Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Truffles.

• 20-05-2015 7:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭

Where do you find these things?

Bloke on the telly selling them for £700 a kilo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Moist woodlands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Pigs sniff them out - But you can train dogs to find them!

They grow underground - and are expensive - too expensive to tell you what they taste like!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Calling Truffle Pig, come in, do you read me......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

ardinn wrote: »
    Pigs sniff them out - But you can train dogs to find them!

They grow underground - and are expensive - too expensive to tell you what they taste like!!

Yer man had a dog worth two grand apparently

You get them in Lidl for 3.75.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭hawkwind23

Pretty sure you can find them in Ireland ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

kneemos wrote: »
    Yer man had a dog worth two grand apparently

If he was a good truffle dog then he's cheap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

You could find them in your own garden if you're prepared to pay a small fee and wait 5-7 years.

http://www.englishtruffles.co.uk/truffle_trees.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Did anyone here order a large ham ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

All I know about truffles is that they carry their house on their backs.

Wait, sorry, no. That's turtles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Celebrations arent the same since they took the Galaxy Truffle out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭SouthTippBass

Celebrations arent the same since they took the Galaxy Truffle out

What? Are you serious is it gone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Caviar is where it's at if you can wait 20 years for your investment to flourish. Truffles is for pigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

What? Are you serious is it gone?
    Yeah, mars bastards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

Pigs and dogs find them. Some people can grow them but its very very hard. Has anyone actually tasted one what re they like?? Where is Aongus from Bismark? He would be our man!

I've tasted them. Very acquired taste tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

eternal wrote: »
    I've tasted them. Very aquired taste tbh.
    Fair play to you for being honest. Most people think an acquired taste is a mark of taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

I've had them too. Very savoury and musky. Not much to my taste, to be honest, although I'd still eat them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

You fcukers stay away from my truffles!

Iv piglets and a sow to feed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

Truffles would be a good name for an upper class English gentlemanly cat burglar.