola.

I inherited a pair of Gola football boots before, they did not go down well with anyone.

OP: I nipped out to check in Schuh for you and they only have them in Purple, Black and Green. Almost certain I saw them in red there in recent times.

The lad checked on the system as well and no joy.

Also nipped into the JD Sports outlet here but none either.

I checked Schuh's website earlier, only red they had was in size 13.5 or something....unless her son is Ronald McDonald I don't think they'll do the job :(

I inherited a pair of Gola football boots before, they did not go down well with anyone.

When we were kids (in England) we used to call kids with Dunlop Green Flash and Gola, 'Borstal Breakouts' .

Imagine our consternation (and scorn) upon seeing them being reclaimed by hipsters decades later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

The brand that scream Please Bully Me Mercilessly.

Got 3 pair.
    But of an adult age and 6'3" so i guess i am safe.

Please Bully Me Mercilessly.

My favourite Morrissey B-side, personally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Joe Duffy is on in an hour, if nothing shows up in the meantime, I'll give him a call and see if he do something.

My favourite Morrissey B-side, personally.

The A-Side, The Undiscussable Gola Ritual, was excellent too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Dramatik

Get him a pair of Hi-Tec runners, the ones with the plastic air bubble in the sole are the best. If you can't find them anywhere try a pair of Cica Lights, they have lights in the sole which light up when you walk. All the lads round my way are going mad for them at the moment!

The Cica Lights might be sold out though cause they are so popular, so maybe you could get him a new pair of jeans or a jumper instead. The brand X-Worx seems to be really popular at the moment, I see a lot of people wearing them these days and they look to be a nice fitting make of jeans. I'm sure he'll be more than happy with any of these choices anyway. Good luck, hope he has a great birthday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

Don't get him converse, converse with bootcut jeans is probably the worst look imaginable!

Dramatik wrote: »
    Get him a pair of Hi-Tec runners, the ones with the plastic air bubble in the sole are the best. If you can't find them anywhere try a pair of Cica Lights, they have lights in the sole which light up when you walk. All the lads round my way are going mad for them at the moment!

The Cica Lights might be sold out though cause they are so popular, so maybe you could get him a new pair of jeans or a jumper instead. The brand X-Worx seems to be really popular at the moment, I see a lot of people wearing them these days and they look to be a nice fitting make of jeans. I'm sure he'll be more than happy with any of these choices anyway. Good luck, hope he has a great birthday!

Maybe a Naff jacket too???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Dramatik

kfallon wrote: »
    Maybe a Naff jacket too???

Yeah if you've any money left over defo get him a Naff jacket as well or maybe an Eclipse jumper. Saw someone wearing one the other day, it had a lad with a baseball bat on the front who was smoking a spliff, looked slick! :cool:

Anncoates......so nice of you...thank you...I legged it to JD at lunchtime...picked these up...on special, reduced from €115 to €94....fuppping hell!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Are Doc Martens not cool babe magnets any more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

Can people stop recommending converse. The poor boy is 14, unless he's planning a coming of age walk with his friends along some train tracks, then converse are not the answer.

Yeah Converse and VANs are a def no for him....I know that much:)....

Fashion trends are so silly. I know that it was a lot easier to tell kids to "get in the van" back in the seventies but now? Nada.

I hear ya Frada....the Superstars an example of this ****e....hideous looking yokes that will be "out" in a few weeks

He doesn't like VANs or Converse because they are "flat"...he quite short and these have no lift in them at all!!! :)

Connorzee wrote: »
    At the moment they are. Pharrell Williams has kind of overhauled the line. Starting with these solid colours and different designs to come next

Didn't know that, they are genuinely awful looking. Kids these days, wha?

94 euro for Superstars is mad. I worked in a sports door back in the day and they never went about for them. Well apart from the 77euro ones which were in the womens range and had glitter in the stripes.