Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Biggest farm tractors in Ireland

• 26-05-2015 06:00PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭

Was travelling back through millstreet looking at tractors and called into Coleman NH garage. Anyway they have a big 500hp T9 for sale and I was asking them who would want that yoke but apparently a few big tillage lads have been in touch about it so it got me thinking what the biggest one around.

Seen plenty of big yokes in the states and Canada and also in England and the continent but not that many over here.

Although there are now plenty of 200hp + yokes around the Biggest one I have seen was a 350hp case that a local lad had for doing slurry, ( has since been bought by a tillage farmer).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

yellow50HX wrote: »
    Was travelling back through millstreet looking at tractors and called into Coleman NH garage. Anyway they have a big 500hp T9 for sale and I was asking them who would want that yoke but apparently a few big tillage lads have been in touch about it so it got me thinking what the biggest one around.

Seen plenty of big yokes in the states and Canada and also in England and the continent but not that many over here.

Although there are now plenty of 200hp + yokes around the Biggest one I have seen was a 350hp case that a local lad had for doing slurry, ( has since been bought by a tillage farmer).

Local lad here (meath) has a Challenger, 3 yrs old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Not many fields in Ireland over 30 acres to suit these big tractors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

Once you get to 300 if at all cultivation work tracks are the way to go. In saying that the double belt vs 4 tracks debate has another order in that a case quad track type set up will pee all over a eg. Challenger all day long especially if ground is very very hard or slightly sticky at all. The talk of low group pressure is guff as need weight to put the power down and unless your tying helium balloons on by the 1,000.... For top work it's a different story alright. You don't need big fields really a driver thinking ahead will work fields to suit triangular corners are the real bastid
    Cost upfront doesn't matter if machine costs more per hour to run over it's lifetime on farm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

Lot of upper 200hp to above 300hp tractors and beyond in Dublin, biggest I know is a NH T8.39O one in Dublin and another one in Meath. Challengers too.
    T9 seems too big for this country, although there is a quadtrac or 2 up north I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

George walsh in Mullingar had a big Challenger and a small challenger

sold the big one to Flynns in Mullingar in 2013 and bought a 480hp Fendt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

George walsh in Mullingar had a big Challenger and a small challenger

sold the big one to Flynns in Mullingar in 2013 and bought a 480hp Fendt

Bad move. Is he the lad that grows a lot of beet?

td5man wrote: »
    Bad move. Is he the lad that grows a lot of beet?

No he grows a lot of grain, works with a pig lad so keeps inhouse , started a dairy this year too I beleive. What Fendt has that HP?:0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

Fendt are 390 max . Newest model nit out yet is apparently 500hp. Highest power from a conventional non artic tractor. Id say more people will get one of those as they are less ignorant than an artic nh or challenger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Was on Hols in holland a few years ago and there was xerion spraying in the field next to the house, when passed there was an evening echo sticker on the window so just had to ask. Dutch fella driving it had bought from a framer here in cork. Apparently cork lad only had it for a few months, used it for pulling a 6m drill and harrow. Was throwing out about 350hp. Apparently it sitting in the dealer I ireland for ages as there was no market for it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

yellow50HX wrote: »
    Was on Hols in holland a few years ago and there was xerion spraying in the field next to the house, when passed there was an evening echo sticker on the window so just had to ask. Dutch fella driving it had bought from a framer here in cork. Apparently cork lad only had it for a few months, used it for pulling a 6m drill and harrow. Was throwing out about 350hp. Apparently it sitting in the dealer I ireland for ages as there was no market for it here.

I also happen to know of boys drawing grass with 250hp deeres to put it in context !!

The market for subsoilers is only.going to take off !lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,584 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

micraX wrote: »
    No he grows a lot of grain, works with a pig lad so keeps inhouse , started a dairy this year too I beleive. What Fendt has that HP?:0

Yeah he has a dairy herd now aswell

Lot of upper 200hp to above 300hp tractors and beyond in Dublin, biggest I know is a NH T8.39O one in Dublin and another one in Meath. Challengers too.
    T9 seems too big for this country, although there is a quadtrac or 2 up north I think

To be fair they spend their days on bedtillers/big power harrows vs occasional trio/simba esc cultivator?
    10 years ago over here it was all challenger, now most farms have a quad or a 8000 series tracked deere. They're no where near as awkward as you'd think with more than one person caught out by the turning circle of a quad at speed rolling folded up kit!

Blackgrass wrote: »
    To be fair they spend their days on bedtillers/big power harrows vs occasional trio/simba esc cultivator?
    10 years ago over here it was all challenger, now most farms have a quad or a 8000 series tracked deere. They're no where near as awkward as you'd think with more than one person caught out by the turning circle of a quad at speed rolling folded up kit!

I know what you mean yeah, but farm beside sizes here aren't that big, I only know about 10~15 that are 1000acres plus, and only about 3 have 3000+ but field size on average is small too, and the roads and gates bridges can be tiny at times, and with most working con acre they cant justify making gates bridges bigger.

Not every farm is +1000 acres here either and most are a tenancy although over a longer term in an AHA(land grab almost). Guys are cutting back and looking to short period hiring more so, never mind the DD campaigners:rolleyes:

Guys are cutting back here too, and a lot of them Are starting to hire in tractors aswll. Direct drilling isnt working out as well as it was ia it?

Everyone has their own opinion on DD but gaining steam over here with all the makers doing a drill now even sumo are developing a 750a deere esq machine.
    Bit like breeds of cows no ones fully right just reporting from what they find work in the situation most familiar to them.

For use the memory of a few heavy clay fields in 2013 that set like concrete in the sun in failed osr that my old boss spent far too much to save needing 3 passes of culti-press and power harrowed twice to get a drillable- not a good seedbed lives long in the memory, in spring 2014 could tell to the line where a nobbly **** seedbed with poor pre-em performance(need good ground coverage for BG chems) to something decent was enough to say fook it cant be bothered working it vs just in with drill. On light ground it's pee easy in all but a 2012 type year or very wet vs N Dub/meath heavy clay is nasty most years?!

I believe that's why walsh got rid of the big challenger as once they sold the farm in UK the land in Ireland wasn't as suited.

Woops for been wrong with the fendt hp. Its some monster of a tractor, the lad from cork normally drives it when its out our way

Ye him and a local pig man a few mile down the road work closely alright. a lot of tillage for inhouse use in pig feed in there own mill.

I believe that's why walsh got rid of the big challenger as once they sold the farm in UK the land in Ireland wasn't as suited.

Woops for been wrong with the fendt hp. Its some monster of a tractor, the lad from cork normally drives it when its out our way

Ye him and a local pig man a few mile down the road work closely alright. a lot of tillage for inhouse use in pig feed in there own mill.

Am i right in thinking there's big tax benefits to milling their own feed?

I say its got to do with growing most of there own grain and not selling it cheap and buying it back in expensive = PROFIT

and increased CASHFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I say its got to do with growing most of there own grain and not selling it cheap and buying it back in expensive = PROFIT

and increased CASHFLOW

Is there not some kind of tax stopped out of the cheque from the mill ?