Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spike O'Sullivan vs Melvin Batancourt - May 23,Boston

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Jaysus, the thought of Spike v Golovkin. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

Johner wrote: »
    Jaysus, the thought of Spike v Golovkin. :o

I know it's good to have ambition but it's a bit cringeworthy when his best win is Anthony Fitzgerald. Best of luck to him. Hope he gets a fight with Eubank Jr or a solid gatekeeper like Brian Vera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

magma69 wrote: »
    I know it's good to have ambition but it's a bit cringeworthy when his best win is Anthony Fitzgerald. Best of luck to him. Hope he gets a fight with Eubank Jr or a solid gatekeeper like Brian Vera.

His best in IMO would be Matthew Hall, even though I personally thought Hall won that fight.

Plus he absolutely annihilated Fitzgerald, who gave a very good account of himself against Andy Lee and Hassan N'Dam N'Jikam.

Spike is a good solid fighter and I wish him the best and the more money he can make the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭Diddley Squat

Yes - I look forward to this fight .

Best of luck to Spike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Spike is limited but tough as guts and he can fight. At the end of the day lads this is professional boxing and it's a business. Your ability as a fighter is more often than not second to your ability to sell tickets and make money, end of story. As a fighter, it's his duty to play the marketing game and seek out fights that will result him in getting a payday. I wouldn't say that Spike is under any illusions about where he sits on the ranking scale, but he's a prize fighter and a lad willing to fight anyone. Fair play to him, it's a tough living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭qwabercd

megadodge wrote: »
    His best in IMO would be Matthew Hall, even though I personally thought Hall won that fight.

Plus he absolutely annihilated Fitzgerald, who gave a very good account of himself against Andy Lee and Hassan N'Dam N'Jikam.

Spike is a good solid fighter and I wish him the best and the more money he can make the better.

I think his fight against BJS showed he's just not elite level, completely outclassed that day. Fitzgerald wasn't in great nick for their fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

qwabercd wrote: »
    I think his fight against BJS showed he's just not elite level, completely outclassed that day. Fitzgerald wasn't in great nick for their fight.

I totally agree. He's not elite. He's a tough, solid boxer who is unlikely to win a world title, but if he gets a few 'big' fights for 'big' purses, more power to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Spike is some character.He swam to Boston and then he cut down a few trees.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭Deiseboy01

Spike is some character.He swam to Boston and then he cut down a few trees.:D

Story with the guy at three mins in wandering past with a shopping trolley full of silverware? !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Lol, does O'Sullivan always wear "trunks" like that?

Well that didn't last long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

That'll do!

Slight edge to Direll in that 1st round I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Chrissybhoy

Battle of the jab it looks like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

qwabercd wrote: »

And Spike was in bad shape for the BJS fight - mentally for personal reasons but also had a sinus infection the night before and didn't sleep for the night. Then just to add insult to injury BJS went and bust Spikes ear-drum in the 2nd round!! Bad day at the office all round :( Still went the distance in fairness to him.

Having seen him up close and personal recently he's in phenomenal shape, probably the best of his life, and his confidence is at an all time high as well. The difference seems to be that he's enjoying it now and he's being kept reasonably busy with fights. I'd be confident that he could take almost anyone outside of the top five. Within that top five who knows?? Some serious talent up there at the moment. He's going in the right direction but I wonder is it too late for him??

BTW, that NABA Middleweight belt that Spike won last night was also previously held by Andy Lee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Anyone know when the rankings will be updated?