Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joe Brolly's ill-conceived attempt at humour on TSG!

• 27-05-2015 5:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,068 ✭✭✭

Poor 'oul Marty, bothers no one and is always gracious ........cop on Joe!

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2015/0527/704188-brolly/

The 1993 Derry All-Ireland winner caused outrage when, in the build-up to the Ulster SFC clash between Monaghan and Cavan, he said: “Some people have said that Cavan football is as ugly as Marty Morrissey. I should apologise ... to the people of Cavan for that."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Matta Harri

Marty's a ride

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Marty's a ride
    So is a donkey on a beach.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

The problem is that the huge majority of people from Northern Ireland have no identifiable sense of humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,068 ✭✭✭Hitchens

The problem is that the huge majority of people from Northern Ireland have no identifiable sense of humour.
    I dispute that, in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Stillhouette

I noticed some feigned outrage over this. It was clearly meant in good humour and not maliciously. People cannot say anything anymore.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

i know it was a joke and all, but i thought it was bad of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

He was only taking a hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Some of the lads in the GAA forum were very upset with Joe :rolleyes:

I doubt Marty himself was too bothered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Brolly should be sacked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

It's the way they tell 'em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Marty Morrissey gets all the wimmins :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

Brolly should buy himself a mirror.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Hitchens wrote: »
    Poor 'oul Marty, bothers no one

His professional incompetence bothers me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

I cannot stand that Brolly bollox!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,980 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Saw a pic of Marty's lady, he didn't do too bad for himself.

Not sure if there was too much "outrage" over the remark outside RTE though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Brolly should be sacked.

I agree , and Joe ain't all that easy on the eye himself in studio .

He should be moved to radio

Wouldn't be outraged...it was just a very lame joke, childish really more than offensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

I thought it was pretty disgraceful on Joes behalf. He presumably isn't living under a rock, we all know now that making unkind comments about people's appearance isn't funny,isn't acceptable and sadly often has consequences for the people on the receiving end of such "humour". He's dropped a lot in my estimation.

I'm certainly not 'outraged' - is anyone, outside of the tabloids?

However it was quite unpleasant. I could be biased though, I cannot stand Brolly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Tilly wrote: »
    I cannot stand that Brolly bollox!

I share your cannot standness .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Has no place on telly and I can't see Brolly last much longer if he keeps up that carry on.

kneemos wrote: »
    I share your cannot standness .

He is a weird hybrid of intelligence, childishness and spitefulness. A 44 year old man calling someone 'ugly' - grow up ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

"Outrage" is one of the most misused words there is these days. The clue is in the "rage" part. Objecting to something doesn't mean you're in a rage about it.

Calling a person ugly is really bad form - where's the humour? Maybe Marty Morrissey isn't ok about it or maybe he is - people here really can't speak for him either way though.
    Brolly made a tit of himself. Cringe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

For feck sake. I can barely stand to hear the man go on about football but it's a joke. Maybe it doesn't cater to your sense of humour, I find it funny, it's the kind of thing id joke about with my mates. Brolly and Marty have been with RTE a long while now, I imagine they're acquainted fairly well by now. They've probably had a few pints in their time. They've probably slagged each other. "He's gone down in my books now" get over yourselves ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

"I find it funny, therefore everyone else must 'get over themselves'" :cool:

World don't work that way. People can find it bad form if they wish - they don't require dismissiveness of their opinion that calling someone ugly is out of line.

For feck sake. I can barely stand to hear the man go on about football but it's a joke. Maybe it doesn't cater to your sense of humour, I find it funny, it's the kind of thing id joke about with my mates. Brolly and Marty have been with RTE a long while now, I imagine they're acquainted fairly well by now. They've probably had a few pints in their time. They've probably slagged each other. "He's gone down in my books now" get over yourselves ffs.

You're presuming the two lads are mates.

Even if they are, that kind of personalised 'banter' (shudder....) strikes a discordant note on national television