Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Monday 25th May

• 24-05-2015 5:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭

Quite sweet on the chances of 3.50 Leicester Rio Ronaldo 9/2. A half brother to a number of very decent horses including Group 1 winner G Force, US Group 3 winner Louvain, Listed winner Lajool and Group 3 placed Desert Poppy, Rio Ronaldo ran out a very impressive winner on his latest start when just pushed out hands and heels to score by 1.25L and I think a 6lb rise for that victory is very lenient. Although this race has a much deeper look to it, I think Mike Murphy's 3 year old is still well ahead of the handicapper off a mark of 83 and I think it's going to take an extremely well handicapped horse to beat him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,926 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

I see Matt Tynan sends three over to Leicester tomorrow. Don't know much about two of them, but Maontri looks well chucked in off a mark of 79 after reaching a career high rating of 98 when it couldn't stop winning last year at Dundalk. Ground should not be a problem, but it has been exclusive the the all weather for a long time so it'll be interesting to see how it goes over a straight 7 furlongs on turf. Going from previous form when the horse won, I would think that it should not be a problem. 13/2 early price with Coral. If this horse performs anywhere near to the kind of ability it showed last year, then this price looks massive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭shmeee

I see Matt Tynan sends three over to Leicester tomorrow. Don't know much about two of them, but Maontri looks well chucked in off a mark of 79 after reaching a career high rating of 98 when it couldn't stop winning last year at Dundalk. Ground should not be a problem, but it has been exclusive the the all weather for a long time so it'll be interesting to see how it goes over a straight 7 furlongs on turf. Going from previous form when the horse won, I would think that it should not be a problem. 13/2 early price with Coral. If this horse performs anywhere near to the kind of ability it showed last year, then this price looks massive.

I'm seeing what I can find out about both of them, gotten word before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Mostly Harmless

I like Gold Flash (3.50 Leicester), on the face of things he looks to have a bit of work on at the weights to reverse the form with the re-opposing Charlie Croker from last time out (3lb turn around for a length and a bit beating), but I think he could well have been in need of the run there as he came to win the race at around the furlong pole but faded late on. He is also entitled to improve on that performance after only two career starts, pedigree is all about speed and also a half brother to the smart Hallelujah so reasonable to expect that he is capable of more. Very competitive race but happy to take my chances with the 8/1 available tonight.
    1pt Win (8/1 BetVictor)

Secret Witness also out again tomorrow - 4.05 Windsor for those in need of an extra cliff horse... Surely he has to win one of these soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭sdoc13

Secret Witness also out again tomorrow - 4.05 Windsor for those in need of an extra cliff horse... Surely he has to win one of these soon!

I have gone in again. This 1 might break me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Automated 20-1 2.55
    I'm liking this for a place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Your old mate Mubtadi lines up at Windsor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

3:55 Redcar - Big Thunder

has won off his current handicap mark before, and never quite looked to be comfortable over the staying trips last season (which is unusual for a Prescott horse).
    dropped back to 10f today, hopefully he'll give a better showing and is worth a punt at 10/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

Scudamore goes to Cartmel for one ride 3:35 vengeur de guye for Lucinda Russell 13/2 if starting positively could be a nice winner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,412 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

sdoc13 wrote: »
    I have gone in again. This 1 might break me.

Horse is no longer running i think.

shmeee wrote: »
    I'm seeing what I can find out about both of them, gotten word before.

Maontri seems to be the one anyway! Will have a very good chance.

I like Gold Flash (3.50 Leicester), on the face of things he looks to have a bit of work on at the weights to reverse the form with the re-opposing Charlie Croker from last time out (3lb turn around for a length and a bit beating), but I think he could well have been in need of the run there as he came to win the race at around the furlong pole but faded late on. He is also entitled to improve on that performance after only two career starts, pedigree is all about speed and also a half brother to the smart Hallelujah so reasonable to expect that he is capable of more. Very competitive race but happy to take my chances with the 8/1 available tonight.
    1pt Win (8/1 BetVictor)

Now available at 14/1 with 365 and that looks too good to ignore so I have topped up with an additional 1pt Win, no way in the world (that I can see) that he should be four times the price of the top 3 in the market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

shmeee wrote: »
    Maontri seems to be the one anyway! Will have a very good chance.

You beaut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭jousting with chairs

Great shout lads.

Well done Francie and Shmeee good job would of worried about the drift. i wasnt on god damn it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 awwalsh

Another great spot Francie. Big thanks to you and Shmee for the heads up. Great punting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

Thought the run of Rio Ronaldo is hard to decipher. Squeezed up at the start and a bit keen. Travelled through the race powerfully and probably the last off the bridle but he found very little when asked. Puzzled by it but there's no doubt in my mind he's better than his current mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

Got strong word for Queen Alphabet in the 7.30 in Ballinrobe tonight. currently 9/4, could be worth a few quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭sdoc13

Non Runner. Money back may be a result.

On reflection i wish some more of mine were non runners today also oh how i hate second place horses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 TheFense

sdoc13 wrote: »
    Non Runner. Money back may be a result.

Always more racing!

Well done Francie and Shmeee good job would of worried about the drift. i wasnt on god damn it.

Cheers lads, nice spot Francie, I just asked a lad who is close to yard and said she should be bang there.

Only watched race now there, battled well at end when looked like Moore was gonna come up on inside and do us.

I'll follow this gamble on Lonan here now, 10s into 7/2.

*Lonan got some pain in the belly, that was awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 KG

Got a text to say that Twinlight Shadow is well fancied in the 9:00 Ballinrobe

KG wrote: »

Like the breeding of Poetic Lady but very open race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭jousting with chairs

Money's going down on it,

8/1 into 7/2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭shy-tall-knight

Aidan up at Ballinrobe himself, going to take a chance on Rosshaven Lady.

Ballinrobe is only a c*unt of a spot, anything fancied tonight trashed bar Eshtiaal.

Just look at the winners.

6/1, 16/1, 16/1, 10/1, 10/1 and 33/1 there at the end.

Placepot paid €2,447.90, says it all.