Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fees...EU/Non EU

Options
  • 25-05-2015 3:05pm
    Registered Users Posts: 719 ✭✭✭

Hello all...

I'm a chartered engineer working in Dublin since last November. Previous to that I studied and worked in San Francisco for six years.

I'm very interested in doing a postgrad course in TCD. I contacted the couple of emails provided as 'contacts' for more information on the course.

None of my questions about the course were answered but I was told that because I was 'out of the country for over three years' I was due to pay 'Non-EU tuition fees'. This basically means I would have to pay €11k instead of ~€6k for this postgrad.

Even while in the USA, my primary address and property (where I paid property tax) was in Galway. So esssentially even though I studied and worked in the US...my main residence was in Ireland throughout that time. (As it has to be as part of my USA F-1 student visa)

Does anyone know my options here? Does the fact that I've been working since I came home (Nov 2014) ensure I am actually only due 'EU citizen fees' or can someone point me in the right direction where I'd be able to get absolute confirmation on this...

I don't want to sound bitter but I took a job here in Ireland over a job in the US because I wanted live and work in Ireland and I'm an Irish and EU citizen. The fact that I'm not recognised as such is shocking.

Anyway...any and all comments/advice appreciated...thanks

BC

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 984 ✭✭✭gutenberg